1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Damn I hate how little time I have ATM because I want to get these things installed and get folding!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Well if you have time to post those on TPU then you have time to start putting the rig together! Comon man we need to see some points for it!
     
  3. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    ATM I split my PPD between 3 teams (roughly 75k ppd) 1 is here, 1 is EVGA (the hardware belongs to a family friend who can't afford to pay the electric bill when he runs it, and my internet is better for the FTP he hosts on it) and a team for my local lan group/clan (which was founded in tribute to a member that died of cancer).

    But TPU will see my PPD growing soon.
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2010
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  4. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,553 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    908
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Wow, didn't know the 285 was that much better....

    [​IMG]
    I should have my folding badge back by the morning, told you I'd come for my 5 mil!
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2010
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  5. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Well, not much but as a Christmas present for all of the F@H and WCG Team I got my 3rd rig running for you guys today! Back online. :D :toast:


    MERRY CHRISTMAS FELLAS, AND HAPPY CHRISTMAS EVE AS WELL.
     
    hertz9753, Pembo210 and [H]@RD5TUFF say thanks.
  6. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,553 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    908
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Merry Christmas all. And thanks to all who have helped me. It's this time of year when you learn to really appreciate things. I'm slowly getting back to folding, it will take some time, but as I've said in the past, not gonna stop!
     
  7. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    "God Bless us all everyone!" (Tiny Tim)
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  8. Pembo210

    Pembo210 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    98 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    Lakeland, FL
    Check on passkey :D
    Thanks
     
    [H]@RD5TUFF says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    Merry Christmas to all and Happy New Year.
     
  10. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    I don't understand a lot about PSUs (rails, amps etc. fly over my head). So my question is:

    My folding/crunching rig is getting this 750W PCP&C PSU
    PC Power and Cooling S75CF 750W EPS12V SLI Certifi...

    Now, i'm sure its adequate for 2 470s and a 8800, but later should I decide add another 470 to my stable, will this PSU handle that? Note that it has only 4 PCI-E 6pin connectors, so the third card would be using molex adapters.

    Other specs are a Q6600, 3 x 1gb DDR2, 1 HDD, and the usual. The Q6600 will be OC'ed as far as it goes.
     
  11. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    2 470s might be pushing it a bit hard

    i would go for a 1000-1200w if you want more than 2 470s
     
  12. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I run 2 470's and an i7 on an Zalaman 850 watt PSU, non OC'd CPU, but the GPU's are OC'd, and they do fine.
     
  13. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,553 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    908
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Not sure I'd go more than 2 gtx285s, which I'm getting, on a single silverstone 850. It'll do 900watts+, but why stess it? If you're going to run 470s or better in sli, get a bigger psu.
     
  14. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    eh yeah, i just said if he wants to run more than 2 of those he wants something bigger

    and a 750w is to push it a bit
     
  15. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    Yep a 750 watt will be pushing it for that much hardware. I have the same PSU with 2 460's and an i7 870 OC. It handles all of that fine so far.
     
  16. Pembo210

    Pembo210 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    98 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    Lakeland, FL
    :roll: gotta start somewhere :rolleyes:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,719 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,271
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    I use to have several local computer stores to select from but not any more. I usually have to buy online but my searches came with Best Buy twice when I needed a PSU. I was able to get this Thermaltake - 850-Watt TR2 RX Power Supply - Black when it was on sale for $109.99 as it is now.
     
  18. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Better than 0.
     
  19. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,719 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,271
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
  20. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    oh...hmm. this would mean I'd have to buy a bigger PSu...which means more $$$..sigh. I'm gonna try with the 750. if it doesn't make do, I'll see if I can sell it for a good price. if not, i'll add a 500W PSU to power some of the components.
     
  21. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,812 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,215
    Location:
    Olympia, WA
    I remember running a 2 gtx470's in an OCd i7 before, can't remember if it was the corsair or the antec one.
     
  22. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,553 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    908
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Let me know if you upgrade your psu. When I get my 2nd 285, I'll be looking to power a separate folding box. I have a partner in the states who would take shipment. If you do, let me know please.
     
  23. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Will do, though unless I get a good deal on a 1000W or so PSU, I'll just buy a 500W, and use it in conjunction with my 750W.
     
  24. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    What size do you need? I got several laying around on the shelf.
    from a 500watt to a 650watt.
    PM me and we can work something out.
     
  25. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    Got a question? I got a chance to buy a Corei7 875K ES chip for like $225.00 is the Engineering Sample chip as good as a regular chip?
    Edit its brand new and I know for a fact it boots and OC to 4.3GHZ with no problems.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page