1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    Can I suggest you have a look at the GPU2 folding client at this link

    You will be contributing to much larger protein folding (they reserve the big ones for the GPU's) and getting about 10X the points that you will get with your CPU client.

    You can even run both the CPU and GPU clients at the same time. On my machine, when running the GPU client alone, my Core1 utilization goes up to 100% and Core2 remains idle. When I kick in the CPU folding Core1 remains at 100% and Core0 goes to about 70% utilization. Even in this state the system seems fine for wen browsing and such. If I want to game I just pause both clients and turn them back on when I am done.
     
  2. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,536 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Running both now, think the GPU one is doing its connecting thing, as for my CPU one is now done 2% :rockout::rockout:

    Who knew this could be so easy, yet so helpful?

    Holy crap i'm already at 3% with my GPU one. Woot WOOT!
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2008
  3. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    Told ya so ;) GPU folding rulez
     
  4. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    GPU folding is FAST alot faster then most CPUs. *off topic* i just spilled my damn energy drink on my lap :banghead:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,020
    Fast, but still very limitted as to what work it can do.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,532
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Congrats to everyone for your efforts, they are truly appreciated. I have been considering a 4 x GPU rig for about a month now. After careful consideration, I am pleased to announce that TPU will have it's 1st GPU monster online in about a week. The rig will consist of the following Hardware:

    MSI K9A2 Platinum Motherboard
    AMD Athlon X2 BE2400 CPU
    4 x EVGA 9600 GSO 384mb
    Corsair 750 TX PSU
    2gb OCZ DDR2 1066mhz
    Windows XP SP2 (Vista is complicated with multi-gpu)

    I will post some pics when it's assembled. Considering installing it on test bench for cooler hardware temps. Depending on the WU, it should average between 12k to 19k PPD. This should give some additional boost on our journey to the top 100. I want to thank everyone who has joined the team in the past few days. :rockout:
     
    dadi_oh, Skitzo and Solaris17 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,200 (5.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,558
    Location:
    Florida
    thats going to be sick
     
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,206 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,511
    i so want to know its PPD output :D
     
  9. irongun324 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Joined, crunching on 1 single core (athlon 64 3000), 1 dual core (x2 4400), and soon to be on my laptop hopefully.

    Do you guys know if the 8800M GTX gpu is supported for the GPU client?
     
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,206 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,511
    the mobile cards should support cuda, so it should work.

    I'd be wary of the laptop overheating, however.
     
    irongun324 says thanks.
  11. Skitzo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    720 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  12. irongun324 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It's the Clevo M570RU, gaming laptop, and IF it did start getting too hot, i'd gladly use the Fn+1 shortcut to crank the fans to 100% :p. But being the gaming/desktop replacement that it is, I hope it can handle some heat, has done me well so far. I can play any games and still have it sit in my lap.

    @ Skitzo

    I don't understand all the references in that chart, but does the overtake column mean that at our current rate we'll over take 4 places in ~7 days?
     
  13. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    :respect::respect::respect:

    I'm not worthy. I'm not worthy.... :p
     
  14. irongun324 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Also, seperate topic here: On my x2 4400+, I'm attempting (I think successfully) to run 2 single core clients on it, but would it be better to run the multicore client instead?
     
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,020
    Yes, the multi-core client is more efficient at utilizing multiple cores, and does more advanced work than the single core client.
     
    Random Murderer and irongun324 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,440 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,153
    where would i find this client?
     
  17. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,743 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Multi core client is the SMP client you gotta go into the performance FAH page, small link at the bottom of the download page...same place the GPU client is found.

    :toast:

    Affinity changer does some good too..even on the new client. It's working great with dual and quads (intel that is).
     
    Random Murderer says thanks.
  18. irongun324 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    How do you calculate PPD? I will definately try out Affinity.

    I also wondered when installing this how the AMD Dual core optimizer affects all of this, soon to be tested once I know how to get PPD.
     
  19. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada

    Download FAHMon and it will calculate this for you. Just Google it.
     
  20. irongun324 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok I read about that program and wondered if that did it. Will look into it when I get home tonight.
     
  21. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,440 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,153
    which is better? deino mpi or mpich?
     
  22. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,532
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Infinity Changer does not work for AMD CPU's. It actually decreases PPD in some cases AFAIK. Just google it. If you have an AM2/AM2+ mobo, you do not need dual core optimizer.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,532
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    I have had good success/stability with "mpich".
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. irongun324 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yeah I read about AMD's not working with the changer, but wanted to do some testing with and without the DC optimizer to see what difference it made either way.

    No AM2/+ here, my x2 4400+ is 939, and my athlon 64 3000 is 754 woo!

    (My laptop in my specs is a bit better)
     
  25. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,440 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,153
    does fahmon work with the gpu2 client?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 member and 1 guest)

xvi

Share This Page