1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Yes, without question.
    xbonez says thanks.
  2. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    gotcha. But anyways, the 8800 isn't mine. Its the TPU community's folding card, so I gotta fold 24x7 on it, which I'll do. Plus I really don't play a lot of games apart from Black Ops (preparing for the upcoming newegg wanfest), so I won't really benefit from a dedicated physx card.
  3. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Same Black Ops is mostly what I play as well, PhysX just never really gained the market share for mass adoption, so no one seems to use it, IMpo anything more than a 20-40 dollar card is a waste for a PhysX card.
  4. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Agreeded. You guys and talking about black ops! I need to get this game already. I think im getting it for xmas from my grandma but i don't have a rig to play it on right now!
  5. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Very soon you will. Its a great game. A few bugs that need to be ironed out, but a great game nonetheless.
  6. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    I'm having problems with my new P55 i7-870 GENE. This morning when I first got this rig running and was installing my software the core temps looked good at idle. When I set my bios settings for stock the temps was above 40 at idle and in the 70s under load. The problem is not anything I did with the bios.

    It has been a long day so I'm shutting it down for the night and will tomorrow start eliminating the likely culprits.
  7. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Yeah i've played it before and i love it! I can't wait to get the rig finished!

    Good luck with the problems man. I know how it can be trying to trouble shoot problems it's a PITA.
    msgclb says thanks.
  8. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Perhaps not enough thermal paste ?

    The game is awesome, but it does need some work, like a way to group up players and join a server so you can be on the same team.
    msgclb says thanks.
  9. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Or perhaps too much? Either way, remove, clean, reapply thermal paste and reseat the processor. Often helps.
    msgclb says thanks.
  10. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Hey guys, i managed to find a decent deal. Let me know what you guys think. This would be for the mobo. I found this board for $80 shipped to my door step. Is this a decent deal? I could then spend about $70 bucks on ram and have half of what i originally wanted to have into the build.

    EDIT: Here's what all comes with the board.

    http://min.us/mvoL2Kf

    EDIT #2: Guys i think im gonna go for that asrock board for $80 shipped. After reading this review it seems very promising. The only problem it seem's like it has is that the VRM's get SUPER hot. Much hotter than any other boards out there. Can someone link me to some VRM cooler's that i could simply replace on this board without replacing the cooling unit on the whole board? I don't mind spending $80 on this board and like $20 on VRM cooling and having a great clocking board just something that doesn't look as "pretty" as the evga board.

    The board is out of warranty but hey it's $80 bucks and is a full retail board. Seller say's it works great and he hasn't had any problems with it.
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2010
  11. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,418 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Get it!! it def should get your I7 920 to 4ghz
    Josh154 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Haha...its only about 11am and I've almost hit my 24 hour average already!
  13. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Grats man!

    Anyone else have any suggestions on the board? Im getting ready to send payment! :rockout:
  14. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Do it. It seems like a great deal on a great board.
  15. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    After countless nights of troubleshooting and stability testing, I finally got this thing figured out;). She's running stable right now however the numbers for SMP2 -bigadv are "somewhat" disappointing:wtf::confused:. Anyways I knew it wasn't going to be on par with an OCd i7 920 running at 4+4 cores since I am using a 1.8Ghz Opteron but I think I will upgrade to something with a higher clock, something like this:


    http://cgi.ebay.com/OPTERON-8218-2-...6CR-/380146798026?pt=CPUs&hash=item588283cdca

    Screenshot

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2010
    mstenholm says thanks.
  16. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,026 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,136
    Wow they need some juice - 1.776 V ! Can you keep them cool? I see that you just restarted them so I assume thay are not up at operating temperature.

    F..k yes 4 times $29 is nothing compaired to the PPD improvement going from 1.8 to 2.6 GHz.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,864 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,411
    bog uses one of those. You may want to check with him.
    Josh154 says thanks.
  18. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Bog do you think you could give me some input on the board im looking at? :D
  19. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,864 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,411
    bog, those are dual core?
  20. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    CPU-Z displays the vcore @ 1.775v or something but while testing Core Temps shows it @ 1.1v (no more than 1.2v). @ 100% load temps reach no more than 30 deg.

    Get it! I used to have that board and ran my 920 D0 to 4.2 without a hitch.

    Quads
  21. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,864 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,411
    the e-bay listing:
    "AMD Opteron Dual-Core 8218 2.6GHz Processor - 1000MHz HT - 128KB, 128KB L1 - 2MB L2 - Socket F (1207)"
    mstenholm says thanks.
  22. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    I was going to try those out.....my board accepts dual or quad;)
  23. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
  24. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
  25. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Very nice. You should scour the forums for memory. Lots of deals on DDR3.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page