1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    :laugh: just like buying a house....only another 25years to go :cry:
  2. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    :laugh: im not even a threat to you :ohwell:
  3. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Folding again in 30 secs (for TPU... until my site is up, then I'll be making my own team). Also, did anyone notice that SMP 5.92 beta is out? It's an update pack from 5.91.

    EDIT: I'd advise AGAINST the update. I can't get it to work.
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2008
  4. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    I couldn't get it to work, either.

    Question on the 5.91 SMP console -

    every now and then the console will "stall" - it's still working, but CPU load on all 4 cores drops to about <2% from 100% on all 4; if I close out, then reopen the console, it goes back to normal. Any ideas why it keeps doing this?

    Also, how to properly terminate the console? Even using ctrl+c, every reopen, it states last termination was improper and goes back to using standard methods.
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,664 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,838
    The SMP client will usually stall if you lose your internet connection, this happens a lot when on wireless connections. I don't know why.

    As for properly terminating it, I use ctrl+c and don't have a problem.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,107 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,123
    The client uses a .net interface AKA, network ports. So if your network card drops or something interferes with the network it drops communications between the client and parent application controlling the four threads and handing out work. the new beta uses independent thread processors and one master.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  7. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    I guess that kinda makes sense . . . so the only way around that issue is to install the 5.92 beta, huh?

    anyone been able to get that to run?
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,397 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,188
    Do we get any benefits for *F.L.A.M.F???

    e.g. brownie points or somthing similar to sucking somebodys dick so i can get 1k post count & get my stars back


    *Folding Like A MotherF*ker
  9. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    You use XP. In Vista, the tcpip.sys file is different to all other versions. When a wireless connection drops, F@H commits suicide. Something to do with the MPI interface it uses. Go wired or get Vista. 5.92 sucks. Wish they;d get this damn GPU core out.
  10. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Yeah!!...just broke the 200,000 points mark... but still a long way behind DanMiner :mad:

    Ahh well, will just keep on folding,
  11. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Woo, family is away for a week so i've got 4x computers available to fold uninterrupted!

    [​IMG]

    e6400 @ 3.5ghz
    e2160 @ 3.2ghz
    Pd805 @ 3.33ghz
    P4 2.53ghz (no overclock... dell :()

    Hopefully this should give me a nice boost!
  12. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,107 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,123
    I use it at work. Service, 24/7
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  13. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Stil waiting for the HD GPU console... hopefully it'll be out before my bday.
  14. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    I'm folding again. Faster now, because I got the HD3xx0 GPU code.
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,664 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,838
    I wonder what kind of numbers the HD3800 series will pump out compared to the SMP client. I know the SMP client, even when run on my stock PD805, produced a better score than the GPU client did on my x1950Pro.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,455 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,968
    TBH it seems seriously fast compared to running the desktop version on my Opteron at 3.0GHz.

    It has been a while tho. My last WU was in November:eek:!!!!!
  17. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    I'm getting 1300PPD from my 3850 (256MB), and each WU is 97points.
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,664 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,838
    That is a lot faster, but the SMP client is still faster for higher end Core 2 Duos. My E2180@3.33GHz is scoring 1444PPD. I should fire it up on my X2@2.8GHz and see what it does, though that machine doesn't run 24/7 anymore.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,455 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,968
    [17:11:19] Working on 582 p2799_N68H_AM03
    [17:11:19] Starting GUI Server
    [17:12:10] Completed 1%

    [18:28:12] Completed 100%

    thats 66mins per WU....21.8 WU's per day potential!

    HD 3870 stock clocks!!!!!
  20. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,664 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,838
    Thats roughly a 2100PPD potential. Definitely not bad, I would run this if I had a dual-core and a HD3870. I just started the latest SMP client on my Q6600 to see what it does, I seem to remember it was scoring about 2400 at stock.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. kureng

    kureng New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    100 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    joined, started the program (using console) and add TPU team no but i did not see my username of the list of teampage
  22. SpookyWillow New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    378 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    UK
    that seems to be going a lot faster than mine :/ 88mins per WU
    hd 3870 @ stock and E6400 @ 3.2ghz

    [07:57:42] Working on 582 p2799_N68H_AM03
    [07:57:42] Starting GUI Server
    [07:58:43] Completed 1%


    [09:26:23] Completed 100%


    it takes a while to show up, i signed up yesterday and only appeared today.
  23. kureng

    kureng New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    100 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i got Athlon64 X2 5000BE and HD3870
    should i use CPU client or GPU client?
  24. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    GPU definatly!
  25. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,664 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,838
    Run the GPU client, and the standard CPU Client on the second core.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page