1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    912 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    I'm back! weee.... great trip!

    and great to see that alot of people are folding for us! Keep it going guys!!!
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  2. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Finishing my "AMD vs. INTEL" cpu/SETI@Home 'experiment/comparison' today, & will be on this team by nightfall doing Folding@Home...

    :)

    APK
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  3. FLY3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Nice to see that you will be joinging us Steevo! Great guys were getting alot more folders. And AlecStaar glade to see you joing the ranks soon.
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  4. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Decisions... Decisions!!!

    Ok, guys... I know I said I would join up Folding@Home TODAY, but I am now @ #21 on my team here, & want to break-into the "top 20" again:

    http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/team_display.php?teamid=26482&sort_by=expavg_credit&offset=20

    :)

    * Would anyone be upset if I took 1 more day to join, just (lol) so I can get the screenshot of it? Yea, I know, lol... but, I want it!

    APK

    P.S.=> I don't think anyone will mind my taking a LITTLE LONGER to join this team here, but I think it is the "polite/cool" thing to do, because of what I said earlier... IMO, I have a decent motive for delay here! apk
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  5. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    You disappoint me alec, making us wait like this! Think of the poor proteins that need folding :cry:
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  6. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Ah, but... I am SO CLOSE, 2.4 points away iirc, from breaking into Team Microsoft SETI@Home "top 20"!

    :)

    * You've GOTTA cut me some slack for lagging, I am only @ most imo, a day off of my original estimates!!!

    APK

    P.S.=> Last reply for today imo, it is late here... & I have to go finish watching a OLD 'classic film', circa 1935, w/ Errol Flynn "Captain Blood"... it is actually pretty good! Nostalgia... apk
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2006
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  7. FLY3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Come on dude start Folding...lol.. I dought any one minds, get your top 20 screen shot TPU's Folding@Home ranks will be waiting for you.

    Edit: By the way i don't know if i have asked you this yet, but how many comps will you be adding to F@H and what are there specs???
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  8. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    See signature for current primary rig, & this is my other rig:

    Pentium 4 3.2ghz H/T enabled
    512mb Corsair SDRAM
    BFG GeForce 6800 GT OC
    Western Digital "Raptor" 36gb 10k rpm 8mb buffer

    "The evidence/habeas corpus", lol:

    http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/hosts_user.php?userid=8294882&show_all=1&sort=rpc_time

    * Unlike SETI@Home? I'll be running BOTH systems on this team's project, concurrently, & I never did THAT for the SETI project!

    APK

    P.S.=> 1 more day, it's not going to 'hurt anything', & I'm back where I didn't think this rig would take me (whereas that 2nd rig above, did) again - into MS Team SETI top 20 once more, & for the last time!

    "The Proteins need folding!!!" & I'll be starting that up tomorrow... apk
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  9. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    912 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    stats update, sorry for the delay, i'll continue regularly next wednesday.
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  10. FLY3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    yeah i was wondering where u went.
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  11. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Damn the harddrive I got is DOA. So my server is going to be down for another week or so :(
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  12. BigD6997

    BigD6997 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    how do i add another comp to teh F@H cuz im going to run my dads duel core (pentium d)?
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  13. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Who was it made by? Maxtor by any chance? :laugh:
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  14. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    No, seagate. It has a 5 year warranty though, so sending it back.
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  15. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Power-Outage: Not going to make "top 20" SETI, so here I go to "FAH"

    See title/subject line:

    I am not going to make my "goal" of breaking into the Microsoft SETI@Home team's "top 20" systems again, in time today!

    (I.E.-> The power has gone out 2 times this a.m. & I ran SETI@Home from a Solid-State drive (which demands power is in it, & even if it has a backing powersupply, when the power goes out, it goes out - it's not a UPS, just an external power cable)).

    So, that all said - here I go to join this team for "Folding@Home" now, finally!

    :)

    * Ah, "the best laid plans of mice & men"... one door closes, another one opens.

    APK

    P.S.=> Edit part - joined, got my units downloaded & joined team # 50711, & am now running the console client, & playing w/ using "Processor Affinity" w/ it... apk
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2006
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  16. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Well I've got two rigs folding now. The problem is the 2.2GHz Celeron is really slow (nearly always on mind) and my gaming rig (see system specs) is normally gaming or turned off. Still done more frames than the Celeron though!
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  17. FLY3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Well keep it up, every little bit counts!! :)
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  18. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    This is a GOOD excuse for me to redo rig #2 for "Folding@Home" as well

    I am only running what's in my sig right now doing this project, as far as systems dedicated to it, or @ least partially so.

    I am using some commandline switch stuff & running 2 instances of it in their own folders off my SSD, & setting their CPU affinity as 1 to each processor I have in this DualCore jobbie by AMD, plus @ HIGH cpu priority on each.

    :)

    (However, imo? The BEST part is, I gave the app unliimited CPU, & yet I can play Doom III or Quake 4 smp or watch DvD's here, & there is NEVER a hiccup, even setting "FAH" the way I have above running it while I do those activities, which are cpu heavy imo!)

    * It doesn't mess with apps I want to use on the weekend, usually games or multimedia (tunes, films via DvD or WinTV32 USB) & multitasks/coordinates with them very well apparently... this is why I love DualCore/SMP/H-T cpu setups!

    Of course, I'm cutting into the "protein folding" calculation speed & processing as efficiently as possible w/out a doubt doing that stuff above as well, I have to admit, but I do have to also enjoy myself &/or get stuff done on this machine too!

    Still, soon, my production counts'll get plenty more done on this machine while I sleep & better (I even cutoff the OS gui shell, explorer.exe & run it while I doze off)...

