1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    did you install a previous version as a service?
    when you check task manager, are the exe and core processes already running?
     
  3. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i didn't install any previous version as a service i don't do that because i don't like F@H starting with windows. the exe and core are running AFTER i click F@H.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    do you have a client on another machine with the same machine id #?

    try changing your machine id, lets see if we can get rid of the first error...
     
  5. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I don't have another machine folding. I will change the machine id and let you know how it does in about 20min


    EDIT machine ID changed to 2
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,117 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,177
    I get that same error message with the SMP client from time to time. Everything I have gathered about it says it is just a random error in the SMP client, where the worker processes don't stop correctly after finishing a work unit. Rebooting fixes it and allows the SMP client to continue.
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  7. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    is it the original install or a re-install?
    if reinstall, I read that there are two commands to use to remove the client completely before re-installing. I'll see if i can find it back (FAH forums)

    I have run into some probs with my clients, I have found that it's easiest and quickest to un-install and re-install, seems to work for me...
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  8. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I un-installed it and re-installed. right now after restarting windows i haven't got the error but give it time.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    p_o_spc seems it would be a random eror, how often does it happen?
     
  10. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    it was happening about every time i would run F@H that is why i stopped using the SMP for a while.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    it has been about 20min(i think) and i haven't had a problem but it is only at 1% right now. kinda slow for a 5KBE @3ghz isn't it?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,117 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,177
    It only happened about once a month for me. But I don't start and stop F@H that often, it runs as a service 24/7 on my SMP machines.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  13. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    489 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia (Spain)
    How big is your WU p_o_s_pc ??? I noticed mine @ 4Ghz lasts 10 mins on every % at the 1760 points WU's (about 2400-2500 PPD) and ... about 13-14 mins on every % at the 1920 points WU's (so about 1850-1980 PPD)

    Hope to be helpful :toast:
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  14. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    Ok then it isn't doing too bad it is a 1920 point WU
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    489 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia (Spain)
    Anything but not bad, that's for sure, thanks to you man! :D ;)
     
  16. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    wish i could get my uncle to fold on his quad 9500

    EDIT: how much does ram speed and timings affect F@H
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,984 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Lol my point average is 960pts for 24hrs...hehe...well I should be doing a bit better if I leave my rig on for more than 6 hours a day...it's just been so hot lately, I turn my G/F's rig and my rig off at night to lower heat output lol..but soon enough I'll become more active, I'll see if the first GPU FAH still works as my G/F's rig has the 1950xtx, plus she has an e6300 OC'd to 3.36 so it should be decent between her rig and mine.

    Good to see more people getting active in TPU FAH team, 50711 FTW! :toast:
     
  18. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    damn it! F@H SMP hang again. This time at 1% fuck it i am done with SMP till i got back to XP
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    489 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia (Spain)
    So sorry man :shadedshu And really sorry cause i finally reached stability and i wished you to do the same (99% completed and more than 24h folding just adjusting GTL Ref Voltage it's incredible ...)

    Wish to get it fixed soon! All my support to you and if i can help just ask dude! :)
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  20. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    Thanks... I never had this problem with XP i started having this problem when going to Vista... can i run it in comparability mode?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. SirKeldon

    SirKeldon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    489 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Barcelona, Catalonia (Spain)
    I never used it on Vista but i had tons of problems with my 6400+ with the SMP client ... always hanged even on XP ... and what you mean when talking "comparability"?? is that any option of F@H?
     
  22. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    sorry i clicked the wrong thing on spell check lol i meant compatibility mode
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,484 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    he means compatibility mode, which is an option in windows.

    edit: he did a ninja and beat me to it
     
  24. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    thanks... but i already told him what i mean... i forgot to tell him it was an option in windows. so do you think it will help? I am going to try it anyways

    EDIT: he edit before i posted. lol
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,484 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    i am ninja!

    it may help. to be honest i found the SMP client to be an absolute ASS. the GPU client is so nice and friendly, i'm not going back to the SMP until it gets updated.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page