1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I meant to say it actually connects back to the monitor. This post has more details. Any input?

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2445566&postcount=1823
  2. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    I think you're cards are chugging along just fine but you're worried that Precision is reporting a 32% usage on your GTX295. See my comments in the said thread.
  3. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,038 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,147
    As -bigadv folders will know there is a huge shortage of these units due to a server swap. Since I only run CPU (1 kWh = $0.38) I periodically switch to crunching. No point in wasting 3-4 hours to download a unit and then get a A3. In short crunching wins the next week or so. I might try to fold with my no-good-for-nothing-can't-reach-4GHz-i920 later to make up a bit of lost ground.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Lost a P6903 that was at 63% due to freak power outage this morning:shadedshu
  5. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    :( I had a outage too, and now the folding rig doesn't boot. WTF!
  6. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,359 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Wow, was just pondering your 295 issue, then saw that about your rig... did the psu get taken out maybe? I've lost a bit of equipment due to power outages, which are fairly common out here in the middle of no where.
  7. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    I will probably start cutting back on my folding due to my upcoming overseas tour early next year. Eventually I will only leave 2-3 rigs going when I punch out.
  8. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Naw, it booted after a while. Not sure what was going on. It's down again though as I still have issues with the HDD on that rig. I will put a older IDE drive in that rig tomorrow and that should do the trick. Then I just have to figure out why all three cores won't fold at 100%
  9. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Just a heads-up guys. I'll be selling one 2600K and a UD4. For folders I'll give the motherboard for free with the CPU (B2 stepping can only use 2 SATA ports). EU would be preferable, but USA could also work. Anyway, giving you that offer before it goes on FS thread (without the discount :p ) PM me if interested.

    Sorted Chicken Patty out with this :D
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2011
  10. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    After a 4 day LAN back @ 100% folding.
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  11. roast

    roast

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    592 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Ireland.
    I'm back..... ;)

    Have I missed much? Haven't folded in at least 8 months.
    Currently just folding on a single GTX285 and an i7 920 @4Ghz. Seeing as it's coming into winter (and my bedroom heater doesn't work) I'm going to be putting in a second GTX285 soon. Hell, if I had any more cards, I'd throw them in too. I have plenty of PCI-E slots spare! :p
    mstenholm and thebluebumblebee say thanks.
  12. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,038 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,147
    Welcome back roast. No you didn't miss much. Currently there are no or very few -bigadv around but if you set the -bigadv flag you will get some reather large WU with bonus. Do you have a key?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. roast

    roast

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    592 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Ireland.
    Cheers mate. :toast:
    How come they're in short supply? I don't have a key. I'm pretty sure Buck told me before how to obtain one, but I really can't remember. >.<

    I just shoved another GTX285 into my machine. I should hit the 200k mark soon. :)
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  14. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,830 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,518
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Hey folks, I'm folding again! I currently have a 5770 and a 6670 going (lame, I know) but I have a 550 Ti (mainly for PhysX, but probably for folding lol) coming in the mail right now (I got a Sparkle Calibre 950MHz model).

    As roast asks, how do I get a passkey for bigadv? I just got my 2600K 3 weeks ago. I might just run WCG again on 3 cores (leave the 4th for GPU overhead) if it's not worth it to do bigadv.

    Has folding kind of decreased around here? I noticed the subforum seems much smaller than it was 2 years ago, maybe the economy has taken its toll. I dunno.
    Chicken Patty and roast say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,937 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Passkey: http://folding.stanford.edu/English/FAQ-passkey

    -bigadv takes a minimum of 7 cores. Summer really knocks down our production and it picks up again in the fall, just like you and roast, but the pick up does seem less this year. We need something to make us more visible, like a contest. What client are you using?
    roast says thanks.
  16. roast

    roast

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    592 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Ireland.
    Just set a passkey up.

    Ugh, just my luck. I can't find ANY of my DVI-VGA dongles. I used to have at least ten of them. -_- The woes of moving house and you lose all your sh!t. :rolleyes:
  17. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,937 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    How many cards in your system?
  18. roast

    roast

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    592 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Ireland.
    Just two GTX285's.
  19. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,937 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    You shouldn't need dongles
  20. roast

    roast

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    592 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Ireland.
    Windows 7, one monitor connected to one of the GTX285s. I need a dummy VGA dongle for the second card in order to fold on it.
  21. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,830 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,518
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I have no problems running my AMD cards. The two I'm using (5770 and 6670) don't even have displays connected and I just have one connected to my 6970.

    I'm using the latest FAH Tracker V2 and the "R800" GPU3 -advmethods setting for my 3 cards listed above. Not using my CPU atm because the ATI clients use a ton of CPU. Was going to use it for WCG but I updated my AMD drivers, rebooted, and my computer pulled some weird ass shit of loading the normal OS and right before the login screen it somehow went to Startup Repair and deleted WCG and my mouse software with presumably a system restore. :banghead:
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  22. roast

    roast

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    592 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Ireland.
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=90420
    That's the tut for setting up multiple nVidia clients. ATI is different.
    I'm still using my older F@H clients that I used 8 months ago, has something changed since to enable users to fold on multiple cards without dummy dongles/monitors connected on Vista/7?
  23. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Nice to see people adding some hardware. I'm trying to figure out how to get my cards folding @ 100%.
  24. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,937 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Would you like a WHOLE lot more points for your efforts? Then you need to switch those ATI cards over to the V7 Client. I think this is the best explanation that we have on how to get V7 set up with Fah_core16. http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2179167&postcount=1 Scroll down to where it says: "To fold for TechPowerUp!:"
    Give it a try. I run 2 9600GSO's without dongles, but on XP which I thought was worse concerning the need for dongles. You could also try the V7 client. https://fah-web.stanford.edu/projects/FAHClient/wiki/BetaRelease You will not see a PPD increase as the HD5xxx and newer will see. Also, at this time, I do not know of a third party monitor that works with V7.
    roast says thanks.
  25. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,830 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,518
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Oh snap, I totally forgot about the V7 client. I'll get rid of FAH tracker when I get off work tonight. Does it work with NVIDIA as well? I'll be moving the 5770 + 6670 to another system and pairing my 6970 with a 550 Ti.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page