1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    Aren't you using it in your sig? Hows the ppd look on it? To bad ati don't run. I have a rig without a gpu. Its only using onboard apparently. So theres an open amd slot not being used also.
  2. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,076 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    468
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    My sig is old. The last time I ran it was last December and I was getting 15k ppd. I can't rember the oc on the GTX 275, but the GTS 250 was stock.
    popswala says thanks.
  3. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,076 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    468
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    I just did a quick update of my sig.;)
  4. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    LOl, fuzzy bunny. I remember the "clap your hands" avatar you used to sport. That was classic.

    :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,076 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    468
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    If I find the picture can someone put "clap your hands" on the bottom of it? :laugh:
  6. Beertintedgoggles

    Beertintedgoggles

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    720 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    Alright.... I need some help. I bought a GTX 470 to replace my 9800GT to fold on along side my GTX 275 Co-op (clocks on that btw 700/1515/1200 and the onboard gts 250 at stock) but I just can't get them all to play well together. I tried using the console versions and setting the fermi and g80 flags for each, then tried the all in one client control (running it right now) and with each setup only the smp and onboard GTS250 will fold. According to GPUZ the 470 and 275 have no load applied. Finally getting frustrated.
    hertz9753 says thanks.
  7. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,076 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    468
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    I use Tracker v2 and Nvidia 266.58 drivers on my Destroyer MB. It only has a GTX 470 on it now. It used to have a GTX 275 co-op, GTX 275 and a GTX 460 running on it. Some of the 270.xx drivers will also work.:)
  8. Beertintedgoggles

    Beertintedgoggles

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    720 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    Downloading now, will give them a shot.

    Edit: Still can't get the 275 or 470 folding. I had no issues with my 2500K, 275 co-op and 9800GT. Right now only the cpu and onboard 250 from the co-op card are running.
    Last edited: May 3, 2012
  9. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,029 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,139
    I had a BSOD on one of my rigs. I'm not sure what coursed it but I think that it was my GPU. Anyways I'm testing a new OC (chruncing) and another GPU for a day or so. I hope I can make up for lost time/results with my new GTX 680 when it arrives.
    hertz9753 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  10. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    I'll pm ya hertz when I get home tonight. Its not easy on phone lol or you can and ill write back when I can.
  11. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,797 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I'm having a frustrating time with Ubuntu 12.04 x64 and F@H v7. Have ia32-libs and restricted NV drivers installed with FAHclient and FAHcontrol. FAHcontrol *looks* normal but it keeps trying to download the clients and failing. What gives? Using 2 GTX 460s on an ASUS CIIIF and 955BE.

    At least WCG works, but if this thing hasn't downloaded any WUs by tomorrow, back to Windows it is. :banghead:

    EDIT: LOL according to F@H forums there aren't any Linux GPU cores in development, but F@HControl says you can use GPUs. Epic fail, back to Windows it is.
    Last edited: May 3, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,797 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    RIP Crosshair III Formula, August 2009 - May 3, 2012. You will be forever missed.

    Turned it off to install Windows, turned on, no beeps without RAM installed, Voltiminder lights don't work, LCD Poster just counts the time from 00-00-00 and CPU fan does not spin. Tried new PSU, same thing. :cry:

    IT WORKS AGAIN! I swapped the CMOS battery with one off another board and it works now. I can't believe how much trouble a stupid battery can cause.
    Last edited: May 3, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,076 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    468
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    I have one of these on my main rig on the stock GTX 470. I also have some cooking on my GTX 460's. The heat output reminds of the 511 wu's.

    Attached Files:

    • 14.PNG
      14.PNG
      File size:
      61.7 KB
      Views:
      64
  14. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    I believe GPU2 was avail in Linux using the "Wine" wrapper, but I have never run Linux myself.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,797 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Unfortunately, my Crosshair III Formula did end up dying, so it has been swapped with with my backup Foxconn A7DA-S (790GX) and Phenom X4 9750. Picked up that board "new" from Geeks.com a month ago for $62, and I'm glad I did. There simply aren't any decent AM2+ boards available any more.

