1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Depending on my financial status, when my tax returns come in, I can touch 100k.
     
  2. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Damn you! Just when i was thinking i'd be able to close the gap! Look's like it's time for me to go turn in a app at McDonals :roll: Money is money though and my rig needs upgrading. What do 970's go for these days?
     
  3. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,090 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    Trust me on this, the PPD are never as high as you think they will be.:)
     
  4. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    That's why we make it be that :)
     
  5. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,391 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    872
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Told ya so! Finally cracked 5mil, thank god....
     
  6. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Well guys. Woke up this morning to find the rig turned off and it will not turn back on. Think i fried my PSU?
     
  7. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Ooh, ouch. Umm, if you have the time and patience. Test one component at a time. Start with just motherboard/cpu. Does it turn on? If so, add RAM and repeat. So on and so forth.

    To test PSU, remove all connectors from all components, plug in a molex case fan and short the 24pin motherboard connector. Does it turn on?
    Here's how to do it: http://www.duxcw.com/faq/ps/ps4.htm. Its safe. This is how I was bleeding my loop.
     
    Josh154 says thanks.
  8. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Nah it doesn't even turn on. According to my EOC stat's it just happened in the last 2 and a half hours. I went and felt behind the psu and im not gonna lie it felt pretty stinkin hot. When the switch is flipped my lan light is on though on my mobo?

    It's a paperclip from the green wire to a black wire?
     
  9. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Yes, from green to any black(ground).
     
    Josh154 says thanks.
  10. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    I managed to get it fired back up. Just cleared CMOS and now it works. I love that little button :) PSU is putting out a lot of heat though. I can't wait till i get my new one today!
     
  11. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    So, you lost your OC too, right? I don't see why a PSU problem would be fixed by clearing the CMOS...unless your OC'ed system is drawing too much...dunno. Good thing you get the new PSU today.
     
  12. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Maybe that PSU needs to be dusted?
     
  13. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Nah i set it back to my OC. It may have been shut off due to temps. I had my window shut last night and when i woke up im willing to bet it was at least 80°F in here most likely warmer. Im thinking it could have thermalled or something because usually when it shuts off due to "instability" because of the low PSU it just restarts. The time i had it thermal it just quit and didn't restart and it was sitting there shut off earlier so that's my thoughts possibly but who knows.

    Nah it should be pretty clean, i have a dust filter on the intake that i clean weekly. It could need it though, i have my new PSU coming today though so im not gonna worry about it. It all seem's fine now again and i didn't really loose any points so it's fine with me :D

    Just realized i have my "crazy folders" badge!
     
  14. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    My WC loop has been running with the sys on idle for about 12+ hours now. Gf will be going to my apt soon, so I'll get feedback on her. Hopefully one of the pipes didn't burst or something...lol.
     
  15. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    I just arrived at my dorm room yesterday from break. Apparently power was cut off, so my computer died early on in the break. Because of this I lost a potential 200k. No matter, I will have my computer running 24/7. Hopefully I reach 1 mil before March!
     
  16. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    In BIOS, you can set it so your PC turns on when power is returned. If you put the folding client on start up, you're all set.

    Fans and grills delivered.
     
  17. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Haha let us know how it is. Hopefully everything is good!

    Dang that sucks :( You should be able to reach that 1 mil hopefully!

    Nice! I should set mine to start up when power is returned. Now you don't have anything else coming in the mail now do you? :eek: Put those fan's on the rad and hopefully you will see amazing temps on the 920!
     
  18. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    So, a question: When an OC is restricted because the motherboard is getting too hot, is it most often the NB, SB or VRMs that are overheating?

    The EVGA x58 has some waterblocks available for each, as well as complete chipset coolers, but they're more expensive.
     
  19. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Well usually the NB and VRM cooling is in the same like on my ASRock so both my northbridge and VRM's get scorching hot. Now on your evga the SB and NB are linked and the VRM's have there own. For my board my VRM's get the hottest.

    I guess you'd have to have some other's give you better information. But you should definitely see what you can clock to as you haven't even tried stressing the board with any OC's yet. I'd say mount a fan on your VRM sink and you should be good.
     
  20. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Hmm...that sounds like a good idea. An 80mm fan and a ziptie/rubber-band/double sided tape is definitely worth a shot. But yeah, I'll try stressing it first and seeing how far it goes.
     
  21. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    So, after reading up tons on the EVGA forums, apparently due to the thermal design (or some crap like that which was beyond me), the only way to get accurate NB temps on my board is from BIOS. So, I'll check that today.
     
  22. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Definitely put a fan on that VRM sink if you can. The cooler you have everything running the more stable and higher OC'd you will be able to get it. We need to see more points from you bonez so get that thing running ASAP with some cards and -bigadv!
     
  23. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    It should be up and running tonight with all the cards.

    Btw, great deal on 470s. The guys selling two (MSI and EVGA) for 350, shipped.
    http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1576296

    I'm thinking sometime in Feb, I'll watercool my main rig too. The Rasa is cheap, very effective and stupid easy to set up.
     
  24. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Yeah i seen that thread yesterday :( Sucks though as i don't have $350 to spend right now :mad:
     
  25. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Just found this quote from a user of my motherboard:

    My ambient is about 75ish, and my NB idles at around 30-34. So, doesn't seem like mine's running any hotter than it should.

    I'll get a fan for the VRMs anyways.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page