1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by stinger608, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,556 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,667
    Pulled these out of a DELL XPS that a co-worker didn't know what to do with after upgrading:

    ATI HD 3650 256MB
    [​IMG]
    Q6600:)
    [​IMG]
    DDR2 RAM:
    [​IMG]
    The DELl XPS also had this TV tuner installed:
    [​IMG]
     
    Arjai, 9700 Pro, Chevalr1c and 3 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. debs3759

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    77 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Location:
    Northampton, England
    Just received a nice 3dfx Banshee card. $11.50 shipped. I had never heard of Octek before, and searching the FCC ID and part number didn't give any idea what it was, so I had to remove the heatsink and check the chip. That's my first Banshee card. Photo is from the eBay sale.

    [​IMG]

    Edit: I just found out that Octek were (or were owned by) Joytech
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2014
  3. debs3759

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    77 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Location:
    Northampton, England
    Turns out I've been using an outdated version of the FCC search page. When I used the current FCC ID search page I got more info, including a poorly scanned copy of the above card's user guide :)

    If anyone else has trouble identifying hardware with an FCC ID, try http://transition.fcc.gov/oet/ea/fccid/
     
    stinger608 and Random Murderer say thanks.
  4. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    684 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    Location:
    Canada
    I did not know if I post here or in graphic cards but I got a 9800 that need a 6 pins connector. Do all the 9800 needed a 6 pins power connector?
     
    Random Murderer says thanks.
  5. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,497 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,210
    Which 9800? GT? GTX?
    As far as I know, all 9800s need external power. I know the couple of GTX/GTX+ cards I've owned do.
     
  6. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    684 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    Location:
    Canada
    ASUS EN9800GT HB/HTDI/512M GeForce

    This card is it strong enough to play the older Battlefield 2 multiplayer at full setting @ 1080P ?
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2014
  7. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,497 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,210
    Apparently some non-reference design 9800GT cards did not require a 6 pin, but most did.
    It should be powerful enough to max BF2 at 1080p. Maybe just slightly under max, but the 9800 series were pretty powerful for their time.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  8. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,357 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,655
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    i have a ref HP 9800GT 1024 and a ASUS 9800GT 512 Matrix both require a 6pin (both non functional ... otherwise they would be in the WorkBattleStation ... if they where both 512 or 1024 xD ) see a bit previously in the thread

    ref: http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/tpus-nostalgic-hardware-club.108251/page-45#post-2943485
     
  9. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,497 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,210
    There was a Zotac version that drew all of its power from the PCIe slot.
    [​IMG]
    Seeing as one manufacturer managed that, it would not surprise me if others had managed it as well.
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  10. debs3759

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    77 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Location:
    Northampton, England
    The reference design 9800 GT and the lower power green edition both needed a 6-pin connector. The original cards with G92 die had TDP of 105 Watts (according to NVidia, TPU database says 125 W). There is also a lower powered green edition using die G92b (not currently in the db) with slower clock speeds. Not sure of the TDP, but it will be less than 105 W. I don't believe it will be as low as 75 W though so cards with no power connector either run really slowly, have less overclocking potential or pull more than the 75W the ATX spec specifies from the slot.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  11. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,651 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,235
    Location:
    Mexico
    Q6600 for free :eek: And it's a G0 :toast: The tuner isn't bad either. The 3650 could be useful as a backup GPU. Nice bounty there HammerOn
     
    HammerON says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. debs3759

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    77 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Location:
    Northampton, England
    Just had a bonus. I asked for help on CPU-World with an eBay auction in Spain (seller wanted €50 to ship a CPU internationally!). Another member got a friend in Spain to bid for me. Won an Athlon 64 FX-74 for €5.50! Add on €15 the seller charged for domestic shipping, then I estimate about €5 to reship to me. I figured that's a good price for that chip (fastest FX chip for socket F, I now will have a pair for my L1N64-SLI WS motherboard). There are faster Opteron chips for that board that use less power, but they can't be overclocked :)

    Anyway, enough of the back story. The bonus - the guy who sorted the bid out for me said he is going to gift it to me :) now I'm gonna have to buy a couple of 240mm closed loop coolers for the processors and find a way to keep the VRMs cool (everything overheated when i fired it up 3 years back with a single CPU). i'll post pics when I have the CPU ;)
     
  13. Misaki

    Misaki

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    198 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    216
    Guys, looks like we have really interesting woman here :D
    Yeah, really great parts. I'm now waiting for package from @Stjepan666
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  14. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    334 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    197
    Location:
    Jyväskylä, Finland
    XFX has also one:

    [​IMG]

    Albatron also had a HD4830 without connector: http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Albatron/HD_4830_Green/
    That's also special card since it has full 800 shaders :confused:
     
