1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by stinger608, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. Doc41

    Doc41

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    475 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    385
    Location:
    Bahrain
    HP Pavilion DV1000, still has its original XP Home ed. but badly needs a format
    DSC_0328.JPG DSC_0330.JPG
    Intel Pentium M 740 @1.73 GHz 2x256MB and 60?GB HDD
    DSC_0325.JPG DSC_0327.JPG DSC_0326.JPG
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. debs3759

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    89 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    Location:
    Northampton, England
    Still haven't got my lighting sorted - I've just bought some different bulbs on eBay to experiment with. My current lighting isn't powerful enough, but here's my first pic anyway.

    [​IMG]

    This is the board I'll be using to test my VLB graphics cards. The CPU is an AMD 5x86-133. I have others, but this one has the heatsink glued on (not my preference, but it works). I'll be swapping the RAM out for 64MB FPM, the max this board can take. The case I'll use for it isn't very retro. It's just a nice bright pink case I bought about 10 years ago :) I'll have pics of other hardware when I get to try out some other lighting.
     
    Chevalr1c, Misaki, Doc41 and 2 others say thanks.
  3. Misaki

    Misaki

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    213 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    End of TrueCrypt support? Nah, I need to protect my data from roommates!
    [​IMG]
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  4. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    380 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    Jyväskylä, Finland
    Have nothing "new" to post, but I sold my HD5870s* and now I'm using HD2900GT... Oh sweet lord this is SLOW card, Diablo III RoS runs on 40-60fps when everything is turned to low and resolution is 1360x768. :D

    *probably an used GTX660Ti coming soon, costs 150 euros.
     
    stinger608 and GreiverBlade say thanks.
  5. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,840 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,184
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    that's what i paid for my R9 290 ... but hey not a bad price for a 660Ti (with a strike of luck you might be able to find a good deal on a 760/770 or 280/280X i start to see some around 200chf and lower, probably due to the upcoming 880 and 285 )

    hummmm ... 8chf might be interested ...
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    too bad this one is a bit too high for what it is ... (well ... )
    [​IMG]

    1x AMD 64 FX Socket 939

    1x AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ Black Edition, 2x 3.20GHz

    1x AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Dual Core 2.5 GHz AD04800IAA5D0
     
    Doc41, Misaki, 9700 Pro and 1 other person say thanks.
  6. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    380 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    Jyväskylä, Finland
    Nice ones Greiver! :)

    My uncle has GTX660Ti SLI setup and he also said that my 150€ 660Ti wouldn't be a bad deal. :toast:
     
  7. Misaki

    Misaki

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    213 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    @GreiverBlade: 6400+! Woo!

    Well, some package coming to me. You will know details proably in Friday :D
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  8. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,840 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,184
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    unfortunately i don't have them too expensive for me atm :( but the 386 i might get it for my collection, i had a Commodor with a 286 under 3.1 back, but i can't find it in my boxes left from my last move from one place to another

    small modification on the HSF ... i used the fan and the thermal probe of the Veriton FP PIII
    P_20140826_182311_HDR.jpg
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2014
  9. debs3759

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    89 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    Location:
    Northampton, England
    My oldest graphics card, and the second revision of ATI's first VGA card, VGA Wonder. Made in 1988, 6 years before I built my first PC.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,954 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,621
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I had one of these, scrapped from my great grandfather's non-functional Leading Edge (Intel 286?) PC that I acquired in late 2007 when he passed away. The card still worked fine, except the yellow capacitors for the VRAM all slowly caught on fire and sizzled away, so the PII-350/440BX Compaq I got from him that I tested the card in had a gentle stream of smoke streaming out of it and the card ran quite hot. I also acquired an AST 486-66DX2 that had 20MB of RAM I believe, upgraded it with some SIMMs but being from 1994 it didn't like the higher density ones so I got maybe 48MB working properly, though 64MB at one point with improper RAM configuration as one stick in the computer was a 16MB/12 chip? special upgrade stick.
     
    Chevalr1c and stinger608 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. emissary42

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    105 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    [​IMG]
    Who remembers these elkos (or that card)?

