1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,065 (6.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,123
    The utility bill was one of the main reasons I stopped my home machines from folding 24/7. They heat up the house, and make the Central Air work harder, plus I have to leave them on 24/7, which also sucks up the juice.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  2. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    well I've had two machines firing out the wu's for ~3 weeks I guess. Should see a bill soon :) I actually only started folding when the latest gpu client was released...:)

    checked the lappy, vista hasn't been run since purchase so it's using osmosis to get sp1. will have to see whatit's got for hardware. it's a toshiba 17" dual centrino with ati-m graphics if I remember correctly. Will give it a try after updates...
     
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,401 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,700
    its updated overnight to 302.72ppd.

    atm, i'm leaving it on - the systems passive cooled, but seems to handle the extra heat fine.
     
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,065 (6.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,123
    Look at the impact GPU folding has made to our scores:
    [​IMG]
    :rockout:
     
    Skitzo says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,401 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,700
    well the GPU client isnt lagging out my media PC or overheating it (average 46C CPU load despite being passive, and the GPU hasnt even got warm yet, even tho its passive too) so its found a permanent home here. 300 PPD is a little boost for TPU.
     
  6. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    sweet, good show :)
    this site has alot of members, it's too bad more aren't folding.
    Maybe we need a day or two here and ther when all the people who don't want to load their machine up or pay for excess power on a regular basis join in. It would give the folding team a boost and at the same time could maybe challenge the most users on at once record. Just an idea... :)
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,401 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,700
    i cant fold more regularly, because i use my media PC only to save power. The other systems sleep when they arent in use... an 8800GT, GTX, and two Q6600's @ 3.2/3.6GHz would kinda crank out the points... but not when they're off.
     
  8. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    489 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia (Spain)
    As soon as i "stabilize" 100% my new system i'll start folding again ... but not too much cause here it's summer now, A/C is on most of time and my electrical bill can go up in a dramatical way :laugh:
     
  9. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    yeah that's what I mean. Not everyone can do it 24/7 so a little motivation to donate a weekend here and there might bring some more participation. :)

    edit: even an over night run when it's cooler, it all helps
     
  10. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    11-------Solaris17------80328-----426
    12-------Skitzo000-----71754-----300
    13-------Wolf--------- -62288-----240

    check that out dudes :D we're coming along well.
     
    Solaris17 and Skitzo say thanks.
  11. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    just fired up the lappy ... no go on the gpu, it's a hd2400. got two clients running on the cpu so i'll find out in a bit what it's putting out :)

    Sol better pick up the pace :)
     
  12. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    You guys are able to get two clients working on one machine?
     
  13. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    i give up on folding ... it causes my room to increase in temps by 2-4 degreees on an unbearable ambient.
     
  14. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    i run 2 single core clients on my dual cores. The 5.91 smp beta using both cores put's out more ppd if you havn't added a passkey to your user name. :)
    At the moment I have 8 clients (2 gpu) running between 3 machines. I have no doubt this will change when I get my next utility bills :laugh: but until then :rockout:
     
  15. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    Gotcha, so you're logging into windows under two users and running one client on each?
     
  16. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    nope, save the cpu executable into two seperate folders (client 1 and client 2) on your desktop for easy access. Run each executable from each folder and they should not have any conflicts. You will have to configure both on the first run(s) but after that your good to go... I use FAHMon to monitor all my clients with one machine...
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2008
  17. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    to run the gpu client at the same time the prioities may need to be adjusted. I have found that the config settings aren't always enough so I increase the priority of the gpu exe and core to normal on the machines that only fold and below normal on the daily used machine. hope this helps :)

    EDIT: I use the task manager to adjust process priorities...
    try the config settings first, set cpu priorities to idle and the gpu to the next one up...
     
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,401 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,700
    to those who know: would the SMP (or two rgular) clients outdo the 300ppd my 3450 gets?

    I see some high scores from the GPU's, but i have no idea what a CPU even scores. The CPU in the media PC is a 4200+ toledo (939) at 2.2GHz.
     
  19. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    the multicore smp client 5.91 produced ~ 1000ppd on my be2350 @ 21. Ghz while the single cores produce 200-300 ppd/ per core.
    My c2d (e6750 @3.2) produced ~1600 ppd with the 5.91 client and 300 -400 ppd/per core with the single core client

    So a little less than half the ppd for the single core clients, wish i didn't add the passkey:(
     
  20. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,295 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,616
    Location:
    Florida
    youve got more silicon than i do......and my rigs been down for a coule days ......but if youre game bring it cub scout ;) :p time to kick the laptops into gear....and build my folding rig ;)
     
  21. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    I'm always game ... :rockout:
    I'm thinking with your gear set up right, you could blast out the wu's. Split up your 9600's, last post I saw of yours, the second 9600 wasn't contributing much more than my 8600 :p
    The lappy I fired up is only putting out 250 -300 ppd day so it's not alot of help :laugh: There are a couple more systems kicken around but the are both pretty limited so I might get ~200 ppd between the two of them...not worth the power bill :) At the moment I'm pushing ~8000 ppd, don't think I can do much better. Even with a higher cpu oc's I'll only manage another ~400-500 ppd total.
    Maybe for a day i'll max out the oc's and add the little puter's, see what I can squeeze out :D
    Can't do it for too long though, ac is already workin pretty good the way things are lol

    Hey Wolf ... ya gettin in on this? :D
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2008
  22. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Woo im number 118 :D GPU folding is great!
     
  23. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    im still hangin in there, got a few things happening in the next few days, should bring up my score.

    hopefully 3 independent rigs that crunch 24/7.

    9800GTX - 9600GT - 8600GT

    but ill see how i go, need to do OS installs and everything...
     
  24. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    sweet :)
    lol, i'm having more trouble getting vista to share with vista for fahmon that ubununtu or xp... who'd a guessed it?:)
     
  25. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    Skitzo says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page