1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

|TPU's|## GeForce GTX 480/470 Club House ##|

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by pr@$r1g, Apr 20, 2010.

  1. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    more like 870 core
  2. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    This Asus gtx 480 is a total beast man and as long as you use it at default voltage it not loud at all.
  3. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,515 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    Can someone recommend the best bang for your buck AA setting with these cards?
  4. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Anything you set it at it should max when oced. My gtx 480 does it at stock so this should match that oced.
  5. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,515 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    Sorry. I left out the "in crysis" part.
  6. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,469 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,570
    Man I love these freak'n cards:toast:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    SonDa5 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    HammerOn how did you get those clocks. Very fast.
    :toast:
  8. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,469 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,570
    Good cooling and a great PSU:toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    I just got a MSI GTX470 which works great so far.

    My voltage settings don't go as high as yours. Do you know if I can flash your BIOS to my card to get the same voltage settings?
  10. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,469 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,570
    Are you using Afterburner and do you have the "Unlock voltage control" checked under settings?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Yes but my voltage only goes to 1.087v.

    I think it is the bios. Any how I've got a nice stable clock with the stock cooler at 810/1620/1830.

    I'm going to build a water loop for my CPU and GTX470. Once that is done I will see about BIOS tweaking for higher voltage.

    I think the difference is the BIOS.

    Before water loop photo.

    [​IMG]
  12. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,469 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,570
    When I first recieved my first GTX 470, I found the max volts to be 1.087V. I see no reason to go beyond that; in fact I find that 1.025v to 1.075v is the max needed to find a high/stable overclock.
    At 1.075v I reached:
    [​IMG]

    Before I added extra voltage, the highest I could go was 790/900/1580...
    However, you need very good cooling when you add volts ~
    SonDa5 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Thanks for the info HammerON.

    Hopefully I will be able to get similar results once I get my liquid loop in order.

    Do you see any noticeable difference in gaming with 2xGTX470 in SLI? Or is one enough? 1 seems like plenty of power to me.
  14. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344


    I have a TX650W PSU. Is that a good enough PSU to push my i7-930 and GTX470 to incredible speeds?
  15. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,514 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,038
    you will know when in the middle of a bench the rig doesn't just shut down;)
  16. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    That has happend to me. :(



    My trigger finger is getting itchy for this 850W kingwin...

    http://www.directron.com/lzg850.html?gsear=1

    It's Gold certified. It's not so much about enough power but it's also about having high quality power....will the power quality help my over clocks? Also I may end up getting another GTX470 for SLI....
  17. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,469 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,570

    In some games I do and and other I don't...
    It is nice to know though in the games that do require more GPU horsepower that I am well covered:)
    For the most part a single GTX 470 is enough for 1920 X 1080 res; however when I want to crank up the "goodies" in a game the second one comes in handy.

    For a single GTX 470 set-up the TX650 should be just fine. For SLI you will need more watts though.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344

    Thanks. I'll stick with the Corsair.


    I did some baseline temperature testing for my card. I'm going to liquid cool it soon so wanted some before operating temps.


    Room temperature was at 20C.


    Idles at 34 degrees then when Furmark starts instantly jumps to 44 degrees. Under load with furmark after about 36 minutes topped out at 89 degrees.

    This is with the autofan control which idle rpms are at 40% then reach 62%. With some manual fan control the noise goes up but the temps significantly come down. Furmark is extreme example.


    Screen shot of my test.

    [​IMG]


    Once I get my liquid loop in I will post the updated temps with the same test.
  19. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Putting a AXP on my EVGA gtx 480 should be here by the 17th but we will see needed to send to A/C to get the VRM kit since none could be had here. I will post some picks when it's here. Currently I'm hitting 88c during gaming at 800/1600/1000 so that should improve , plus the sound of silence will be great. Anyone have one of these beast?
  20. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,068 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    756
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    kinda late to the show but, just traded my 5870 for a 470 + 4GB of ram
  21. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    your never too late
  22. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,068 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    756
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Back to the green team :)

    Although I will admit, going from a 295 -> 5870 wasnt that bad of an experience
  23. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,469 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,570
    Sounds like a good trade with the ram invloved:toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,068 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    756
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    ya i play at 1920x1080 and the 5870 was a bit of overkill with most my games being strategy games, where more ram will benefit me more then more gpu power.
  25. Pembo210

    Pembo210 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    98 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    Lakeland, FL
    Just got my GTX470 1280MB Fermi two days ago. I dont think I have slept more than a couple of hours...

    Breaking it in:rockout::rockout:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page