1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's GTX460 Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by puma99dk|, Aug 20, 2010.

  1. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    776
    xxdozer32 says thanks.
  2. xxdozer32

    xxdozer32 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    210 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    OC, SOCAL
    yes sir. ive OCed to 940 on 1075mv and ran kombuster on it, did pretty damn good, max temp was 59c and max fps was 72 at a res of 1680x1050
     
  3. xxdozer32

    xxdozer32 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    210 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    OC, SOCAL
    oh my bad, stock clocks are 700 core , 1400 shader, and 1840 mem on stock voltage, that 830 OC was on stock voltage (962mV)
     
  4. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Getting my Gigabyte GTX 460 768MB today!
    For only 54 euros :)
     
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Count me in for SLI. :)

    @Mudkip
    Very very nice. Let me know if you want a bios cooked up.
     
  6. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    [​IMG]

    Does this stable, 4 hours furmark max temp 80 degrees Celsius.

    I'm thinking about lowering 2D voltage and maybe reapply thermal paste on CPU core.
     
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Offer still stands. Upload a bios here in ZIP and I'll have a crack at it.
     
  8. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks mate. I uploaded my BIOS.

    [​IMG]

    4 hour Furmark screenie @ 840/938/1680

    Seems that fan speed can't go lower than 40%, even when fan speed values are changed in the BIOS, going below 40% shows a very high RPM value in GPU-Z.

    I changed my 2D voltage to 0.75v but apparently the voltage regulator on Gigabyte GTX 460 768MB OC version can't go below 0.825v, that's what GPU-z shows.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Try out the attached.
    Lowered min fan speed, lowered 2d voltage, uncapped max voltage to 1.15v, updated 3d clocks to ones you provided.
     

    Attached Files:

    mudkip says thanks.
  10. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Could you tell me what min fan speed and 2d voltage? also why would I need 1.15v for the GPU? I can't use software voltage control.... my card isn't supported AFAIK.
     
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    20% fan speed and .75v as you posted.

    Just to have the option. I didn't adjust 3d voltage at all. Maybe nVidia Inspector would allow it.
     
    mudkip says thanks.
  12. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    thanks, but at 20% the fans don't spin up at all, could you change it to 35%?

    I made a new bios, 0.725v for 2D and 0.85v for ''setting 1''

    Don't know how to change fan speed.
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2012
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    AFAIK they only go up 10% at a time. Using nibitor 6.02 go into temps tab on the bottom right. I'm afk right now posting from the 'droid.
     
    mudkip says thanks.
  14. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Nvm i found this great tutorial : http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=336117

    Found out that fermi voltage regulator can't go below 0.825v so it doesn't matter if you go lower than that because 0.825v is always used as the minimum voltage.
    Also if you change the shader speed than you must change something called ''bumped shader speed''

    For all people who have a Gigabyte GTX 460 768MB OC, if you change your fan speed to 20%, your fans will stop spinning, if you set your fan speed between 20 and 33% GPU-z and other programs will report a faulty fan speed rotation (RPM), if I set my card at 30% GPU-z shows 6000RPM, which isn't correct. But if you set your fan speed at 34% GPU-z shows a correct RPM value, in my case 1290RPM, that's lower than stock 1640 RPM (40%).

    My bios settings are:

    840/963/1680
    min fan speed 34%, max 100%
    2D and low 3D performance @ 0.825v, performance 3D @ 0.987v stock voltage .
    Max voltage 1.15v



    Fully stable :)

    Thanks for your help.
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2012
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  15. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    776
    mudkip i have added u to the list, i hope u don't mind that ^^;
     
  16. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    just noticed that my GTX 460 SE has been running for 800/4000 for more than a year now D:
    hope it lasts longer :)

    oh wait, i think ive lowered my mem clocks to around ~3900
     
  17. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    why?
     
  18. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    not seeing much improvement, same with the core/shader clocks. It can go 850/4000 without changing the voltage but the improvement seems minimal (unlike when i clocked it from 648 to 800). Im only using a 1280 x 1024 display anyway D:
     
  19. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    furmark 20 min stable:

    855/1710/1025 (GPU/Shaders/Mem) @ 0.987v (stock)

    [​IMG]

    Can't go 860 without raising voltage

    [​IMG]
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  20. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    My card does 840-850/1000 (GPU/MEM) bf3 stable @ 0.9875v stock, tried to overclock it a bit higher and it does 860 Core @ 1.025v and 870 @ 1.0625v, should I leave it at 860 core?
     
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Sorry. Clock her up to 860.
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2012
  22. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    At 860?
     
  23. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Yup. There's pribly only y going to be at Max 3c difference but your gpu clock outweighs rise of temps from a performance perspective.
     
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,700 (9.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,159
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Does a newer 560 TI count??? LOL
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    GTFO Brandon! :p
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page