1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    489 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia (Spain)
    Mine failed too at night, rebooted by itself alone and i can't resume the work now (48% was done) ... though it all, it's still Prime Stable ... and if i start the SMP client it will work but not as accurate as yesterday, can be a software bug more than stability ???

    update: i was using 5.92 beta instead of 5.91 beta 6 cause in the F@H web they were saying it's more reliable and stable ... :wtf:
     
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,063 (6.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,122
    Your computer is more than likely unstable. F@H is super senative to instability, I found it way more sensitive than Prime95(and I assume you are using the Prime95 designed for multi-core systems right?)

    What version of the SMP client are you using, and what version of Vista do you have?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  3. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    489 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia (Spain)
    Yes newtekie1, passed 3 hours the Small-FFT's on a lower voltage and 12h 30m the Blend test, i'm using last version 25.6 for 32 bits (i'm on XP 32 right now) ... i did some tests and i decided to upgrade some other voltages (PLL, NB and RAM) a notch except CPU one (arrives till 1.344V on load and sometimes max to 1.352V) ... it's working better than yesterday now (2444 PPD vs 2276 PPD), completing a cycle in 10m instead of 11 ... but i'll gotta look further if will crash or not.

    Thank you for the advice related to F@H, i thought Prime95 was the more exigent in stability tests, i'll keep that in mind :)

    :toast:
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2008
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,399 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,697
    use OCCT or orthos. they're the best multi core testers out there (OCCT being the only native quad core tester i know)
     
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,063 (6.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,122
    Prime95 v25 and higher has native quad-core support. The problem is that Prime95 and all other stability testing programs don't test every aspect of the CPU. So one program might be perfectly stable, but another might crash. I've had CPUs that were Orthos/Prime stable for 24+ hours, but F@H would crash(or give EUEs) almost instantly when I tried to run it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,399 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,697
    and thats why i use OCCT. usually problems show up within 30 minutes, and i've never needed more than 4 hours testing in it. (the only crashes that happen after 4 hours, are overheating related/due to ambient temps changing)
     
  7. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    489 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia (Spain)
    OCCT passed in Mix Mode with lower voltage stable for 1 hour too, i always check with Prime95 & OCCT ... the F@H theory wins points :wtf:
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2008
  8. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    [​IMG]

    :toast: Wolf, ya took #1 for most productive :) According to xoc it's gonna take you two months to catch me point wise. Should be alot sooner once ya get your 8600 folding.. It's looking like I sold my folding rig last night. Gotta remove the vrmod stuff I added to the 8600. A friend needs a pc so... but I'll have up to two more weeks to let it fold:)



    on another note. all the beta clients we use to fold have been identified as higher risk folding. They are not tested as much and can result in eue's and core shutdowns. (This is why the ppd value is so high for the wu's going through the beta clients). Any instability in a machine tends to casue probs for FAH clients. FAH clients seem to be an exceptional tool for testing stability. If you are hitting nice oc's and having FAH probs, you should consider re-examing your oc for stablity and look to a more stable client. The FAH website clearly states the risk for beta clients.
    It's great to max everything out to push the wu's through, but if they don't make it out the other end consistantly what's the point.
     
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,063 (6.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,122
    It kind of feels odd not being the most productive. I took the spot away from Steevo a while ago, and with the exception of the few times he took it back, I've been unchallenged for some time.

    It goes to show how the poor economy affects everything. I would easily still be in the top spot if I could afford it, but I simply can't. The utility bills are simply too high, and running the air conditioning this summer is just killing me. I don't even leave my computers on 24/7 anymore like I used to. Now they are all set to Hibernate or Sleep after 15 minutes. I have my Q6600, E6600, x2 4400+, HD3850, 8800GS, and 9800GTX all going unused right now. That is probably 13000+PPD. I know the 8800GS and 9800GTX can pump out 10000PPD by themselves. Plus my PS3 isn't folding anymore either.

    Since I stopped folding, my utility bill has dropped about $75 from what it was, and I've lowered the temperature the air condition was keeping the house from 78F to 74F. When I was folding, not only would the computers be one 24/7, they would be under full load, which draws even more power, plus they were putting out so much heat that the whole house would heat up and the air conditioner would have to run harder, which eats up even more power.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  10. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    can't be on top all the time ;) It's fun on the bottom too :)
    EDIT: :) are you trying to point out the fact that you could crush us at any given time if you choose to :D

    I hear ya....

