1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Lol...yeah. i just wanna be able to touch 4 Ghz on that thing. Its eluded me long enough.

    I'll get the new PSU on my folding rig and ship the older one tomorrow. I'll keep the s775 combo for a week or so before selling, just so I can play around with the clocks on it. I might even turn off my main rig for a day or so, so I can mount the H50 on the Q6600 to OC it.
  2. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    That would be neat :) I was able to boot at around 3.8 on it but no matter what i did it wasn't stable so i just ran it at 3.6 folding.

    Also what happened to that Coolit eco you were getting?
  3. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,860 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,404
    You be the judge, but it sure looks that way to me.

    Finally found what I was looking for: Folding results! Wish they'd OC'd the 875K as well.
    http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1501/19/
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2011
  4. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Since I got the custom water cooling setup, I didn't need the Coolit anymore. Sold it to a friend to fund the purchase of the RB-C3.

    I'm glad I bought the open bench. I'll use the bench and the water setup on all three systems (socket 775, i7 920 and AMD 965) to see how far I can push each.
  5. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    They are comparing -smp only. They say at Microcenter the sticker price is $369.99 for the 2600K but not until Jan 9 will we know for sure.

    [​IMG]
  6. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Sounds awesome :D I eventually plan to get a full custom loop in the future and the rasa looks good. I want to get the 360 version though so i can add my gpu to the loop :D
  7. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Dam doorbell just rang and u shoulda seen how fast i was runnin up the stairs! Found out it was USPS and for my mom :( Im looking for the big brown UPS truck! It's supposed to come today. UPS usually doesn't come for another 3-4 hours though out here.

    In other cases i just got me a free tube of mx-2. Ebay bucks is a great program and during the holiday season i let my family use my ebay account for any purchases and i also bought my 920 through ebay so that was good for like 4 ebay bucks. My ebay bucks card was for like $9.13 and a tube of mx-2 was like $7 something so i got some good TIM coming now :)
  8. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,860 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,404
    Better than running uni-processor client! :laugh: Doesn't smp give a good indication of how well bigadv will do?
  9. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Anybody looking to buy a BNIB 920? If so newegg has them back in stock here. $289 isn't bad for a brand new chip with full warranty and all retail packaging unless you live close to a micro center. But most like myself aren't :(
  10. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,860 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,404
    Hey texbill, don't you have an i7 running SMP? Could you tell us the OC and TPF on p6054?
  11. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    It's not running a 6054 but here it is running a 6702. Don't mind the pic in the background that just a grumpy old man and his lovely wife Xmas pic in front of our tree.:roll:
    Overclock is 4.2GHZ with a custom watercooling loop. Has 2-480's and the i7 960 in the loop. cpu usually stays within the mid 50's C and the gpu's run mid to high 40's C. Not bad for a lazy chip that doesn't run bigadv any more. One of these days I will sit down and try to fix it where it will run bigadv again.

    Attached Files:

    • SMP.jpg
      SMP.jpg
      File size:
      195.3 KB
      Views:
      56
    More than 25k PPD
  12. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    On the brighter side just ordered an AMD 1100TBE chip to replace my 1055T thats running 4.0GHZ with a stock cooler. Temps are in the mid to high 50'sC. Going to sell the 1055T and Antec Skeleton case and just ordered another dimastech bench to replace it. Plus going to build another custom water loop for it also. Put my PNY465 upgraded to a 470 plus the 2 MSI Hawks cards in it also. with my Revolution 1000 watt PSU powering all of it.
    More than 25k PPD
  13. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Bought this to replace my Gigabyte 870A-UD3 that was DOA, and to test parts before 15 day return policy ends.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    Josh154 says thanks.
  14. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,860 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,404
    Are you running HFM? You can go to tools-benchmarks viewer and see what your system has done on one if its ever worked on a 6054.
  15. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    Nice board, I got one like it but it's an MSI flavor. I love mine OC's like crazy and easy to do it with my AMD 6 core cpu.
    Hope you have better luck with this gigabyte board.
    [H]@RD5TUFF says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  16. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    Nope not using HFM any more.
    It shows in the tracker history of SMP I did 4 of the 6054 WU's without any problems.
    More than 25k PPD
  17. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,026 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,136
    It seems like you will not lose your crazy folder badge anytime soon :laugh:
    TeXBill says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    More than 25k PPD
  19. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    Nope I've had the crazy folder badge just about the whole time I've been folding.
    More than 25k PPD
  20. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    Going to add a watercooling setup with this one and mount it inside of the case. I got the rad, tubing, and barbs already just need to order the pump and res. I'm thinking about an all in one pump and res together this time.
    More than 25k PPD
  21. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,860 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,404
    Any TPF info?
  22. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    Nope none Sorry.
    More than 25k PPD
  23. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Wow that board looks amazing! Look's like i fell asleep and took a little nap, went and checked the door and found a package. It was a fedex box and for my mother as well :( UPS still say's it's out for delivery today so we will see.. I just want my package already! Xbonez and i both paid for ups 3 day guranteed and i made my order last monday and he already has his package and i don't..
  24. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Hope it was insured, and you need to call customer support.
    Josh154 says thanks.
  25. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    I didn't have any option for insurance from newegg and i thought UPS was automatically insured up to $100? UPS's customer support is a joke in my eyes. Everytime i have ever called them i have never gotten 1 represeative that was helpful untill i asked for the supervisor who actually did something for me.

    I think it's because people can tell i don't sound fully like a adult and think im just some annoying kid. Yet do they know how much i buy sell and trade, ive made over 100 transactions and to this day UPS is my least favorite shipping company. Always has been, always will be until they give me a reason not too.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page