1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Go-GreEN CLUB!!!

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by Over_Lord, Nov 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Over_Lord

Over_Lord News Editor

Thanks Received:
    1st off, hi guys, I'm new to this forum, and some of you may have seen my posts and replied to it too. I've been eyeing this forum for 2 years now but never had the (not time), what to say, I was just that lazy to hit the "Register" button you know..

Okay to business, this isn't GoGreen for PowerColour's GoGreen FYI, this is the real deal, the actual stuff. I've seen many users buy:-

1. High end GPUs
    2. That are major power guzzlers
    3. OC them to help the power consumption

Same case applies to CPUs. So here I decide that NO, we can do something to reduce power consumption(do you know USA is the world's major POWER 'EATER'), and at the same time, continue FOLDING(great job you guys) and GAMING(that we can't live without).

Lets start with WHAT we can do...

To those who have i7 and GTX480 or similar CPU/GPU(u get the idea I hope), please please don't do this 24x7 OC shit, it almost gives my head a loud buzzer for "WTF" alert!!!!

Here's what I do:-

1. My quad-core doesn't bottleneck with VSync on on any game and even if it does, I've not noticed anything, all running at STOCK clock. Note-STOCK CLOCK

I've hit the sweet spot at 1.15V CPU VCore and that's a LONG way off 1.40V default you know. Now I don't know how much I cut, but the cut by a huge percentage significant enough when more people do it together(and I mean power usage nothing else).

2. My GPU is the HD5850, and as many know, this is one GOLDEN GPU, can play all games(forget Metro 2033, it gives my card Migraine :p ) games great, so great I cant stop playing them haha.

Okay here's what I do: