1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. F150_Raptor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    355 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Connecticut
    You have to share the whole fah folder located in the home folder, and check all 3 boxes in the sharing options. That's what I did to see it from w7.
  2. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    I'm going to give up for the night!
    I'm using the folder SMP that is on the Desktop. As you can see it is shared but currently W7 doesn't see it. Maybe I have to reboot.
    I've got other work to do then bed.

    [​IMG]
  3. F150_Raptor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    355 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Connecticut
    You have to go to places, home folder, and share the desktop folder too since you installed it on the desktop.
    msgclb says thanks.
  4. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    I'm just waiting for the a case right now from Danger Den (plus a 480 rad) and then I will join you folks in Linux land:D

    [​IMG]
    KieX and msgclb say thanks.
  5. Mydog

    Mydog

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    454 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    Nice EK blocks you got there:toast::toast:
    Which CPU's are you going to use?
    bogmali says thanks.
  6. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    E5620's for now;)
  7. Mydog

    Mydog

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    454 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    Is it important to give each rig a different number when you run config?
  8. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    I could barely scrape together the $600 for my i7-970 so the million thousands it would cost to put together a SR-2 system was unrealistic.

    The only Danger Dan case I could find that supports SR-2 was their Double Wide Tower 29 - LDR Black Series so I'm betting you're on their 10 day wait period to ship it.

    The more members with a SR-2 the better.:rockout:
  9. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    I got the board/2 e5620/mobo blocks for a steal price at EVGA Forums. The case is the Black Series 29 LDR.
    msgclb says thanks.
  10. F150_Raptor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    355 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Bogmali, it's looking like a good start.:rockout: The cpu closest to the back of the case will be the hottest of the 2. If your using 1 rad, plumb that cpu first if you can.
    BUCK NASTY and bogmali say thanks.
  11. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    My ppd will be bouncing up and down for a while, shaw is finally upgrading to fibre optic cabling here. Except my internet keeps getting knocked out for hours at a time! Grrrr.....
    This is before, I want to see a big increase after all this:
    [​IMG]
  12. Mydog

    Mydog

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    454 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    Has anyone got a 6903 WU on a 990X, 980x or 970 rig?
    Just wondering if it's possible.
  13. F150_Raptor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    355 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Connecticut
    I have one running on a 980x right now, so it is possibly.
  14. Mydog

    Mydog

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    454 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    What speed are you running your 980X at and what TPF do you get on the 6903?
  15. F150_Raptor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    355 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Connecticut
    At 4.1 -tpf is 42:10(min:sec), memory running at 2230 mhz.
    At 4.3 -tpf is 41:21(min:sec), memory running at 1910 mhz.
    Mydog says thanks.
  16. Mydog

    Mydog

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    454 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    I'm running mine at 4,3 with mem at 1950 mhz so should get around 41:21 TPF then if I get a 6903 on that rig.:toast:
  17. F150_Raptor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    355 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Connecticut
    It should be in that area.
  18. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    The following quotes are extracted from the BetaTeam Forum.
    First, I hope that reference to 2G RAM is not per core (thread).
    Next, I'm sure the reference to 12 cores means threads.
    Finally, since the 990X, 980X and 970 are all 6 core/12 thread they should all run the 6903 and soon 6904.

    I have one 970 running 6903 with the -bigbeta flag:
    At 4.0 -tpf is 55:50(min:sec), memory running at 1280 mhz.

    The only memory requirement I've seen from Stanford is the amount of memory required, not the frequency.

  19. F150_Raptor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    355 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Connecticut
    I gave the memory frequency just to give a ball park idea for tpf, the higher the frequency the lower the tpf. Even tough it states 2 gigs of ram, all my rigs run between 2.7 to 2.9 gigs, so I say a minimum of 4 gigs to be safe.
  20. Mydog

    Mydog

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    454 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    Got a 6903 WU on my 980X rig now and TPF is 40:28:rolleyes:

    [​IMG]

    When I installed Ubuntu on the first SR-2 I tried to install on 3 Vertex 2 in raid 0 which didn't work and in the process I accidentally did a cmos while the rig was running. This lead to three dead Vertex 2 SSD's. Yesterday I got them replaced and I got three Vertex 3 :D
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2011
  21. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Arrg, my internet keeps going down! Not good for the folding boxes!!!
    Edit: it is worth it yet?:
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2011
  22. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,884 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,422
    Buck has one of his systems up for sale. Hope someone can "help BUCK buy a SR-2". Or, will it be a quad 12 core AMD?.
  23. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Man, this is getting annoying. Shaw is still replacing cables here, my boxes were down again. Starting to think big cpu jobs are best over gpu stuff. Probably are anyways. I guess I'll start looking for i7 stuff, lower power usage and more points. Made a deal on one system so far, but thinking I might part out my q9450 system so I can run a dedicated i7 folder. Think anyone out there would be interested in the mobo, cpu and ram of my listed specs?
    And my cable went out again......
  24. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    UPDATE on the SR-2 build:

    I screwed up and got the wrong tubing size:banghead:, just waiting for the correct ones and some new fans from Koolance that I will be picking up myself Monday or Tuesday.

    Here she is so far:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  25. F150_Raptor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    355 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Looking good so far. That's one huge case, it makes the mobo look small which is hard to do.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page