  15. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    684 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    Location:
    Canada
    The card simply don't work without the 6pins. It keep beeping so I really need to plug it :)
     
  16. Misaki

    Misaki

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    198 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    216
    I just have received package from @Stjepan666 :D

    Sadly, I don't have PCI VGA for now.
    [​IMG]

    He said "this mobo is dead but I don't want to recycle it".
    [​IMG]

    Give me a look. Thermal paste on chipset turned to some weird grease. WTF?!
    [​IMG]

    Use brute force!
    [​IMG]

    New paste.
    [​IMG]

    Some damaged capacitors...
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    WTF?!
    [​IMG]

    CPU phase without heatsink.
    [​IMG]

    CPU came with damaged pins. Fuck you, pocztex. But with my magic hands... :D
    [​IMG]

    Time for test. Now I'm going to replace damaged capacitors.
     
    Doc41, Chevalr1c, Stjepan666 and 2 others say thanks.
  17. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,352 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,881
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Awesome Misaki!!! Just add you to the original post. :respect: :respect: :respect:

    Bummer; I can't run the video, it states "This video in not available in your country."
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. Misaki

    Misaki

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    198 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    216
    Well, this is strange. Maybe music...
    Try now. By the way, I was here before :D Only nick changed from miomol to Misaki (thanks admin!).

    VPN from United States - confirmed, working :D
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2014
    stinger608 says thanks.
  19. Stjepan666

    Stjepan666

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    10 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Hehe, my MSI now ife, thx Misaki :)
     
  20. Misaki

    Misaki

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    198 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    216
    No problem :D
     
  21. Doc41

    Doc41

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    449 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Bahrain
    @Misaki Its always fun to revive a "dead" motherboard :D, reminds me of our original xbox that died one time but turns out a few caps needed a change

    btw TrackID said (Illusion - 140) correct?
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,357 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,655
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    aaaahhh maybe i could ask to change GreiverBlade to GrieverBlade ... damned typo xD

    on the hunt again :
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    but not now (9 days left for that auction) and i have a camping today (maybe non nostalgic pics soon for the pleasure of your eyes ... if i keep up till i reach the area i want... :D )
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  23. Misaki

    Misaki

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    198 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    216
    Yup.

    If you want, I personally don't see a problem ;)
    Nforce chipset on 462? *Sniff* *sniff*, overclocking time! :D
     
  24. DigitalxxxFr34k New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    i am looking to relive my history with computers, over the years i started collecting old video games, mainly consoles and handhelds from the nes/gameboy, to current, i enjoy reliving the classic games, but there is one system that i do not have yet, and that is a 98se box, yes i am aware of dos box and other 3rd party programs, that will allow you to run old programs and games, currently i have a box, that has windows 7 and covers everything from, xp- current, now i want something to cover dos-98se/me that is authentic and whats considered top of the line back in 99-01 era before xp hit the market, i already have an idea what 98se can handle
    back in the day i ran a
    600mhz amd cpu
    64mb geforce pci video card
    sound blaster live 2 audio card
    512mb of sd ram
    20gb ide 5200 rpm hdd

    and i remember having troubles making games run maxed out and for most games i had to run them at medium settings, but of course it had norton anti virus, which took alot of resources back in the day, and it prob didn't help i was downloading music from napster alot back in that day either lol,

    im lookng to be running at

    800mhz-1ghz cpu
    768mb-1gb ram
    128mb agp card
    and a awesome mother board to plug all this into :)

    i already have a good sound card that will work with 98
    and i have a 120gb ide 7200 rpm seagate drive


    i just need to know exactley what i should be looking for as far as cpu motherboard ram and gpu brand names and model numbers would make things so much easier.

    and i already know you have to make some tweaks to run 98 with higher components and thats no problem:)

    thanks
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  25. Doc41

    Doc41

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    449 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Bahrain
    Hello and welcome to TPU!

    That seems like a good and fun idea, i don't remember much from the 98/ME era (still a kid back then :p) but i do have my dad's first PC from back then "Dino in my system specs"

    if you're looking at a 800-1GHz CPU you should check out these motherboard socket types
    Socket 370 : Intel
    Socket A "462": AMD
    Slot A: both Intel and AMD "i think"
    What comes to my mind now is :Intel Pentium III "available in socket 370 &Slot A" and AMD Athlon/Duron/Sempron series CPUs in "Socket A & Slot A"

    as for GPUs you have nVidia's geforce 2/3/4 series or ATI's Radeon R100 & R200 Series

    As for a motherboard i have no idea what's the best chipset were back then but nForce2 chipsets were among the top ones (someone correct me if i'm wrong)

    That's all i can think of right now, lets see what the others can share :toast:
     
    stinger608 and debs3759 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page