1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Okay, I'm thinking an 970 vs a 975... which is the better folding ppd deal? I might actually have to hold out for a 970. Being broke sucks, but I guess I need best bang for the buck.
     
  2. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,069 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,172
    Same clock speed - 50 % more for the hex.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I hate it when that happens, the waiting game is horrible when it comes to hardware. :laugh:
     
  4. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,945 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    497
    so sell it to me then [H] :roll:
     
  5. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Then my server would have no processor .. .






    Also my mother found out she has breast cancer (slightly ironic on breast cancer awareness month I know) . .. sooo my BD is back up and folding all my folding machines are now going to TPU (for the moment) @ about 80 k PPD or so.

    I hope there is a cure soon so no one else has to go through this crap!:rockout:
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2011
  6. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,945 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    497
    oh shit dude that sucks my partners mum has gone through chemotherapy for breast cancer
     
    [H]@RD5TUFF says thanks.
  7. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Yeah, I can relate. Watched my dad die of throat cancer. It was horrible. If I could save one person from that, all this is worth it.....
     
    bogmali says thanks.
  8. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,069 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,172
    I just had my first client-core error on a SMP unit in ½ a year (at 97%). I will let it run as a cruncher a day or two to see if it is a permanent problem. I would hate to increase VCore before it gets colder.

    Edit: crashed again, rised it a notch. Still below 50 C so back to folding tomorrow if all goes well.
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Guys,

    I am using FAH control to Manage my folding. However, at first my GTX 295(SLI DISABLED) and my GT240 folderd at 100%. Now my GTX295 is at 50% each core, and my GT240 is still at 100%. Any ideas?
     
  10. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,106 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,629
    Did the 295 clock down?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,644 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Dave-what driver version are you using?
     
  12. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I'm at work so I can't verify right now, but it's the latest one on the Nvidia site.
     
  13. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    This is what I've got on my tech station:

    [​IMG]

    ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
    AMD Phenom II X4 965 (Waiting for AMD FX-8120 95W processor)
    CORSAIR H50 Cooler w/ (2) Noctua NF-P12 Fans Push/Pull
    Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz
    Corsair Airflow Memory Fan Model CMXAF2
    EVGA GeForce GTX 460
    Thermaltake 850W PSU
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2011
    Chicken Patty, KieX and [H]@RD5TUFF say thanks.
  14. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,533
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Sounds like a driver crash. I have to re-start my rig when GTX2XX start acting up.
     
  15. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Yeah I find I have to restart my 460's and 470's about once a month or they start dropping units, and folding at 60%.
     
  16. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,644 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    From my experience with older GTX2XX series cards is that the newer drivers will either crash and you'll have to restart the client or they will not fully utilize the card 100%. The Geforce 260 series drivers is what I find to work best with these cards.
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  17. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    That tech bench looks great. :)

    As far as drivers, I'll find some older ones and try them. I have already restarted and it doesn't fix it. I'll keep you guys posted.
     
  18. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Okay guys, running the 260.99 drivers, same issue. Only the first core on the GTX295 is running full throttle, when I add the 2nd one they both scale down a bit and when I add the GT240 it scales down along with core 2 on the GTX295. Any suggestions?


    ***note*** I need to have more than one monitor hooked up? I only have one hooked up to the GTX295 and that's it.
     
  19. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Well, sorry to say, my ppd is going to tank starting tomorrow. I have to strip my main folder down to sell parts, so I can finish building my first i7 folder. I should be able to come back with a least twice the ppd in the end, so it's worth it. My friend can only make payments, like me, so might take a month or two before I can finish building it. You know me by now, I always come back to folding!
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  20. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Best of luck dude. Keep us posted on the build.
     
  21. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,644 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Can you hook up a dummy plug on the GPU2 on the 295 first and see if that makes any difference and then add the GT240?
     
  22. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Looking for any left over 1366 cpu water cooling stuff I can find. My current bills are paid, so I can buy more stuff! I need one more cooling system, so I can xfer my current system over to the folding box. I'm looking for a used, real water cooling system, or the parts to accomplish that.
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2011
  23. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I don't have any. I have to find the how to on here and see if I can make one.

    I might have some stuff available but not soon though. :(
     
  24. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Question, instead of making a dummy dongle for the card, Can I connect a cable to the VGA port on the monitor? It won't be two displays, but it'll I guess give it the resistance it needs to detect a display? Any input on that?
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2011
  25. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Electrically, it would just be the same as a very long vga port. You would still have to connect a dongle to the end. Kind of like, if a power supply doesn't have the power good signal returned, it shuts down.
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page