1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    730 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Overseas
    I've been getting weird issues ever since I started running 2 SMP clients on my Quad. My screen will go black after running the GPU client and it's like 5-9% on a WU and Vista will say the device driver stopped responding and recovered, ect. Then when I restart the GPU client it gives the Early WU end error. However, both SMP clients are running fine. I also tried reinstalling video drivers. I don't get any device driver failures while playing games.

    All three client are on different Machine ID's. Does the GPU client need the '-local' tag now too or is it something else?
     
  2. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,592 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,922
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    x4 slots do not slow down GPU2. You are missing almost 2k ppd from the GSO. Does Rivatuner allow both cards to be overclocked?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. xazraelx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    179 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I barely overclocked it, just to see what the gains from a small increase were and now I'm up to 2880 ppd on the GSO. I still don't know where it's all going, but I'm confident I should be able to hit 3.3k or so with a stable overclock.

    Edit: But to answer your question, yes, it does. And my timings for everything seem to be drastically lower than what I've seen quite a few 8800GS run at...and I believe they are the same card, no? Either way, if I don't go home this weekend I'll try to pump it up to see how much I get...I really don't need the 9600GSO to be stable, either. I'm just using it to display a monitor and to handle the PhysX graphics which I don't really utilize. Everything else is done through the 8800GT, I'm fairly positive. I could be wrong though, I am certainly no expert when it comes to dual graphics cards.
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2008
  4. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Hey,

    I'm helping 'Bow' out, who's just started folding for us. He's got 2x 8800GT's but only 1 monitor, running on Vista 32bit. Every guide i've found on multi-gpu folding says you need 2 monitors and to extend the desktop. Has anyone found a way of doing it without the second monitor?

    Thanks.
     
  5. xazraelx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    179 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    There's a workaround that involves using both cords that the monitor can use (ie, if it has a dvi and a whatever that other thing is called), then plug one cord into the main 8800GT, and the other into the second 8800GT (just check extend desktop onto it...nothing will happen, of course, but still). There's a guide around somewhere, I'll try to find it for you.

    Here's one thing I found:
    http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=43&t=3712&p=35916&hilit=monitor resistor#p35916
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2008
  6. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,592 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,922
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Does Bow have a TV that he can run the S-Video to from the 2nd card? I have done this in Vista64. I am looking into inventing in cheap VGA dummy plugs that I can mail to members in need.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,474 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,115
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    My tv is to far away, I do have a second monitor but no place to put it:banghead: keep the ideas comming.
    I have to work all weekend, but am going to work on overclocking the cards when I can.

    Once I get both cards Folding may get the cpu going also.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,676 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,183
    set it on the floor it only needs to be there to get things started!
     
  9. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,474 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,115
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    Ok then what do I have to do?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. xazraelx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    179 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Unplug it after you start the clients. That's all.

    And buck, there are already VGA dummies for sale around ~15 a piece (not worth it to me, 3 dummies = one 9600GSO)
     
  11. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,592 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,922
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    I can solder em' up for a few dollars each. I'm pretty handy like that:D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,474 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,115
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    Rookie question, when Folding with 2 gpu's you turn sli off. I do alot of gaming, so can I turn sli on to play or will is screw things up?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,592 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,922
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    If you are gonna fold and play games at the same time, leave SLI off. SLI cannot be on at anytime while folding. I also find that i must drop my primary cards clocks to stock or she crashes mid-game. This is only when playing games BTW.
     
    Bow says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    If I'm folding while playing, I loose in average 10FPS over the total - results obtained via FRAPS.
     
  15. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2008
  16. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada

    Here is the cut and paste from my signature that seems to work. You would just need to substitute your user number and replace the two spots with "xxx" with "URL" and the "zzz" with "IMG"

    [xxx=http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/user_summary.php?u=355603][zzz]http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/sigs/sigimage.php?u=355603[/zzz][/xxx]
     
  17. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,474 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,115
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    stupid question, can't find my user number.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    Not a stupid question. It took me a while to find it. Go to the link below and then enter your username in the search field. Your user number will show up in the left frame after you click on your name.

    http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/?nav=IMAGES
     
    mmaakk and Bow say thanks.
  19. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Thanks very much for the effort Daddio!!

    But... :banghead: as you can see below, is still showing only the link! goddamn...

    [xRL=http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/user_summary.php?u=376693][/IMG]http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/sigs/sigimage.php?u=376693[/IMG][/xRL]

    x = U
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2008
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,487 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,767
    you put a slash at the first , remove it.

    the / means end, and is only used on the last one, not the first one.
     
    mmaakk says thanks.
  21. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
     
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,487 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,767
    never drank it. not exactly a common beer here in aus.
     
  23. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,592 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,922
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Holy Crap!

    Do you guy realize how many points we are cranking out each week? At out current average of 143k ppd we will have 1.01 Million points per week!:eek: Is anyone having trouble getting cards up and running??? Please post so we can get it sorted out. Great work and Keep Folding!!!

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,474 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,115
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    I am a dumbass when it come to software, copying files and what not, so to get the other card going is going to take me some time...:laugh...sry

    I want to get my q6600 folding also, can someone get me a link, and some tips to get the best performance out of my proc.

    Thanks:toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
     

    Attached Files:

    • FaH.JPG
      FaH.JPG
      File size:
      50.7 KB
      Views:
      85

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page