1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,513 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    901
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Arg, first 100+f temp day inside my apt today. Don't have ac, landlord wants 30 more for that... so I'll be
    taking down my fermi for the summer soon. Just watching the weather, but when it gets hot here, it gets
    hot. May get a few more days out of it...... Praying for Kepler manna......
     
    manofthem and stinger608 say thanks.
  2. T-Bob

    T-Bob

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    204 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Savannah, Georgia
    That's my watercooled 780Ti:D. I just got my 7970 back online Friday night.
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2014
    stinger608, Norton and manofthem say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. bubbleawsome

    bubbleawsome

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    626 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    486
    Location:
    Alabama, USA
    That's wrong. Can you buy a window AC unit?
     
  4. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,955 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,622
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I'm going to try and test today if I can get the GTX 465 and GTX 470 running simultaneously on my Q9550/Maximus II Formula rig. If so, I may switch the 3770K machine back to Windows and move the Tahiti Radeons on there and put away the ASUS A8N32-SLI which has a defective CMOS chip that dumps its RAM as soon as the system loses AC power. I'm tempted to try the Radeons in Linux, but those two cards are responsible for half of my PPD.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,879 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,806
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    That's not a dead CMOS battery?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,955 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,622
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I've changed it and also probed the chip holder to make sure power is getting there as well. An ASUS NF4 board I bought from Mad Shot did the same thing until it died, and I have an ASRock board that saves settings when unplugged, but the RTC stalls.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,879 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,806
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    @Jstn7477 , thanks for the instructions on how to get Nvidia GPU F@H working on Linux. I got it working yesterday. BTW, AMD F@H under Linux is supposed to work as well, (just set the client-type to advanced) and you don't have to do anything like the CUDA install.:shadedshu:
    @BUCK NASTY , I don't know about PPD under Linux, but my 660 Ti is showing in the client as pulling ~79K on a P9408 and that's without any OC. (that model of 660 Ti runs @ Nvidia's stock clocks, no factory OC) I'm still learning Linux, but what I could see from system monitor is that the client loaded one core to 100%, and under the list of processes, it shows a 12-17% load. I have that system in a poor case :)oops:) and am nervous about letting her rip on F@H and WCG at the same time. The GPU is running @ 71 degrees without an OC, but I never saw it out of the low 60's in my P280.
     
    T-Bob says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,955 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,622
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I might try AMD folding on Linux on my desktop, it has a single HD 7950 currently and has one 160GB drive with Ubuntu 14.04 on it.
     
    T-Bob says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,879 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,806
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Oh, I did find that the CUDA install does install the 331 version of the drivers, which is a problem for me with my GK104 GPU. Simple to switch it back though.
    I did not try to see if I could have installed it under 14.04 LTS. I'm liking Mint's interface better than Ubuntu's.
     
    T-Bob says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,223 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,584
    If at all like trying to get bitcoin mining going on linux, it was a pain. I had the hardest time getting open cl to work.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,955 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,622
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    The GTX 465 and GTX 470 seem to be working perfectly together on Linux, all I did was put in the 470, add a folding slot and bam, estimated 58K PPD and rising.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,223 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,584
    Difference is Amd. Amd drivers on linux are no where near the level of nvidea drivers. I am not saying don't try, but expect a challenge.
     
    T-Bob says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,955 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,622
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Yep, I have played around with AMD drivers since Steam was released on Linux, and back then NVIDIA cards seemed to work nearly flawlessly while my 7950 was getting the framerate of an IGP in Team Fortress 2. I haven't messed around with it in about a year, though.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,879 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,806
    Location:
    Portland, OR
     
    james888 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    7,666 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,360
    As soon as my Internet gets back up, I'll be folding again. Not sure if you guys have Comcast, but around here they're all idiots that sure aren't too bright. :shadedshu:
     
    T-Bob, stinger608 and Norton say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,955 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,622
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    For those who want to run AMD GPUs on Linux, I... suggest not trying to. Had to reinstall Mint 15 on my 3770K to get the cards working without the X server crashing, then install the drivers (which actually have an installer now, thank God, I used to have to use the .run file to make DEB packages and it was even worse). The drivers install fine, the cards seemed to work after reboot, so I installed the F@H stuff and the cards were folding, so I rebooted again, and the GUI is now unusable, parts of the taskbar appear but everything else aside from the desktop and its icons is invisible. Also, each F@H core literally uses half of the i7, not good when both cards use at most one thread combined in Windows.

    [​IMG]
     
    T-Bob, laptop-hpc, manofthem and 4 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,513 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    901
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Have a window unit, he will charge me 30 more if I put it in. Will have to put it in for July... by August it can hit 100f outside, 120f inside.....
    Yes, it can get hot in Canada!
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  18. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,513 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    901
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Cracked 100f in my apt again today, I hit finish on the last 13000 wu, god I hope it finishes. 480s should not be folded!!!!! See you all again when I get keplers.
     
    T-Bob and stinger608 say thanks.
  19. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,513 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    901
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Well, we hit some freaky sub 20c weather here for a day or 2, so I'll try to squeak out another wu or 2. Cool temps are so nice in the summer.......
     
    T-Bob and stinger608 say thanks.
  20. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,223 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,584
    Are core 17 wu's better than core 15?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,879 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,806
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Higher PPD potential due to the QRB. And, there are some core_15 WU's that are real stinkers, like the P8018's.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,223 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,584
    I seem to either get really low work with ~14kppd or really high work with ~30kppd. Is that why?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,879 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,806
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    What I'm seeing is that you are getting P7620-1 for 5187 points and P7622-7 for 14093 points. The 14K WU's, IIRC, are the highest PPD WU's for core_15. What I remember about the P7620-1 was the 2.21 to 2.25 version upgrade of core_15 and the reduced PPD and how we used to switch back to the older version.
    Short answer, yes.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,223 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,584
    My difference in ppd might also be having to do with I am going off estimated ppd, but it looks like you are talking about base ppd.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,879 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,806
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Estimated PPD with core_15 is quite accurate. It's all over the place with core_17.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page