1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Well if i plugged it into the other graphics cards wouldnt it display the same thing as the other graphics card was displaying?
    BTW they are not in SLI.



    Also which client is the fatest client... The Console client or the system tray client?
     
  2. quasar923 Guest

    was is folding@home?
     
  3. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    ATTENTION ALL DUAL(or more) GPU USERS!!
    I have just found a way that you can run a client on different gpus without the need of a VGA dummie or multiple displays in windows Vista.

    1.Open up the folder in which you FAH folders are.
    2.Run your first gpu client.
    3.To run your second gpu client(or more)first single click the executable so it is highlighted.
    4.Now unplug your VGA cable from your main card and plug it into the second card and wait for a display to show up(you wont see your icons)
    5.Now hit the enter key on your keyboard once and wait 10 seconds.
    6.Plug the VGA cable back into its origional video card.
    You should now have your second FAH gpu client running. You can repeat this process to enable more gpu clients(assuming you have more than 2 gpus)without multiple monitors or a vga dummie.


    All these steps assume your FAH clients are setup for multiple gpu use.

    HAPPY FOLDING!:toast:
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2008
  4. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,533
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    I like the console client.

    http://folding.stanford.edu/English/Main
     
  5. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,533
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    I believe this only works in Vista. I have had no such success in XP.
     
  6. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Yes only in vista.
     
  7. quasar923 Guest

    so im helping the good cause of medical science to help prevent and cure disease by just letting the program run in the backround of my PC and use up 50% of my cpu?
     
  8. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada

    Yup. That's it.
     
  9. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Great news TPU team!!

    We got a new 50711 member!

    His username is "ceraphx" and he has a HD 3870X2 24/7 folding!

    Will also invite him to the forum.

    THANKS TO OUR NEW "FOLDING MACHINE" - ceraphx

    mmaakk
     
  10. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,533
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    AND not only will you be helping medical science and future mankind, but more importantly, you will be helping your fellow TPU Members achieve their goal of World Domination. Muhahahaha
    [​IMG]
     
  11. P4-630

    P4-630

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,108 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    C:\Program Files\P4-630\
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2008
  12. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    How come I've done 10 WUs and barely rank above someone who's done 3?
    Is it because I've done a couple of small WUs, or for some other reason?
     
  13. P4-630

    P4-630

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,108 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    C:\Program Files\P4-630\
    On the images it says 0 points and 0 workunits, while it should be 193 and 6 but I guess it will be updated soon.

    Edit: certificates are updated...
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2008
  14. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,533
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Shutting down the Farm.

    I am shutting down my folding farm on Wed morning. I will be out of town until Sunday(Whitewater Rafting in WV:rockout:) and will start it back up then. I expect you guys to make up the difference in my absence.:D I hate doin this, as the team is going to lose 140K PPD over 4 days, but it is necessary. Keep foldin' boy's!
     
  15. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    950 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    im now folding under my new PS3 :toast:
     
  16. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    Just wait until I get my new rig, I'll be folding with an 8 series card and a dual core 24/7 soon enough... :D
     
  17. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    950 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    yeah, im running a G80 and PS3, not 24/7 more like 16/5
     
  18. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    white water wafting eh? great fun. I take my son on a ww canoe trip each summer. What a riot.

    I finally got my new linux machine folding last night. FaHmon says 1200ppd but the very first wu is 1700 points so 1.5 days to complete :rolleyes:

    so 1200ppd covers about 1/4 of one of your video cards
     
  19. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,533
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    LOL, You got another 28 rigs to make up the other 33.6K?:laugh: What CPU are you folding with on the Linux rig?

    Every year my company takes our best customers to WV for some Class V whitewater on the Gualey River. Nothing like 7 guys in a RV for 5 days covering 1800 miles of highway.:toast: Oh, the stories I could tell...
     
  20. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada

    Just an E1200 OC to 2.4GHz. Running the Linux SMP client.

    7 guys in an RV. Sounds smelly :)
     
  21. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    Ive started up a couple of my laptops I have laying around folding for the team. They arnt powerhouse systems, but hey everything helps
     
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  22. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Ok i got some problems with my folding at home!
    Currently i am running 2 gpus and a console client on each gpu. The first gpu runs fine 24/7 but as for the second i can only run it once before i get the error CORE_SHUTDOWN:UNSTABLE_MACHINE.
    Can anyone tell me what this means and how i can fix it...
    BTW i am using windows vista.

    Thanks


    Also the class 6 West virgina white water rafting is awesome... I went with my boy scout troop!
     
  23. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,867 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,711
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I'm back in action...I'm done with the SMP clients for now...we'll see what my e8600 @ 4.5GHz can do eventually...but for now it's EVGA GTX260 Core216 (stock atm) and my G/F's vGPU modded 850/2175 1100 w/AC S1 rv1 (had to modify to fit on Palit Sonic due to DVI plug layout) can perform. FAHMon detected no difference in PPD...still 4.2k-ish for 9600GT, and 7.2k-ish for GTX260.

    Hell I had an e6400 I got from Xazax (good chip, nice OC-er) running at 3.2GHz that FAHMon said was getting the same 1.7kppd that my e8600 at 4.0 was getting...so I might uninstall and re-install the program. Too bad there's no PPD reset feature.

    Either way I'm back in action and better than ever! :toast:
     
  24. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    Wow, we're slowly climbing up in the global team score: a week or so a go we were 183rd, now we're 179th! :D
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2008
  25. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,533
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    I'm back in town and the farm is up and running. Now let's get folding!:D

    Kursah, it's good to hear you have a GTX 260 folding for u again. :toast:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page