1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Quick question: why the spikes in GPU 0 usage (GPU1 in afterburner) in my folding rig?

    [​IMG]
  2. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,359 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Sorry, but only have $500 a month to live on, that's my reality. And right now, every penny for the next 3-4 months is tied up. I really would like to fold my cards though.....and I need a psu that could actually safely run 2 260s. Wouldnt touch a modx 500 for that...
  3. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,932 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,452
    Hey Bow, how about you post how much the shipping will cost and let the team pick it up for you? I've got $5 for you.
  4. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    I'll put in 10.

    ______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

    Guys, I have a problem in my folding rig I need to troubleshoot ASAP.

    This is the PSU I'm using: http://www.pcpower.com/power-supply/silencer-750-quad-crossfire.html

    Its running a Q6600 and two 470s. Everything @ stock.

    As soon as I start folding on even one 470 (i.e. one GPU @ full load), a distinct whining noise starts coming from the PSU? Is the PSU getting overloaded, and if so, why is a Q6600 and a single 470 at stock overloading a 750W PSU?

    Or is it a faulty PSU?

    If problem is in PSU, should I get this:
    Rosewill BRONZE Series RBR1000-M 1000W Continuous@...

    or should I shell out 30-40 more bucks and just get this?
    CORSAIR TX Series CMPSU-950TX 950W ATX12V v2.3/EPS...
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2011
  5. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
  6. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    The spikes are usually because the card is doing something else. Open the tracker and leave it open don't touch anything and just see ( couple of mins ) if the spikes are still there.

    That noise is usually because of a bad cap on the PSU. Try a different PSU and see if it quits.
    I just noticed you are using the PC power&cooling 750 watt PSU which is a good brand. What you are using it with is borderline pushing it to it's limits. I would defiantly get a bigger PSU any of the one's you have links to are ok. I would pick the Corsair one myself. The Rosewill I've heard some horror stories about them failing. The Silverstone that the Don suggested is a good one also. Try to get at least a 850watt or bigger and you should be ok.
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2011
    xbonez says thanks.
  7. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    655k &gts450

    Josh154 here's what the 450 average is in PPD and the 655K is no slouch either, it's not pumping out a bunch of PPD but it's not bad for a dual core running @ 3.8GHZ.:D When I get a better board and jump the OC up to 4.5GHZ or higher the points will increase also.:D
    The 655K is by no means a 30,00 PPD chip, but it will hold it's own with a good board and plenty of PciE slots I can turn the setup into a 40,000 or more PPD machine easily.:D:toast:

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 1, 2011
  8. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Thanks. I'm gonna go ahead and order the silverstone 1kW PSU and get rid of this. I anyways intended to add a 460 soon in addition to two 470s and this PSU would never have cut it.
  9. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,915 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    I've also heard it could be vibrating coils. Some coils vibrate at very high frequencies under load...

    Don't get the OP. If you're gonna buy Silverstone, you want to get a Strider. The OP and DA (Olympus and Decathlon, with Decathlon being better) are the lower end models.

    SILVERSTONE ST1000-P 1000W ATX 12V v2.3 & EPS 12V ...
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    So, the the whining doesn't mean its a faulty PSU, right? Just that I'm running it at too much load? If its not faulty, I'd like to sell it.

    I'll go for the PSU you posted. Since I run it on a open bench, a modular PSU will really cut down on the clutter of wires.
  11. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,915 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    It could be an indicator, but just because you get electrical whining doesn't mean your PSU is bad.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    True, I've had one do that once and it was a coil and the varnish on it had cracked, some guy I know from geek squad came over and showed me how to put some more on it and it did quit whining. But it did end up dieing about 6 months later.
  13. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,359 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    OMG that silverstone is beautiful! It kicks my 850 striders butt...
    Edit: and yes, get the silverstone strider, it kicks corsair butt all the way to hell and back.
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2011
    xbonez says thanks.
  14. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Chip looks great man! Its putting out more PPD than my q6600 ever did. Im just awaiting patiently for my ddr3 then ill have a 30k chip :)
    TeXBill says thanks.
  15. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,529
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Looks like I've lost power at home due to thunderstorms and the rig's are not set to re-start on their own. I'm 300 miles away and won't be home until Monday night. Carry on without me boys!

    :toast:

    EDIT: Just had an update, but it may have been a stray -bigadv WU.
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Awww....that sucks. You should set them (from BIOS) to start up on power.
  17. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    We can handle it Buck, just not the same without your points being up there with ours. Have fun and hurry back.

    Edit: Buck you got something putting out points. last update you got about 69,824, something is still working.:D
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  18. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Btw, in continuation to my PSU query:

    If it helps narrow down my issue. The whining noise becomes louder if i start folding on both 470s than if folding on a single 470. Seems like a load issue?
  19. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    I'm running my folding rig now. I thought I'll give the PSU another shot to see if it shuts down or what. Its been running for a few hours now, and it seems the whining noise stopped after a while. Oh well, I already ordered the Silverstone and its too late to cancel. I would anyways have needed it sooner or later.
  20. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Let me know if that psu keeps acting up or not. Im gonna need a psu if I plan to go 470 sli. Id rather sell the 8800gts's add some cash and get a 470 then add another later with a new psu :)
  21. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    @Josh: Its been running fine for a good 6 hours now with the Q6600 and both 470s mildly OC'ed without any noise. Seems fine. I've already put up sale threads for it for 70, shipped. 10 bucks off for you.

    Btw, what PPD did you get when you folded on the Q6600?

    _______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

    WOOT! IN THE TOP 100 FOR TPU!
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2011
  22. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,915 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    Some time ago, my uncle bought a 9600GT from Staples because it was on sale and it looked like a good deal to him... I think he said he paid $50 for it. After getting Bow's 9600GT and seeing how cool they run and how low power they seem to be, I asked him if he would let it go for $30... family price and all. If it pans out I should have another ~3500PPD under my belt.
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Why not put in a few more bucks and get a 450. You'll get a lot more I assume
  24. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,915 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    A few more bucks? That's a matter of like $100 more... I don't want to be throwing around that kind of money.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,529
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Hopefully I was wrong(in this case, i like being wrong:laugh:) ). Looks like the rigs are still producing. I'll know tonight if I dump a -bigadv or two.

    :toast:
    TeXBill says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page