1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    My watercooled 2600k at 4.8Ghz gives me about 29k PPD and a TPF of 35:30 with a 2684WU. Thats about 7k or more than a 920 D0 at 4.0Ghz.
     
    [Ion], PVTCaboose1337 and hertz9753 say thanks.
  2. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,366 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    856
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Forgive me if my ppd goes up and down. I need my main computer for work and gaming. I'm currently putting together 2 dedicated folding boxes, it will take a month or 2 to finish. I'm hoping for 3 gtx260s and a 9800gtx to start. My landlord is cheap, and has no idea! Let's see how long I get away with it.....
    Edit: also 2 gtx285s...
     
    [Ion], BUCK NASTY and Chicken Patty say thanks.
  3. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    My Zotac 460-768mb has some issues with the stickers.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 004.JPG
      004.JPG
      File size:
      113.4 KB
      Views:
      81
    • 006.JPG
      006.JPG
      File size:
      123.2 KB
      Views:
      76
    [Ion] says thanks.
  4. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,366 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    856
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Good lord, that sb... I might as well throw out my gtx cards and start all over, dam...!
     
  5. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Hey bro, we appreciate any efforts man! Keep up the great work!
     
  6. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    What happened? I have 2 of those on one of my i7 rigs and you're making me want to check them just to be sure:wtf:
     
  7. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,002 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,511
    I'd try to RMA them. It's affecting their resale value.
     
  8. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,366 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    856
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    After doing it for at least a year or so now, I can confirm, it is a bad idea to fold 2 cards with a sli bridge on them. Arrg. Oh well. Lost 2 wu's so far playing today..... A main gaming rig is not a good folding rig.
    Edit: looks like slipatch also is not a good thing to be running on a folding rig. My clocks started dropping when I fold, I need to force 3d mode jeez. I'm going to go to a real sli mobo for my main rig, this is bs.
    I hope I get a full folding run tonight....
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2011
  9. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    woot! Dropped my first (of many) bigadv. Lets see if I can hit 100k today.
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2011
  10. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Congrats, way to go! :rockout:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Congrats Bonez! You should break 100k easily ;)

    Sorry i haven't kept you all updated. My backup rig died, pretty sure it's a mobo issue so that means im only stuck with my main rig :( I need a computer for all my schooling stuff and what not so i haven't been able to fold on this rig.

    I've got a plan though. Instead of upgrading gpu's and all that in this rig, i'll just build some dedicated folding rigs with some old gpu for now. A 1156 i7 rig can be found pretty cheap so i think i will run that route and they can take about 3 gpu's per board as well.

    Don't worry though, I'll be back with a more consistent amount of PPD after i get a folding rig setup.
     
  12. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    At the expense of stating the obvious, you can run distributed computing projects (such as FAH or WCG) and work at the same time. I do, and it goes fine ;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,047 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,154
    The i920 in my UD5 is running hot with a Noctua 14 (+60 C at 3.6 GHZ @ 21 C ambient and 1.26 V) My comfort zone is 60 +/-5 C. I re-seated it twice and lapped it too but the culpit is bad contact (screws in far-in position is not enough to make full contact). Now I'm changing to WC - 480 / EK / Laing /Yate Loons. It will not be installed before I return from my next trip so the CPU will be crunching for 2½ weeks more since 3.6 GHZ is a bit to low for -bigadv.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    I could fold smp on like 6 threads, is there a way to do that?
     
  15. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Yes. I think you say -smp 6. I'm not entirely sure though.
     
  16. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Okay how about a way for 4 threads, and then 2 real cores? Or does it go 3 cores and 3 threads?

    I like to game every now and then :p
     
  17. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    Why not just fold smp on all threads, and pause whenever you need to game. Apart from gaming, everything else works perfectly on my system (flash, 1080p youtube, blu-ray movies etc.).
     
  18. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Well this week i don't really have much going on at all. I can't do school for about a week or so so i've been gaming a lot lately.

    Anyways, here's my current config in FAH gpu tracker. Everything look good?
    [​IMG]
     
  19. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Oh hey another quick question. So my bottom gpu idles and loads like 10C hotter than my top card does at the same fan speed and that caused it to fail work units at higher clocks. I took the GPU out and dissassembled it to put new TIM on and clean it up. I forgot that there is these little thermal pads :eek: Do i need to wait and put the card back together till i can get new thermal pads or can i use my mx-2 that i would use on my gpu? Or can i just reuse the old ones?

    The cooler is pretty bad, but the tim look's the worst of all. Im gonna clean it all up :D
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  20. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,366 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    856
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Hey guys, what's safe for nb volts on a p45 mobo? I just realized my nb was low, cranked it up to 1.20v, and now am getting much better oc in sli.
     
  21. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    You don't "have to use" thermal pads their just far safer, as the majority of thermal paste is conductive and makes it very easy to short out parts.
     
  22. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    So should i leave these pads on and reapply the cooler, or should i take the pads off and use thermal paste?
     
  23. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Well that's up to you, if you use paste I recommend using a non conductive ceramic paste, but I would not reuse those pads.
     
  24. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,136 (3.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,660
    I would take an Xacto knife or any razor and cut off the squished part of those thermal pads (with them still on the sink). You can easily see where the memory is going to be by the depressions. The gap between the sink and the memory might be too wide for paste to fill without going everywhere.

    New pads would be great, but you probably have to order them online. Plus the only parts that look awful dont even tough the mem and will be gone after you cut.

    Definitely clean that thing out though, its nasty :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,366 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    856
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Would 1.30v be safe for my nb? I want to crank these things up!
    Edit: and yes, I'd like evals from anyone I've bought from in the past!
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 member and 1 guest)

stinger608

Share This Page