1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's GTX 600 Owners Club!

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by 20mmrain, May 5, 2012.

  1. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
  2. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,282 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    [​IMG]
     
    20mmrain says thanks.
  3. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Welcome....

    We got to start this party up a little more. Gee it would sure help for Nvidia to start releasing cards in stock on a regular basis. That is why I think this club is so small.
     
  4. MetalRacer

    MetalRacer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    867 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    711
    Location:
    The Lone Star State
    New Asus GTX 680 TOP arrived today.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Interlace84 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Wow, nice jobs on all the OCs out there! :D

    I registered just to ask if anyone else out there had GPU-Z reporting a constant 200% TDP-consumption on any GTX670 sensors. I just installed my Point Of View-version after saying goodbye to my trusty gtx480 that died just a month out of warranty :'(

    Anyway, seeing that 200% TDP consumption does make me worry something might actually be wrong in my system, so here I am hoping someone can reassure me it's just a sensor readout bug or something *fingers crossed* ^^ VDDC reads 1.0620volts.

    Mobo: p5k-r p35 (so pci-express v1.1 unfortunately, could that be related?)
    PSU: decent 600W Enermax psu that used to feed SLI 8800s and still reads out perfectly on all voltages.


    So... should I pull the plug out right now and remove the card or not? :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2012
  6. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,450 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
  7. Tardan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    101 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi Interlace84. Welcome to the club! :) Congrats on your 670.

    Do you have Precision X installed? If so, does it show the same thing on the power consumption graph?
     
  8. Interlace84 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I think the image says it all... it scares me.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Tardan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    101 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Canada
    Hmm. That is strange, I know you've probably done this, but it doesn't hurt to ask :) Have you tried updating to the latest stable drivers or even beta drivers? If you have another computer laying around, you could try it on there and see if the problem persists - quick way to tell if it's your computer or the card.

    If you're willing to, you might want to try on a fresh reinstall of Windows as well.
     
  10. Interlace84 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for the advice :)

    I got the gtx670 because the 480 I had died, so alas no spare cards, also no spare system to test with. I already did a fresh reinstall just in case. Drivers are v301.42.

    Since every single thing I've tried with it runs stable at max 55 degrees celsius, including looping 3DMark runs, , i'm not too worried anymore ;) probably a readout issue on older gen mainboards I guess. There's no way it could've drawn twice it's TDP and not be hot enough to fry an egg on.
     
  11. MetalRacer

    MetalRacer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    867 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    711
    Location:
    The Lone Star State
    So I had to reload win 7 today, and for the hell of it I installed the first version of 3Dmark 11.

    I'm guessing tesselation is turned down with this version because this score is very close to my 7970 when I bench it with tesselation turned off in CCC.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,054 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I think im actually going to tend up getting 1 Asus DirectCU II TOP GTX680 and call it a day Ill have one in about 2 1/2 weeks assuming they are back in stock.
     
  13. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,555 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    952
    My friend's forte gets buzzing interference from his 670. It didn't happen when we swapped in a Titanium HD or his old card and this matches something someone had fixed by taping a piece of anti-static bag over the processor. Rather than mess with that or getting a new soundcard is there a chance adding a backplate to the 670 would act as an EMI shield for the soundcard?
     
  14. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,441 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    maybe a backplate would isolate the card from the audio card. personally i have never experienced that problem before with my Asus Xonar Essence STX when i used it in my ECS P67H2-A board.

    but i would RMA it, bcs if he haven't had any problems with other cards i am not 110% sure a backplate would just fix the problem.
     
  15. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,555 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    952
    He's not the only person I've seen complain about that specifically with a 670. If it's a systemic problem with unshielded X-fi cards it could take dozens of RMAs to find a card that didn't have that issue. That's assuming there was a revision to address the EMI. Ordered the backplate to try it. Cheaper than buying a HD.
     
  16. MetalRacer

    MetalRacer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    867 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    711
    Location:
    The Lone Star State
    I got an Asus GTX680 Direct CU II OC and flashed with the TOP BIOS and it runs great at the new default clocks, but it dosn't overclock as well as the real TOP.

    Here they are running @stock clocks.
    [​IMG]
     
  17. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Sorry Guys.... I haven't been paying attention to the club the past couple of weeks..... so If your name is not on the roster please let me know.

    BTW.... Check it out.... I posted it already in "Your PC ATM" but I think it is deserved here. I have been busy assembling a monster PC guys :)

    [​IMG]

    Thought I would show off my Tri-SLI monster that is now almost done :) 3X GTX680's add another one to me on the roster.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. MetalRacer

    MetalRacer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    867 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    711
    Location:
    The Lone Star State
    Outstanding!:rockout:
     
    20mmrain says thanks.
  19. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,054 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    that is f*cking nuts. Im thinking about buying this card next week. I get payed this week so ill order my new card this weekend I hope!

    [​IMG]
     
    20mmrain says thanks.
  20. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    I will run some benchmarks tomorrow and give you guys a view.... I know stock with 3Dmark11 I scored a GPU score of 30k. Overall wasn't as high as I hoped..... but that is because I am still only using a i7 3770k and not a i7 3930K or something like that. But I still got room to bump up the clock on that too.

    Thanks

    Go for it man! I played with both that card and the FTW version at work. Both are outstanding cards. The nice thing about them is they actually have all 5 VRM's unlike the Reference version of the card. They also clock very nicely!
    If you get it post here so I can welcome you to the club.

    Thanks for the compliment too.... about my Build :)
     
  21. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,054 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Hows the double fan card? noise wise and cooling, and build quality?
     
  22. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Well the FTW version wasn't a double fan card so I can't say with the FTW version (I am not even sure if they make one for the FTW)
    But the SC card ....... the noise wasn't all that bad. It was fairly quiet however.....it wasn't that much quieter than the regular reference version. I am not sure if that is because the reference version only has a max Fan speed of 85%..... but the comparison wasn't that noticeable. Although .... I will say it was a little quieter.
    Where the duel fans made the difference was in the temps.....The FTW version with the reference fan ran fairly warm for a GTX 680. While the SC version with the duel fans ran a lot cooler. I was able to clock it too 1256Mhz and never broke 71c with fans on Auto. That means it didn't down clock that often either because of the temps.
     
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  23. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,054 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    yeah. How was the SC with the 2 fans build quality? Did it feel good to hold or did it feel cheap?
     
  24. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    IMO the Build quality felt = to the reference version. Maybe felt a little cheaper. But that was only the outside shell. The actual heatsink felt heavy and solid. I would say it felt like an overall sturdy card. But remember my company got a early sample of it. So if EVGA was trying to sell my company the card of course they are going to make sure it is good as a sample as possible.

    I hope that description helps.
     
  25. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,054 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    alright sweet thanks. I hope to get paid this weekend to order this card directly from Evga. since newegg most likely wont have any instock by the time i go to order. This GTX470 I have now needs to find a new home or its going in the trash can.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page