    [​IMG]
    Someone wanna guess the board? Yes, it is a really crappy one^^
     
    Random Murderer and stinger608 say thanks.
  12. Misaki

    Misaki

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    213 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    I'm sure that is ECS K7S5A. Very popular in ~2004 because it was cheap. With modded BIOS results were not bad at all...
    But neverending sound problems! I'm used SoundBlaster 128 PCI because C-Media card on this board simply dosen't wanted to work.
    [​IMG]
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  13. emissary42

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    105 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    It never could compete with my older abit NF7-S v2.0 and didn't get very old. But you are right, it is a K7S5A.
     
  14. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,840 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,184
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    at last xD

    btw use simply the upload a file button then thumbnail or full size :D (not a fan of imgur, except for private conversation where the button "upload a file" is absent)
     
    xLDKx NewYorker says thanks.
  15. xLDKx NewYorker

    xLDKx NewYorker

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Messages:
    41 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Upstate New York
    Misc Gateway Tower
    Gateway PSU from tower ¿300w?
    Intel WarmSprings440BX from Misc Gateway
    Katmai Slot 1 Pentium 3 @550MHz from Pile O'Parts
    Geforce 2 Pro 64mB w/ATI Fan @100MHz from Pile O'Parts
    2x256mB SDRAM @MHz from Dell Optiplex GX100
    40gB WD from Misc Acer
    2xDVD-RW from Pile O'Parts

    [​IMG]

    Edit... Came from GCF so cut me a break if you notice what I did not while taking these pics... Otherwise disregard this last bit in it's entirety :D
    Edit...... Gonna go shoot myself in the head now. Blame it on Imgur
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 28, 2014
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  16. debs3759

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    89 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    Location:
    Northampton, England
    My new bulbs arrived in the mail this morning. I think the lighting is better on this pic of the same card as my last pic. Haven't tested it on a motherboard yet, but I'm not as bothered about larger items. I want decent graphics card pics for my website :) Still gonna experiment and try to get more light, but this'll do for now.

    [​IMG]
     
    GreiverBlade and xLDKx NewYorker say thanks.
  17. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,840 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,184
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    that is not a valide excuse, new place : you learn to use it :D

    nah it's fine anyway.


    new lessons : you can edit your post with the edit link on the bottom left of the post ;) instead of redo a new one and delete the old one :)

    also "more options" button for getting the full editor with "upload a file" button when editing :)
     
    xLDKx NewYorker says thanks.
  18. xLDKx NewYorker

    xLDKx NewYorker

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Messages:
    41 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Upstate New York
    I realized about the edit function, It's that I did over 9000ah-rue edits... I get mad easy, which is not a good mix with older PC's. Wouldn't be the first time I, literally, put my hand through an LCD monitor. I've also busted my hand on a CRT and a on a brick wall:( I have issues I know, working on it...
     
    GreiverBlade and stinger608 say thanks.
  19. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,810 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,822
    Location:
    Wyoming
    And of course I added you to the original post New Yorker!! :respect: :respect: :respect:
     
    xLDKx NewYorker says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. xLDKx NewYorker

    xLDKx NewYorker

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Messages:
    41 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Upstate New York
    Original post?
    Nvm I got it, thanks man... Nice MoBo's btw
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  21. debs3759

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    89 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    Location:
    Northampton, England
    Oops. I just negotiated a price on a Voodoo3 2000 AGP - seller had it listed for £20 and I persuaded him to sell it to me for £15. After I paid I went to get other details from my database, and it turns out i already have one! Only paid £2.80 for the one I have as well. Oops, that'll teach me for rushing into a purchase :) Can't even SLI them :(
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  22. Misaki

    Misaki

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    213 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Please correct me if I'm wrong, but only Voodoo 2 had SLI option . In home I have 2 motherboards with integrated Voodoo 3 2000 8MB and I can't SLI them :laugh:
     
  23. P4-630

    P4-630

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,616 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    266
    Location:
    Los Santos
    What kind of games can you run on that?
     
  24. debs3759

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    89 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    Location:
    Northampton, England
    That's why I can't SLI them. That and the fact there are no dual AGP motherboards :)
     
  25. Misaki

    Misaki

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    213 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Quake 3 on low
    Quake 2 :rockout:
    UT99
    Worms Amageddon
    Red Alert

    Probably much more :p
     
    Chevalr1c, debs3759 and P4-630 say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (1 member and 2 guests)

debs3759

Share This Page