1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,392
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Totally understandable :)

    My parents don't listen to logic though, they're completely opposed to DC even if I pay my part of the power bill. So I'm limited to my laptop, although the ION setup I'm planning should also be fine
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    That sucks man :( Even if you pay the part of the bill is just insane that they wont let you :( Im gonna need to figure out a way to exhaust the heat this summer. Haha last chimp challenge i had two box fan's exhausting out of my room and it was still pretty warm in there. Last chimp challenge i was a noob to folding and i managed to buy new hardware for the CC. 9600 gso and a phenom II quad ftw! :laugh:
     
  3. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    I fold on one of my work laptop's 24/7 I just had to get a laptop cooler which cost me $10.00 bucs, now the temps stay in the mid 40C all the time.:D When before I got the cooler they would run in the low to mid 60C all day.:eek: It was the best investment I made for it.
    The laptop is a Dell 6500 with an core i7M and a 400m series GPU. If it breaks it's covered under the Dell warranty we have. So I'm not really worried about it.:D I also have a MacBook pro for work and it is only used for work nothing else.
    Try to find you a cooler they run on a USB plug and really do work, surprised me.:toast:
     
  4. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    How much PPD does it get you?
     
  5. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,392
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    I'll check it out, but I mainly use this on the go. And I doubt that a 120sp ATI card would do much in terms of folding performance anyways, so I don't want to risk baking it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Which cooler do you have?

    Right now folding on the laptop with the i3 it's loading at 75°C :eek: I also have a laptop cooler under it but im not sure it even does much :ohwell: Should i set up a box fan laying flat and have it supported by boxes for airflow and set the laptop on top of that?

    EDIT: Went for the idea and holy crap it lowered temps by a good 20°C in less than a minute! Anybody looking for a cheap laptop cooler? You found it :D

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2011
  7. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,392
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    That should help :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Definitely :D Haha i feel like a redneck or somethin riggin up a laptop cooler like that! I can't hear it either with my closed ear headphones so it's a win ;)

    Thats a extra 2.6k ontop of my 42k from the main rig. Im just hoping that it gets me in the top 20 on days i don't drop bigadvs. Somedays i will somedays i wont.
     
  9. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Do you understand how fans work? It won't pull NEAR enough air to do much on the ground. It needs to be raised. There is no air intake, therefore there is little air outtake. Please take a basic physics class...

    EDIT: Assuming the box fan is 36" the optimal height where it will gain the most airflow, the same as being vertical, would be just under 12 inches off the ground. You say you have boxes, but I don't see them!
     
  10. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Well then look harder :p The fan is a good 6 inches off the ground and honestly if my temps have already decreased that much it's doing something.
     
  11. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Yeah I see them now. I think you should put your computer inside your air conditioning vent in the house. I did that with a computer once... AC man was confused.
     
  12. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Haha wouldn't do much right now since the heat is running all the time. I have all my ducts closed anymore so it doesn't heat up my room anymore than it already is.

    This summer though i may need to run a dryer hose to a front intake on my lexa s
     
  13. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Careful, fans lose power as the hose gets longer. So a long hose will mean LITTLE suction. Try to avoid hoses.
     
  14. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
  15. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Dang, 10K is a huge amount for a laptop.

    So, I had a slow day at work and wrote a little Screen capture utility that might be useful to those who take a lot of screenshots. Check it out here: ScreenCapture Utility
     
  16. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    It's a new core i7M laptop with the newer 400 series Nvidia GPU. so yeah it folds pretty damm good for a laptop. Damm thing weighs 10 pounds I hate taking it on trips, but it's nice also because it has the 17" screen. Plus has a blueray player so I can watch movies on it. Does good for a laptop.
     
  17. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
  18. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Wow thats one amazing laptop man! Too bad my sister wasn't into pretty white laptops and would have settled for a black asus with a actual dedicated gpu.
     
  19. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,392
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    That's an impressive laptop, what are the specs?

    My T400 (2.4ghz C2D) pulled about 1.6k on most WUs, I'd assume my W500 would be at about 2k PPD from SMP
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    It has a Intel® Core™ i7 Quad Core & Extreme Edition 2.4GHZ
    17" WUXGA RGB LED Back-Lit Display (1920x1200) Resolution
    Dual Channel DDR3 Memory
    Available DIMM Slots (Quad Core configurations): Four Memory slots offering up to 32GB2
    Mine has 4X2GB for 8GB total DDR3
    Support for up to 2 storage devices with optional RAID0 or RAID1 configuration
    7200RPM Free Fall Sensor Hard Drive up to 500GB
    I have 2 Seagate 7200RPM harddrives in raid 0
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 4600M Graphics with 1GB DDR5 dedicated memory
    DVD-ROM, DVD+/-RW slot load, Blu Ray
    210 Watt AC adapter
    9-cell extended life primary batteries
    Plus a bunch of other stuff like 8 in one card reader finger print reader.
    Has Win7 Pro. 64bit on it
    Nice work laptop.


    Edit:
    I still like my MacBook Pro instead.


    Dell Precision M6500 Mobile Workstation
     
    Josh154 says thanks.
  21. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Sounds like a sweet laptop. What brand and model is it?
     
  22. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,458 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,392
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    I was actually talking to Josh, but that's a laptop to be feared :p

    A 210w brick? Damn. I thought the 90w brick that my new W500 required was a lot :eek:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    Yep its big i travel with the smaller 90watt.

    It folds good and thats what i use it for LOL.
     
  24. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Oh didn't know you were talking to me. It's a sony vaio with a core i3 330m. Only bad part about it is that it's got intel GMA :( It's not too shabby though. I can play tf2 and css on it easily.


    Finally getting some different work units again on my gpu's Have been getting all 353's since i started my clients up again yesterday. 353's are very nice cause of the high PPD though.

    When are the gpu3 clients getting some different work units? Id be tempted to switch if the 9xx units came back. Weren't 450's getting like 15k PPD on those units and 470's were getting like 18k?
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2011
  25. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Its Christmas!!

    [​IMG]
     
    TeXBill and BUCK NASTY say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page