    Then, I'll get rig #2 here "rigged up" for it (w/ SQLServer 2005 & IIS6.x only being used for learning here - it's constant) - I've been meaning to see what both of my systems, together, can do on a project like this.

    APK

    P.S.=> I wish they'd release the DDRDrive PCI-e x1 slot SSD though, I want to put this one (CENATEK) back into my older rig where it came from so it has that advantage for things PC too... & set the machine in my sig below up with that DDRDrive! apk
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  19. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Question: Which .exe does the actual unit processing?

    I see FAH504-Console.exe, & FahCore_65.exe... I use the console mode client, lighter & faster usually.

    (Running 2 sets of these above on my AMD Athlon x2 4800+ dual cores - need/want to maximize cpu use efficiency for units processing speeds)

    :)

    * I need to know, playing w/ CPU priority allotted for each: The one that does the actual unit process work is going to get HIGH, & the mgt. portion, LOW (assuming it is setup this way in those .exe's running above).

    "TIA" for answer...

    APK

    P.S.=> I want to see if playing w/ their affinity & cpu priority allotted makes a diff. in their processing runs speeds/efficiencies over a long term... apk
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  20. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=teampage&teamnum=50711

    (#7 of 12 members, 2 units scoring 482 so far... hope to "boost" that via diff. commandline switches & CPU affinity + priority use here on this project's processes as they are running).

    Made it onto the team report chart @ this point, so I know it's working over here...

    -----------------------------------------------

    Still, if possible (especially from you guys that have been running this project's processes for a long time, iirc, Steevo is one such person)...

    I would like an answer to my questions above regarding WHICH of the 2 executables this process runs is MOST directly associated with the actual work-in-process on the unit data!

    E.G./I.E.-> FAH504-Console.exe, OR FahCore_65.exe (noted above in my last post).

    -----------------------------------------------

    :)

    * The answer to my question above should help me allocate/deallocate cpu priority & affiniity properly to the processes @ hand being done in the console mode application, hopefully resulting in faster/better performance!

    APK

    P.S.=> So far, the console mode app's working well w/ various switches here, now it's just time to "zero-in" on which portions of this process (which .exe's really) need to have me "play with" their affinity &/or priority here... apk
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  21. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    You guys are powering ahead of me. I've really got to get this AMD folding more.
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  22. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Well, join up & get on it Jim, if you're not already (you may be, just on another team, I don't know)...

    :)

    * It's fairly interesting to "play around" with, especially the console version of the app imo... many possible 'performance-oriented' switches to mess about with & all that!

    (Runs best undisturbed here while I sleep imo, because that's when I even cut out explorer.exe GUI shell from running & leave this project's 2 console sessions motoring along, only)

    APK

    P.S.=> I always looked at SETI@Home as an "informal, long-term" benchmark of system memory bandwidth & cpu power, & do w/ this one currently as well - especially on the machine I am running it on (Dualcore type cpu)!

    The switchwork I use (-forceasm -verbosity 1 -local) tends to help imo, but I really need an answer to the questions above (so I can set CPU affinity & priority allotted properly, to the actual "workhorse" of the project's .exe files that do the actual unit data processing - not any "mgt." portion, which I suspect one of them to be really)...

    I haven't made or gotten a determination on that yet from my question above... I get that? Everyone on the team can gain by it... apk
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  23. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    To find out which is most associated just look in teh task manager which one is using 100% of your CPU! FahCore_65.exe should be the one that does all the work, just don't set priority to 'Realtime' because then you'll never get your system back without rebooting :(.

    Edit: Done 94 out of 400 frames on my AMD so far, so still a long long way to go. The Celeron's done about 130 frames over the last couple of days, mine's only really been running a few hours.
     
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  24. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Everyone who's folding remeber to add the

    Fold for Tech Power Up!!

    into your sig by copying and pasting the code below:

    PHP:
    [SIZE="4"][B][COLOR="black"]Fold for [/COLOR][COLOR="Red"]Tech Power Up!![/COLOR][/B][/SIZE]
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2006
    calvary1980 says thanks.
  25. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Thanks for reply - if I get this "right" others can gain too

    First of all, see subject line/title Jim:

    Oddly, the "FAH504-Console.exe" is starting up @ HIGH cpu priority here, & it was what I suspected was the "mgt. portion", which is much how SETI@Home works using the "BOINC" client-server system!

    This I can 'correct for' easily enough though, using taskmgr.exe, & setting the FAHCore_65.exe to HIGH (or yes, even REALTIME) as an experiment @ least...

    (I did note, that when I set BOTH .exe's @ HIGH (FAH504-Console.exe AND FAHCore_65.exe, in BOTH instances of it I run on each cpu core here)?

    My system lagged large!

    However, if I set one or the other as HIGH, & the other to LOW (usually FAH504-Console.exe @ low), my system chugs right along... no lockup though, duallie helps on this account!)

    I am guessing that too, & tend to agree with your guess on which .exe does what!

    However, so far?

    Well, I don't "lockup" (but do lag) if I set them ALL to "HIGH"!

    So, based on your guess, I will go (for now, until I hear otherwise from others replying here) with FAH504-Console.exe @ LOW cpu, & maybe even try the FAHCore_65.exe @ REALTIME (w/ each instance here of them (2 @ once) on a particular CPU core, via taskmgr.exe "affinity" settings).

    :)

    * Can't hurt to experiment @ this point!

    APK

    P.S.=> Just out to get the "MOST" I can out of this project & this system, then I will kick my other system into gear onto it as well... apk
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2006
    calvary1980 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page