    Power is too expensive these days :( My ca was only cycling off for ~10 min per hour with 4 machines folding 9 clients. On average, the top floore is 3-4 *C hotter than the main floor during summer months. After 24 hours of 4 machines folding the differnece was up to 10*C. Well I guess if I only have the one machine folding :(, power and heat shouldn't be too much of an issue.

    EDIT: Hey Wolf,
    [​IMG]
    I know your coming ...
    I now when your gonna get here...
    will you wear a yellow rose on you jacket so I know it's you :laugh::roll::laugh:
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2008
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I started like 3 days ago and im already #86 go GPU folding :rockout:

    Does anyone know if the 4850 would fold faster than my 8800GT 1gb?
     
  12. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,063 (6.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,122
    There isn't a client for the HD4000 series yet. However, I would guess the HD4850 will be faster than the 8800GT.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  13. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    :) w00t :rockout:

    im even now considering giving my sister a CUDA card, even tho she doesn't play games, just cos her comp is on 24/7, id get her to fold wit it.
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2008
  14. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,450 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,541
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Gimme a hand guys

    I am running the GPU2 on my 3870 @ 1906 PPD
    I have a Phenom X3 8650. Can I run the SMP client on the other 2 cores as to not slow down the GPU? If so, is there a link to a walkthrough for setting up dual clients(GPU2 & SMP)?
     
  15. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,867 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,342
    damn it you tards are overtaking my Core Duo 1.66Ghz lappy *shakes fist like an old man*

    [​IMG]

    Ugh i use to be top 20 but now im 23rd n im not sure if i'l be able to keep up with the other speed crunching Demons....

    aka D3mon_OF_Th3_F4LL


    I think i will need to switch to the dual core version of F@H to stand a chance if at all of clawing back my leet position
     
  16. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,450 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,541
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    I'm comin for u Shadowfold!!!!!!!!
    Actually , I think i eclipsed u already. I can't tell till the next update what i accomplished overnite;)
     
  17. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Crap your getting close :D Im gonna set up a 3850 to start folding too so I dont think you will keep up there!
     
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,399 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,697
    well hell, with a single 3450 i'm already #77
     
  19. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    yay top 10 :D
     
  20. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86

    been wokring on a post to help people fold, but its not finished yet.

    I havn't had the opportunity to get right into the smp client, but I'm thinking when the client is run, it should set the affinity for all three cores. If the gpu client will not run, check it's config settings and make sure the priority has been set above just above the lowest. If this doesn't work, the priorities of the executable and the core can be adjusted through the task manager. I'll try to find a link thant better explains it. This info will be added to the"post" when I can.
    give it a read, you might find some usefulinfo :)

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showpost.php?p=871887&postcount=1527



    @Wolf lol, well we've dethroned two top ten's. :) good show. when your ppd average starts to show your new output, that'll be some pertty numbers.

    edit: corrected info
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2008
  21. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2008
  22. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    the link isn't working, If it's the xoc stats page, I think the link is near the end of the post :)

    I seemed to have messed up my 8600 :(. Was playing with my cpu oc yesterday and it fubared my vc oc. Had to re -do the pencil mod 5 times to get it stable at 875/1912/800. PPd didn't come back up though (now ~1450 from ~2200)) gonna reinstall the drivers see if that helps.


    edit: the link is working now :)
    k I just noticed my effective ppd rate (8600)has gone up :D was 900-1100, it's now back up to ~1600. Maybe it doens't like this wu....
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2008
  23. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86

    it would save you some power, but I'm thinking you'd take a serious hit in output. I saw a screenie of Sol's 9600's folding, second card was ~50% output, a third card would prolly be ~50% output of the second card.
    Would still be a really nice folding rig:D
     
  24. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    fah must be adding wu's and adjusting the bonus or something, my 9600 just dropped 50%ppd :(
     
  25. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,450 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,541
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Hmmmm... (bumps Phenom up to 3.01GHZ and 3870 to 915MHZ), if I can keep this 3870 from melting down, I might reach 2100+ ppd.....and then there are the servers at my work.....;)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page