1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,127 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,646
    I'm not kidding. It describes the direction the SATA wire goes from the connection. Therefore there are three directions: straight, up and down (or left and right).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,089 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    90 degree angle?
     
  3. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,381 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Fortunately, these are keyed. Only go in one way! Even a dummy like me can figure it out....
    just never actually got to see these metal clip locked ones. Don't forget, I live in never never land, where the fairys fly, and the woods are bejeweled.... aka small town western Canada.
     
  4. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,089 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    It looks like this.:)
     

    Attached Files:

    • 33.jpg
      33.jpg
      File size:
      9.6 KB
      Views:
      62
  5. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,381 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Those still appear to go into the ports one way only.... silly, here I am back in the mill at 19....
     
  6. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,127 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,646
    (I should not have called them left/ right handed. Better term seems to be left/right angled.)

    Right, the connection is keyed, so it can only go in one way. So in hertz's picture above, the key on the right angled end can be on either end. Think about an optical drive in a tower case. You can plug in a straight connector, one that angles down, and one that angles up. Maybe this link will help: http://www.pchcables.com/1me4leantori.html I think I used a shorter one of those on my system so that the cable from the optical drive angled down toward the SATA header on the motherboard and then I needed a low profile angled connection to fit under a video card that was the opposite orientation from the connection to the optical drive. Fortunately for me, PCH cables is less than 10 miles away.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,381 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Yeah, despite the fact I just discovered locking sata connectors, I do have quite an array. I guess the difference is in the angled ones, where they go on rightside up, or upside down. Guess that's the left and right referred to....
     
  8. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,950 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    500
    These are what I use

    [​IMG]

    the latches help stop thermal creep
     
  9. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,381 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Yeah, the new ones I have look very similar. And to add to that... I'm going to take 20th spot tonight sometime! Haven't been there in a while! Sorry Bumble....
    Edit: oops, jumped the gun. Still hoping I scared you, so you pump it up again!
     
  10. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,381 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Wow, HammerON just pumped out 3/4mil in one week! In his first week? Daaaam!
     
    HammerON says thanks.
  11. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    He's got a few i7's at work only right, or some cards as well?
     
  12. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,089 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  13. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,536 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,645
    Thanks guys!
    No gpu's. Just two i7 970's running -bigadv and an i7 920 running smp (only 2GB of ram).
     
    hertz9753 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,381 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Darn, 1 step forward, 2 steps back... My local shaw provider decided to up our upload speed, was getting about .96Mb/s before, now 2.39Mb/s! But now it looks like the possibly 30yr old cable system in my building is crapping out. Latency, which I've had serious problems before, is now really bad. I guess 25Mb/2.4Mb speeds are a bit much for deteriorating, oxidating old cables. If I need a stable enough connection for say game servers, or even logmein, I have to remove my router and go straight to the modem from my main computer. I've had to do this before, and on several other routers. The pain in the butt is, I have to disconnect my folding boxes. Hopefully shaw can increase the signal or whatever to counter the issues, until then my ppd may suffer a bit, sorry.
     
  15. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,950 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    500
    the problems not shores but yours you'll need to get onto the building manager or owner and see they will put it new cables
    as to the other problem with the router I thought most all ADSL modems these days are modem/routers if so then why use a second router just do what I do use an 8port 10/100/1000 switch and let the modem do the routing
     
  16. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,381 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Yeah, I know it will be a fight between the owner and shaw, and neither of them want to spend the money. [​IMG]
    Sucks, fast, but wish it was stable!
     
  17. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,950 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    500
    thats better than I get but then I have to go all the ways across the Pacific ocean lol

    [​IMG]
     
  18. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,381 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    But the latency is killing my server connections.. so not so good. If I take everything out of my line and go straight to my modem from my main computer, things work okay. As soon as I add anything in like a router, I start getting dropped. And yes, I know about port forwarding ect, I'm running Tomato, and know how to use it. Plus, I have tried other routers, same result. It just got worse when my up speed just almost tripled today, now it's a real pain.
    Edit: bothers me even more considering my ping, don't really understand that. I think I'm getting huge signal loss in my building.
     
  19. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,089 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    Here's mine.:laugh: Don't hate me.:rockout:
     

    Attached Files:

    • 15.JPG
      15.JPG
      File size:
      21.5 KB
      Views:
      75
  20. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,381 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Heheh Hertz! Well, I still can't get stable, but remembered my account gives me 2 ips. Apparently shaw doesn't just give you those! You have to phone and ask for the 2nd one now, and then they will figure out a way to charge you more. Even though the contract I have states TWO ips. This is going to be a fight......
     
  21. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,172 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,725
    Running this card through its inaugural F@H WU :D

    [​IMG]
     
    hertz9753 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,381 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Nice little card! Wish I could afford 4, or even 1 of them.....
     
    theonedub says thanks.
  23. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    You dog! :D How do you get that image?

    [​IMG]
     
  24. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,089 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    msgclb says thanks.
  25. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,645 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 member and 1 guest)

Jstn7477

Share This Page