1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. servermonkey

    servermonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    505 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    over there --->
    omg
    i wish i hadnt seen that ....... crap today is payday
     
  2. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86


    not enough, somethings not right.
    Are there any programs running with higher priority?
    need more info ...
    os, fah version, did ya use the affinity changer?

    my am2 be2350 2.1 @ ~2.8 does 666 ppd in xp smp and ~1050 ppd in Ubuntu, and ~1500 ppd in a virtual ubuntu. The virtual setup seems to be fussy, not so much the ubuntu smp, but the xp gpu2 client running at the same time. still working it out :)
     
  3. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    it is just the normal F@H (1 core) both of them are set on normal priority. OS is Windows XP pro on both F@H is 5.03 on both of them
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    single core client scored 180-300 for me on xp... you might want to try the smp client on your am2. It should give you more ppd. If the clients are set to low priority, they will consume leftover resources instead of dominating the pc. make sure you have the client configured properly : wu's set to the big, advanced methods forced etc (info earlier in the thred), when you fire up the single core client, use the-smp flag.

    Man, sorry I've been reading too much and I'm confusing my self, and I don't have enough time to look it up for ya; the info should be earlier in this thread... I'll check back later when i can to help if you havn't worked it out.


    this is a page of one click installers i found a couple days ago...
    one click fah installers
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  5. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I have SMP running right now... I hope it works right now that i am back on XP
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    i am folding for mussels (my brother) now and then, with a GTX 280 and with only a 100mhz OC on the sharers i am cranking out 7405 PPD :).... just thought i would post for those who might be interested
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 1, 2008
  7. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,533
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Best $79.00 I've ever spent

    I got the 8800GS yesterday. She's up and running and spewing almost 5120PPD. Not bad for $79.00 + shipping. That is 64 PPD per dollar! My 8800GTS @ 6010PPD only comes to 40.06 ppd per dollar. The 8800GS is the PPD King of Bang for the Buck!!!:toast: I'm am getting another 8800GS to run in tandem on same system. I could handle almost 10k PPD on one machine.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2008
  8. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    p-o-s-pc did ya figure anything out?


    I've taken a break from virtual folding. The 1500 ppd run could not be duplicated and that system is having probs. With another ubuntu and a xubuntu install the best it would do was ~850 ppd. (that's what I expected after everything I read) The xubuntu was ~75-100 ppd higher than ubuntu.

    That 1500 ppd was a freak install and I'm thinking maybe it was reading double ppd or something.

    I seem to have the system stable again, this bios sucks. The first bios was a vista bios and it won't let me reinstall it (yet :) ) With the latest xp bios I lost chipset voltage, cpu voltage, HT adjustment, cpu multiplier so my oc has taken a major hit from when I first got this rig folding. Now @ 2.4 from 2.8 :( I have the latest gpu (6.20) and smp (6.22) running now to check for stability and results.

    If it's all good to go I'll take another stab at the virtual folding in a few days, (got it down to less than a 2 hour install (including ubuntu updates) for complete virtual folding). I came by a virtual linux setup that only installs what is need to fold, nothing else; it should have an extreamly small footprint so it should work better on this hardware. It wouldn't be too bad if i wasn't running anything in xp, that would leave enough resources for vm ubuntu...


    EDIT: Hey Solaris, I managed to get the onboard video working :) I tried setting the ob to primary but when I ran the gpu client with the gpu# flags it said gpu not supported. I'm guessing the ob isn't being labelled as a gpu0. It has only made minimal improvements (~50ppd) with all displays happening through the ob(8600 is a blank desktop) any suggestions? Gonna try reinstalling the gpu client and hit it wit the flags again...
    if you started the second gpu client on the second core first, would it runwhere it is supposed to or would it kick over to the first? ( I'm thinking it would hit the flag assigned but not positive)
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2008
  9. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  10. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,533
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Well, crank up that overclock some more and give us more PPD during the time you are actually folding. We need all the help we can get:toast:.
     
  11. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,867 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,711
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Got home about 30 minutes ago to find neither rig folding because the current GPU2 client expires on Aug 2, 2008. So just so you folks out there know, there is a new V6 GPU2 6.20 client for ya. Dunno how long my rigs weren't folding as I'm only running the GPU clients and have been for over a week now, can still rack up 10-11k ppd on a good day.

    I wonder if the PPD will change with the new client? I just got the System Tray Client again, but I do see a Console version too...I like how the tray client works, so I'm sticking with it on both rigs. I'm sure most of you have the link in favorites or what-not, yeah it's easy to find, but I'll make it one step easier...here's the link to the performance client section:

    http://folding.stanford.edu/English/DownloadWinOther

    FAQ: http://www.stanford.edu/group/pandegroup/cgi-bin/index.php?n=English.FAQ-ATI2

    :toast:

    Get the new GPU2 client and fold with fury!
     
  12. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,264 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,600
    Location:
    Florida
    im not sure if the OB will work but switching it to GPU2 might possibly enable it the client will probably default gpu1 to w/e card is installed in the system.
     
    Skitzo says thanks.
  13. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    :laugh: taking a break from the am2 to keeo the c2d running today :)
    I seem to have fried mb fan controller. With anythin but the cpu fan connected to the mb, will only boot to default settings (even if i set the oc in the bios). I disconnected all the fans and switched them to the ps/zalman fan controllers except the cpu fan. Now when I boot the cpu fan doesn't spin until speed fan turns it on. If I set it to mb control it doesn't spin...

    On the plus side my temps have dropped 8-10*C :toast:

    I was lucky, I just happened to be looking at the temp display when it started to climb really fast. Guess I need a new mb for my C2D.

    with the latest 6.2 and 6.22 clients I'm pushing ~9100 ppd
     
  14. GIGGLA

    GIGGLA New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    156 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Either the new gpu client is 2x as fast for 280 series or my new driver 177.41 is making it 2x as fast at folding.:toast: ~7000 ppd
     
  15. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    @ skitzo I didn't even try to find out what was going on. But now that i am back to XP my ppd have gone back around 300 again
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  17. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Skitzo says thanks.
  18. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    thats great marsey99. I've been playing with that myself. Thanks for the great info :toast:
     
  19. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    [​IMG]

    since my fan controller packed it in, this sytem is alot happier. the 9600GT is screaming :rockout:


    edit must be the wu's, my 8600GT is runnung at 2647 ppd :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2008
  20. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    Little by little we're moving up the list! You top 10 guys are really kicking out the ppd!:toast:
     
  21. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,867 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,711
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I'm pretty stoked, with the new client my GT260 went from around 7029PPD est avg 7500! Now if my 9600GT could get back up into 4400 territory, but I suppose these 2 GPU's are kicking some pretty good ass WU wise, I just let em' do their thing. It's good to see more and more people getting active with folding, and for TPU nonetheless!

    [​IMG]
     
  22. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,533
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Got everything optimized and humming along. This 8800GS is an amazing card for only 96 shaders. Top Ten, here I come!!!
    [​IMG]
     
  23. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    sweet, good show Buck Nasty :toast:
     
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  24. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,533
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    :eek:OMG. When you gonna have the cards up and running?
     
  25. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    could someone help me. I have the new SMP (6.xx) and it is only using 1 core of my X2. could someone help me get it to use both cores? I will give you any info,etc. that you need to help me if you ask. :) thanks
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page