1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. rangerone766

    rangerone766

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    we had the remnants of hurricane ike come through here in ohio last sunday. kicked up 80mph gusts in cincinnati where i live. needless to say the power lines didnt like it, i just got power back thursday. but my internet didnt come back till saturday.

    so basically i'm back to folding now, i havent forgotten you.
  2. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    Glad you're back folding, but most of all glad you've got your power back on and everyone's ok! :toast:
  3. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Good to have you back online Rangerone.:rockout: I thought our points were slippin a bit.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    I was wondering what happened. I was chasing you and then you dropped off. Back to our friendly race ;)
  5. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,647 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,592
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    My PPD has dropped by quite a bit since I have my GTX260 in step-up atm...just a 9600GT primarily with some CPU folding on the side. Hopefully in the next 7-10 days I'll be back up to speed again!

    :toast:
  6. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Steppin Up to the GTX 280?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,647 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,592
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Nahh just the EVGA 260 Core216, I plan on keeping the card for a while and for the cost of shipping I get to step up to the more powerful 260. My current one was good, but I'm interested in seeing how the newer one does, even if it's minor, I'll still have a little more juice to keep this card going till it needs replaced.

    :toast:
  8. Error 404

    Error 404 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    Joined!
    I have a few questions though:
    1) How much internet bandwidth does F@H use?
    2) How well would my laptop work, with a PIII 850 MHz and 512 MB RAM?
    3) Any ideas on how much power my Dell (see my system specs) would use running at full F@H power for a night?

    I'm also having a problem: I've installed the command-prompt version (instead of the other one), and it says it can't connect to the work server. Anyone know how to solve it?
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2008
  9. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    1) net bandwidth is negligible, just small files when download and sending in completed work units
    2) I would bother with that laptop, you may run into overheating issues and the power consumption vs. producivity of a mobile P3 probably just wouldn't be worth it
    3) not sure sorry :( I do know P4s are power hogs tho!


    @ Buck Nasty, where do you get that sig summary box?
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,530 (13.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,929
    Wow, TPU is now ranked 186th! We are really moving up quickly!:D
  11. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    And we will be moving up faster now. I recieved my latest addition to my farm today. Behold the "raw folding power":laugh: of the Foxconn S-939 SLI mobo that will house 2 x 9600GSO. CPU will be clocked at a blistering 2.5Ghz:eek:. Should be up an running tonite for an extra 9k PPD.
    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    Lol! They're going to have to run an additional powerline to your house soon Buck!:laugh:
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,530 (13.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,929
    Yeah, I've been remodeling my computer room the past few days so I've been off. Tonight, my 4870, 4850, 8800GS, E7200, Q6600, and my poor AMD 2800+ should all be folding away once again.:D
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  14. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I would love to get a new system to fold, glad im not paying the bills....yet.

    I just got a protein that is 5,000,000 steps and its doing it in 50,000. this normal?
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,530 (13.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,929
    I have a question. What is the best way of folding with a crossfire setup and how would one go about doing it?
  16. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Check out this link. These guy's really know how to fold with over 1 billion points:

    http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1330889
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2008
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    more specifically, this page: http://www.hardforum.com/showpost.php?p=1032943617&postcount=5
    took me about 10 mins to get my 9800GX2 folding independently on both cores
    however if anyone can provide any insight as to whether the vga dummy needs to stay connected once the desktop has been extended or you can remove it I'd appreciate it!
    thanks
  18. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    With Vista, you must reconnect it each time you re-start the system. No plug required with XP. This is from my experiance's with dual GPU's
    nflesher87 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    sounds good so I can D/C after extending the desktop and there won't be any problem? (as long as I don't reboot)
  20. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Yes, you can disconnect after you get it running. If anyone is going to run multi-GPU, XP is the only way to go.

    Well finally got the MoBo in and got her running now. Had a tough run with pain in the ass Rivatuner. It would not allow me to O/C the 2nd card. Took 2 driver reloads and several re-boots and desktop extensions in display settings. I'm getting 9200PPD out of it right now. Maybe better by morning. I will say that I am impressed by the small heat output from Antec 500-D power supply. What a bargain that thing is @ 45.00.:D Well, off to bed now...:toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Jmatt110

    Jmatt110 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    510 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Australia
    Hey guys, decided to get myself and my girlfriend into some Folding action :) We both have our laptops folding (CPU client) non stop and I run the CPU + GPU client on my main rig when I'm not busy (gaming etc). Usernames are Jmatt110 (me) and stephdon (hers).

    Just a pic of FahMon, does this all look good to you or is something not running as well as it could? This is on my main rig with both clients running.

    [​IMG]

    Thanks, Jmatt
  22. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    OK i honestly don't think i have done my F@H installations correct. I can't find the log files to put into FahMon anywhere!

    Can i just uninstall them and start again - will i lose my points?

    little help?

    EDIT: damn hidden folders - i hate you so much!

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2008
  23. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Well, I've been slow to get the 4th rig online. I thought I was having a PCI-E conflict, but it turns out to be a bad graphics card. Brand new EVGA 9600GSO 384mb single slot cooler. When it entereds 3D mode, the GPU temps ramp up to over 70c instantly and crashes. I replaced the thermal grease with no improvement. I keep getting "unstable machine" on stock clocks. Had to underclock & monitor temps with GPU-z to keep it from crashing. Tried it in 3 rigs and got the same results no matter what slot it was in. Currently it's generating 3300PPD (normally 4900PPD) and I'm gonna RMA it. Ordered a replacement card already and should have the rig fully online by Friday PM.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    Some more folding power on line now. I installed a GTX260 in my main rig. It is overclocked to 756 on the core, 1512 on the shaders, and 2500 on the ram. I ran it overnight last night and with the fan at 60% it is sitting about 61C on the core. Not bad.

    I am looking at FaHMon and it is telling me 5457 PPD which seems a little low to me. My 8800GT 1GB @ 740/1850/2100 would range from 4800-5200 PPD so I was expecting more like 6000-7000. Or is it just that my GPU is working on one of those huge, low ppd units right now? Project 5013 (R6, C10, G67) 480 points.

    I checked the log file and it seems to be churning through the units pretty consistently in 2 hours 5 minutes.

    Does this sound about right for you other GTX260 folders?
  25. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Check with Kursah, as I believe he was getting 6700+ PPD overclocked.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page