1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,627 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,102
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    hertz9753 says thanks.
  2. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,070 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    460
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    Intel Xeon X5560 Nehalem 2.8GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache...

    The guy thinks they are socket 775.
  3. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,097 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,620
    Added eBay item to watch list :D :laugh:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    you and about 10 other people Dub...:roll:
    More than 25k PPD
  5. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Well lets just hope somebody at TPU get's them and puts them in a sr-2 mobo or two separate rigs :)
  6. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,306
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Xbonez, dump the Coretemp and use RealTemp for Intel CPU's. It's accurate where Coretemp is buggy.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Really? Shoot maybe i need to download realtemp instead!
  8. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    coretemp I use for AMD cpu's only and realtemp for intel cpu's
    More than 25k PPD
  9. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    I just got realtemp. Temp's are like 2c lower in realtemp with coretemp right next to it. Im loading at 70°C max on core 0 the rest of the cores are 69, 68, 67. Think i have room to go 4.2 after i get my PSU tomorrow?
  10. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,661 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,191
    Info from Fits on those processors:
    those are x5560s
    45nm xeons
    for dual cpu board like sr2
    can be used in x58
    they have locked mem multi so you cant run real high mem clocks
    Also:
    they are very early ES
    probably terrible voltage leak
    but great OC potential
    TeXBill and hertz9753 say thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  11. johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,245 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    784
    Nah, stopped working for a half hour while I finish my last wu for 5 mil for todays stats. Thanks Mlee49, without the 285 with my 260, I couldn't of produced enough points today! Looks like I'll pass 16k for the day, the most I've ever done.
    Josh154 says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  12. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Grats man! Must have taken years of folding to reach that many points!
  13. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Yeah, took off the plastic from the waterblock. If Everest and motherboard LED is to be believed, I'm only 4 degrees above ambient, with which I'm satisfied. The AS5 needs to cure too.

    I still don't understand the massive, split-second spikes in Everest though. It'll shoot up to beyond 50 for a second, then drop back to normal.

    Running on a tech bench. Motherboard is EVGA x58. Ambient is 24ish, but Everest says motherboard is at 34. It has pretty good cooling, and even a heatsink/fan combo on NB

    Yeah, will do that tomorrow.


    Currently, I'm formatting my HDD and re-installing everything from scratch. I had a lot of drivers from my previous motherboard which would no doubt cause some drive clashes.
  14. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    I came from my msi 775 board to my asrock board and it worked just fine :p Windows 7 is great with switching. Reformatting isn't a bad idea though i just don't wanna loose everything i have.

    Have you tried any OC's on that thing at all yet? I really want your rasa kit man :( I would try installing realtemp and see what that gives you after you reformat
  15. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,972 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,102
    My hex is down and I'm away from it. My production will be down for a week :cry:
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Bummer man :mad:
  17. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Nah, havent had the time for that yet. The system will just be idle till after work tomorrow. Should be ample time for the loop to bleed.
  18. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Yep, you got the gpu's folding?
  19. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Nope, I put in the Windows disk, let it to install and left my apt. Won't be going back until after work tomorrow. I'll spend sometime OC'ing it till I reach the max stable config. Then I'll set it to fold and won't touch it again.

    Read some reviews of the board on Newegg. A couple of people have mentioned the VRMs run hot on this board. Also, I didn't realize, but this motherboard shows NB temperature in BIOS. That should be fairly accurate. I'll check what that shows next time I get a chance.

    EDIT
    I also spent a good 20min trying to get the rig to fold only to figure I had the RAM in the black slots, and apparently you need to fill the green slots first. :p
  20. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Haha yeah, i figured that out with my ASRock board. I would think that you just start with the channel closest to the CPU. Nope it's the channel furthest away. Hopefully you can get that thing going on some -bigadv's asap! We could use the points man! Im thinking when i drop my next -bigadv in about 2 day's ill break 1 mil :rockout: You'll be getting there very soon as well! Were gonna have many more to come together as well!
  21. johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,245 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    784
    Yep, this is why I need to get my replacement tx750 fast, to power my folding box. I had both of my cards folding in my main box, went to run a .flv video, and system lockup. Geez.....
    More than 25k PPD
  22. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Once I have everything setup ( 2 x 470s, 2 x 8800s, x4 695, i7 920), I should get about 100k.
  23. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Your gonna be outputting about 2x what i can :( Once i get some 470's I need to build a cheap skt 775 rig with a C2D that has like 3 450's. Will always fold on 2 and will game on one and the c2d and when not gaming folding on all three. A c2d should be enough to run 3 gpu3 clients shouldn't it?

    I should just buy that p7n-d back from you :mad:

    EDIT: I just did some math.. Are you sure you will be getting 100k? Here's my math quick
    -920 on bigadv -30k
    -965 smp -8k
    -2 8800's -12k max
    -2 470's - arent these like 28k?

    Total PPD = 78k
  24. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Ah true. I just threw a number out there. Guess 75k would be more accurate
  25. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    So you will be putting out about 20k PPD more than me. Hopefully i can make that up somehow. Hmm i think we got our own little battle going on between us :laugh:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 member and 1 guest)

BUCK NASTY

Share This Page