1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. Mydog

    Mydog

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    454 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Looking awsome BOGAMIL:rockout:

    Got bad news here, my primary SR-2 was off when I got home on Friday so I tried to start it but got no post or postcodes.:confused:
    Swaped CPU's, ram, PSU and GPU without any change, tested everything on my other SR-2 and it workes on that board so it looks like RMA time.:shadedshu
    bogmali says thanks.
  2. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Just got my 970 setup with Linux and the -bigbeta...

    Picked up a 6904 WU, will let it run and see what the TPF is.

    Just need to install HFM, and see if W7 can see the shared folder....
  3. F150_Raptor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    355 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Connecticut
    You'd be the first to get the new 6904. What clocks are you running?
  4. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Running 4.2 with MEM @ 1680...IIRC

    The first % took 61min...but was installing a few things at the time.
  5. F150_Raptor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    355 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Don't get discouraged with this w/u, it is even bigger in size than the 6903 but should produce a little better points. That's a great clock you got there, should be around 120k ppd.

    It seems like Mydog and myself have really stirred up the pot around here.:D
    Keep up the good work guys!:rockout:
  6. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Yeah.. it was your posts, on the -bigbeta, that got me into installing Linux on my folding rig again.

    I will let the WU run at the 4.2 for now, I usually run this rig at 4.3 under Windows but dont want any mishaps with the bigbeta unit.

    Just got to get W7 to see the shared folder now :banghead: ...but got vnc running anyway.
  7. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,859 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,403
    You've created a paradigm shift!
    F150_Raptor says thanks.
  8. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Got the shared folder to show in W7..just a simple reboot fixed that :D

    HFM isn't showing any credit for the work unit yet... :(

    EDIT: Using the PPD calc, I should complete this WU in 4.35 days with ~109K PPD.Total Points = 476K points.
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2011
  9. F150_Raptor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    355 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Connecticut
    I don't use any remote access for any of the rigs. Just be careful shutting down the client if you have too. I usually check the wudata_#.ckp file for the last time it was modified, then copy to whole F@H folder to another directory after 5 minutes of it being modified. Then disable the ethernet adapter b4 starting again. If it picks up where it left off at, enable the ethernet and delete the copied F@H folder. If it restarts at the beginning again, shut it down and replace the F@H folder, (delete it), with the copied folder of F@H, and restart. It's an easy way to back up the w/u just in case, these big w/u's suck if you have one start over and lose hours of completion time.
    oily_17 says thanks.
  10. F150_Raptor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    355 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Click edit in Hfm, preferences, go to web setting. Find the Project download Url address, at the end of psummary.html add a C, should look like psummaryC.html and then exit. Then go to tools and download projects list. You should see the points then.
    oily_17 says thanks.
  11. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Ahh, Thanks F150 that done the trick, now showing the same stats as the PPD calc.

    EDIT: Will use your tip if I have to restart this rig, but just intend to let it run ...hopefully
  12. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,859 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,403
    Which is....?
  13. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Thats what it is showing ATM
    thebluebumblebee says thanks.
  14. F150_Raptor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    355 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Once it settles in and your not doing anything else on it, the tpf should go down and the points should go up.
  15. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Yeah, hopefully it comes down a little for the TPF, but I read somewhere that with the bigger WU the 6903 WU was producing better PPD :ohwell:

    EDIT: Anyway..I deserve a beer for all my hard work :laugh:, so going for a cold one and will keep an eye on the TPF for it...:toast:
  16. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
  17. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    :laugh:
  18. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    841
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Well, a 9 hour internet downtime today, like friggin clockwork. And really?? 120k from a single cpu? What would a 965 net at say 4ghz? I'm seeing certain benchmark results that are way higher on sb than 1366 even, is that the same for ppd?
  19. PhysXerror

    PhysXerror New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    184 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Im back from a long folding break due to financial problems

    Bog that is sexy as! What cards will you be running? Single slot?
  20. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,859 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,403
    The 120K from one CPU requires a hexcore and -bigbeta. I believe a SB will beat the quad core i7's, and use less electricity. MStenholm has been showing that a hexcore doing -bigadv will get 90K+.
  21. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    My hexcore @4.2 running -bigadv gets about ~90K points per WU, but takes 1.5 days to complete a WU, so therefore ~60K PPD

    With the -bigbeta it gets 477K points, but takes 4.3 days to complete, so therefore 110K PPD
    mstenholm and thebluebumblebee say thanks.
  22. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    She's going to be a dedicated CPU folder so I think I'll slap my spare GT430 in there;)

    now onto my rant.........Replaced an i7-950 with a 970 hex core......Oc'd to 3.9 and she is stable with high 20's on idle and high 50's on a 100% load temps wise. It finished my last 2684 on my Win7 OS yesterday morning and then I installed Ubuntu 11.4 to dual boot. It took forever trying to setup the F@H client as well as HFM.net (with the latter being a royal PITA). Finally had everything setup and HFM functioning as it's suppose to; picked up a 6901 off the back with the -bigbeta flag and somehow I managed to CTRL C and restart after changing the flag to -bigadv. The 6901 got to 8% and all of sudden it error'd out and replaced by a 2685, that error'd out also with an "UNSTABLE_MACHINE" reason:confused:
    So now it's on a 2685 all day so I'm hoping it doesn't crap out again. I will post the logfiles later.

    My question to you Linux experts:

    1. If the OC is Win7 is stable, should I worry about stability in Linux?
    2. I've seen some of post about RAM clocks, do I need to tweak this for Linux to work?
    3. What Ubuntu version is stable, 10.10 or 11.04?
    4. Is it -bigadv or -bigbeta flag:confused:?

    Seems that 11.04 has some bugs within it still as I've had 2 BSOD's yesterday while getting myself familiarized with the UI.
  23. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    I'm not a Linux expert. I hope you solve this soon.

    I've only OC one Linux rig. I OC using Win7 until I thought I had a stable 4GHz then installed Linux. It has never crashed.

    I don't think the RAM clocks need any tweaking for Linux.

    I started with 10.10 but couldn't get it to share with Win7 so I installed 11.04. The GUI for 11.04 is new and I had a hard time familiarizing myself with it.
    I completed two WUs with 10.10 (one -bigbeta) before upgrading to 11.04.
    I'm now on my second WU with 11.04. I didn't get a -bigbeta the first time but it's now running one. I actually consider both version stable.

    I read somewhere that you could use -bigadv. I would stick with -bigbeta as it works and I believe pulls a -bigbeta when available.
    bogmali says thanks.
  24. F150_Raptor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    355 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Connecticut
    I noticed Linux needs a little more vcore than W7. The rigs would just freeze up, no bsod. Since you said your in the 50's temp wise, give it 2 more notches just to be safe.
    You shouldn't have to. I seem to get more ppd with higher frequencies + timings than I do with lower frequencies + timings. Run it at whatever it's rated for.
    I use 11.04 on all my rigs, seems to be a little more stable for me. I lost 8 w/u's with 10.10, only lost one in 11.04.
    They say you can use the -bigadv flag to get the big w/u's. I use the -bigbeta, but with it you get no support at Folding Forum if you run into problems. Plus I've been trying to get a 6904, which I think is still in the beta stage. I Finally got one though.
    bogmali says thanks.
  25. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    841
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Well, got knocked off the internet for so many hours, I got bored and installed win7 using ahci mode. With my 5 drive sytem, I noticed much better performance, and especially inter-drive performance. Used the floppy install of intel rapid storage, which I could access off the flash drive I was installing from, then installed the full windows version once it was up. Looks like if you have many hds, and access data all the time from them, ahci is the way to go.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)

Share This Page