1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,987 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,158
    Location:
    Washington, US
    I suppose I wasn't very clear. I meant I was asking Norton what clock speed his Xeon was running since it doesn't appear to be listed. (If Logo+Pause/Break doesn't tell you, Norton, then lscpu should)
    Mine is, as the sig implies, a dual-socket board populated with two Xeon X5450s (I think actually an E5450) quad-core, no HT.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,611 (8.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,465
    The Xeon is an L5639 ES (stock- 2.13Ghz but overclocked to 2.8Ghz). It uses around 200w....
     
    xvi and stinger608 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,611 (8.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,465
    Just took a look at my water cooled 7970 and saw 86C for temps!!! :fear: :wtf:

    Turns out the little Fractal fan controller I was using for the pump and radiator fans crapped out and the card was still running. Using a couple of mobo headers atm for the pump and 1 fan and it's running at 50C now. I will likely finish up this last job and shut it down until I can order a decent fan controller :ohwell:
     
    xvi, stinger608 and manofthem say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,955 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,375
    [​IMG]

    That sucks! That's the risk with watercooling though, things can always crap out! :( Glad you caught it quickly before that 7970 took a poop ;)



    Speaking of temps, I cleaned out the dust filters on my main rig toinght since temps were a little up, and temps dropped about 3*C across the board, on CPU and both GPUs :D

    I'm also going to be giving undervolting a shot on these cards to see if I can't decrease power and heat a little more, but that's not going to be til next week since I'm swamped til then.
     
    bubbleawsome, Norton and stinger608 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,611 (8.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,465
    Glad it happened when I was home! :oops:

    I'm thinking it may be time for rebuild- I have a nice EK waterblock waiting for the cpu and a new CM 690 III case I haven't used yet ;)
     
    manofthem and stinger608 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,140 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,553
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Yep, sounds like a rebuild project Norton. Of course if you can ever find the time.....:laugh:
     
    Norton and manofthem say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,140 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,553
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Okay, just added a HD5850 that I won in a WCG challenge. Probably take a couple of days for it to spool up, but its folding now. :peace: :lovetpu:
     
    NastyHabits, mx500torid, Ahhzz and 3 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,995 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Several of us have seen performance hits with GPU's on older hardware. So, the question is, what is needed? I would have thought that an E8400 would be plenty, but my slower 660 Ti on P67 beats nastyhabits' faster 660 Ti on his P45/E8400 by a pretty good margin.
    So, how low can we go? Low power i3? AM1? If the idea is to build the lowest wattage box possible, how low can we go?
     
  9. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,560
    I have had my two 750ti on a g1620 2.7ghz celeron that uses 8w undervolted.
     
    thebluebumblebee says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,995 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Thanks, but I'd like to know if there's a difference in PPD on a faster system? Do you see a difference in PPWU if you run 1 vs. 2 GPU's?
     
  11. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,836 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,532
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    NVIDIA GPUs will definitely see a performance hit on any older processors as they max out one thread each for the duration of the WUs. AMD GPUs seem to use the CPU only at certain parts of the WU but even in the low CPU usage parts, a Tahiti core will only run at 75-90% load on AMD K8 chips from my experience. Later Core2 may be okay though for AMD, but I have not tested.
     
    laptop-hpc and thebluebumblebee say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,560
    I do not see a difference between it and my 2500k. Its an ivy dual core. I might underclock to 1600mhz to see if there is a difference.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2014
    thebluebumblebee says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. bubbleawsome

    bubbleawsome

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    155 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Ach. I'd been happy with my used 7970 (sweet 150k ppd and low temps+quiet with the WF3 cooler) but it decided to stop folding. I'm taking this as a sign of future issues. Any idea on Gigabyte's RMA on a 2nd owner part? (like an advance RMA) I kinda need to keep this PC up, and IGP isn't preferable.
     
  14. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,140 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,553
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Not sure on video cards Bubble but I did an RMA on a motherboard a couple of years ago and they just went off the serial number on the board. It didn't seem to matter if I was the original owner or not.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,560
    They always go by the serial number. If you are not the original owner they may charge you a small fee.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,995 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Don't volunteer information that you are not the original owner. To the best of my knowledge, there are only a few manufacturers who make owners jump through hoops anymore. I buy most of my stuff used and I concentrate on Asus, MSI and Gigabyte because of their RMA policies (and they make good stuff). I avoid Powercolor and EVGA specifically because of their's. If only they would realized that it's cheaper to just cover an item from the date of manufacture than having to keep and maintain records.
     
    james888 says thanks.
  17. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,560
    Sapphire also requires an invoice showing you are the original owner. EVGA wanted an invoice on my recent RMA but I did not have to provide one.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,995 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    They don't understand that policies that help owners sell their existing product helps them buy new product.
     
    xvi says thanks.
  19. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,366 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    856
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Well, thought I'd be buying and folding 7xx cards soon, but Health Canada decided ecigs are bad, mainly because they don't get enough tax revenue, and I had to find backers and invest ks in starting up a company.
    Been a bit preoccupied, and perhaps a bit snappy at others in other areas of the forum, I apologize. My orders to stock up are coming in nicely. Our most important
    company policy is to show smokers a way to quit effectively. I've got like a dozen windows up...... orders coming in.... local business owners to appease.... arg
    Tell Health Canada they don't need the tax dollars from ecigs for them to be effective! People will keep smoking and die, just don't get it.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  20. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,920 (5.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    What happened to folding on Nvidia GPUs? It takes up CPU time now? I thought it never used to...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,995 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Yep, the shoe is on the other foot, so to say. Until further notice, that is.
     
  22. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    583
    well looks like i'm finally back in the game! getting about 38000ppd, that's with my gpu and cpu both folding.

    just curious, what kind of PPD should i be getting with an HD 7850?

    edit... just picked up another 10k ppd somehow... i guess its still figuring out what my system can do (just started an hr or so ago). at 48049PPD
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2014
    More than 25k PPD
  23. THE_EVIL_RAPIER

    THE_EVIL_RAPIER

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    41 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    I'm not letting you have 4th spot on production stinger608..... IT'S MINE......till it isn't.:nutkick:
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  24. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,995 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Welcome back! (last work submitted December 2012)(not the NSA, just info at Stanford):laugh:
    It's the standard suggestion around here though to not Fold on CPU's, especially on AMD CPU's, since the PPD/watt is very low. If you look at the point production from each slot, you should see that your CPU accounts for very little, but it actually pulls more power than your GPU, at default clocks. If you really want to put your CPU to work, I'd suggest WCG.
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2014
    Norton says thanks.
  25. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,611 (8.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,465
    A 7850, using the passkey, is good for around 40k ppd and uses around 120w at full load.

    +1 to what @thebluebumblebee said- cpu folding has a fairly low ppd for most cpu's. WCG crunching is far more productive use of your cpu cycles*

    *note- If you fold/crunch on the same machine you need to reserve 1 core for folding (adjustment made in the BOINC Manager while crunching)

    Oh and welcome back! :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page