    If I lose any more AMD boards, I might pick up an AMD 970/990FX board with 3 PCIe slots. Have no hardware money currently and I want to digest some of these older single PCIe/single core systems that I run Fermi cards on before spending any more money on anything, as I've probably put almost $2000 into a farm I may not be able to have next year or even within the year due to the power company rolling out new digital electric meters state-wide.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. Beertintedgoggles

    Beertintedgoggles

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    720 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    In case anyone is interested, I finally got all three GPU's working together. For info sake I'm using v7.1.52 of the Client Control and 296.10 drivers. It turned out my issue was leaving the gpu-index and cuda-index values at the default value of -1 and letting the program auto-detect and assign the numbers. Editing the slot configurations (-gpu #) to properly align with the GPU number found in the System Info tab of the program then running CUDA-z and manually configuring the cuds-index value myself got everything up and running. Now I just need to wait a full day or two to see what my final PPD numbers will look like. I'm hoping for around 40k PPD from this one machine.
    hertz9753 and mstenholm say thanks.
  17. Feänor

    Feänor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    512 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Hey beer, try to oc that 275 co-op of yours!

    I had one a few years back, and while the gt200b ocing was great, the g92 oced godlike. Can't remember how far it went (my memory tells me it was running beyond 2000mhz on the shaders), but i do remember i didn't found any card (on any forum) that oced that high on air. I had (core and shaders) clocks normally harvested with ln2 or some exotic cooling solution. The total ppd was over 16k.

    The hard part is stress testing, as F@h is the only way i know to stress a gpu who's not hooked up to a monitor.
  18. Beertintedgoggles

    Beertintedgoggles

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    720 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    That's my whole issue with the g92 on it, no way to stress test until folding starts flagging the results. I have the gtx 275 at 1515MHz for the shaders perfectly stable which does a pretty good job at eating through the wu's. I'll give it a go at pushing the 250. It still amazes me the PPD numbers these old co-op cards put out.
  19. Feänor

    Feänor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    512 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    ppd/w, they're not the greatest, but it is still great total ppd for gpu2 folding!

    Wait till it finishes a wu, then up the clocks it untill the wu crashes (give it 2 minutes max between each increase). Lower the clock a good 20-30 mhz, then let it fold. I even got to up voltage after flashing a modified bios (you can flash either bios as any dual gpu card)!
  20. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,076 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    468
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    You have to love the name of this wu.:laugh:

    Attached Files:

    • 19.PNG
      19.PNG
      File size:
      87.4 KB
      Views:
      62
    Jstn7477 says thanks.
  21. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    I forgot that they were still doing the acronyms. LOL
    :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. F150_Raptor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    355 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Connecticut
    I got one rig switched over so far for the CC, the other should be up and running tomorrow. Here's a little screen shot.

    [​IMG]
    KieX, theoneandonlymrk and hertz9753 say thanks.
  23. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    Thanks soo much hertz9753

    Big Thanks to hertz9753
    eVGA GTX 275 co-op / eVGA GTX 275 / G. Skill Snipers DDR3 1600 8GB / AMD PH II X4 945

    [​IMG]

    Thanks soo much. This is all going towards Crunching/Folding for team TPU and Chimp. It's soo awesome to know theres still great people out there that help others in any way possible. This could be a way for me being being returned the favor for all the help I've given to others over the pasts several yrs and never took anything in return. TPU is such a great place full of awesome people. I can not say thanks enough for all the generosity hertz and others have shown. It makes me proud to be a part of the TPU family and a friend to all. Thank you all.
    hertz9753 says thanks.
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,473 (10.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,012
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Ok I just installed F@H client and joined the team. I have my 560TI and 2600K pumping out numbers
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,076 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    468
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    You can thank me by getting that rig running.:toast:
    thebluebumblebee says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page