1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by stinger608, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,031 (4.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,654
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet

    Sweet nostalgia there.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,625 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    Mexico
    There's a Geforce 7950GT AGP coming this way :D

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    phill, Maban, _JP_ and 4 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    Oh man, to think I almost bought one of those for my AXP, but held back, because it just looked like a cheap chinese knock-off. That cooler still looks weak to me. :ohwell:
    Promise you'll tell us how well it clocks. :D
    Btw, guys, what do you think would be a good price for a used (but like new, all accessories included) Sapphire HD2600x2 1GB?
    I want it as a collectible (or to use as a DX9 retro-rig...if I manage to find a used P35 board at a good price).
    Euros, dollars...doesn't matter, I'll convert it. :)
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  4. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,495 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,199
    considering how rare they are, i'd wager a guess that they're still about $200 USD.
    in fact, the only 2600x2 i could find was a visiontek, and the seller wants $460 for it:eek:
     
    _JP_ says thanks.
  5. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    I know it's rare, but I can't find any info on it, or another card for sale...hence my question.
    Well, the one I found has one of the heatsink screws with the head all messed up (and it's the only one I can see). The guy was sloppy enough to show that on a pic, so I'm going to clear that out, before I make a move.
    It doesn't count as "original state" if the heatsinks were already removed once or twice. :\
     
  6. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,031 (4.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,654
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    You can also use the fact that you can get alot better card for cheaper. Just don't mention you want it for a collection as he probably won't budge on the price.


    You can get a 4870 x2 off of fleabay for around $150.
     
    _JP_ says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,956 (8.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,772
    NewEgg has a 4870X2 for $159 (refurb with a 1 yr extended warranty)

    @JP any pics of that card you're looking for? I did a search and couldn't find any:eek:
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    Yeah, I'm going to go with "Well, it's an old card, and I only really wanted it so I could bring my old heap of junk into life. I'm going to crossfire it with my current 2600XT." :p
    [​IMG]
    bottom board
    [​IMG]
     
    Norton says thanks.
  9. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,326 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,829
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Wow JP, I will keep my eye out if I ever run across one.
     
    _JP_ says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    heh
    It's not a performer...wasn't meant to be when it was launched (sorta)...but it is as rare as a Bugatti Type 57.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  11. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,031 (4.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,654
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Sweet if you can get ahold of it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    If I'm successful, it won't take long. ;) I've got it. :D
    Here's a PowerColor ATi Radeon 9600 PRO 128MB, in the meantime. :)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2012
    Norton and stinger608 say thanks.
  13. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    Sorry for double posting, but this is a small update.
    I already have the HD 2600 X2 (I edited the reply above), but have lacked the time to take pics. I'll take some once I can. (Freakin' thing is HUGE! :eek:...for a dual 2600 anyway...:laugh:)
    Bad part is that I lack a board to test it. My 4CoreDual-SATA2 won't do the job, unfortunately. :(
     
    Norton and stinger608 say thanks.
  14. dorsetknob

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    268 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh?
    Your 4CoreDual-SATA2 has slots for AGP (x4 x8 1.5v) and PCIx (x4 only) it also has DDR1 mem or DDR2 mem slots i know because i got one as well
     
  15. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    I am completely aware of that, but the PLX chip wasn't really made to run on a x4 slot.
     
  16. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,031 (4.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,654
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Send it this way I can test it for you. LOL
     
    _JP_ says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    The shipping cost is the same as a used board with a proper PCI-e slot. ;)
     
  18. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,495 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,199
    have you even tried it in your board?
    i doubt two 2600XT chips will even utilize all the bandwidth a x4 slot runs.
     
    _JP_ says thanks.
  19. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,455 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,051
    Location:
    Minnesota, Canadian States of Norway
    It's more likely that the card doesn't play well with the PT880 chipset. The 4CoreDual-xxxx boards were picky with what they worked with for PCI-E. I had to get a third-party BIOS for my 4CoreDual-VSTA for a 4850 to work on it.
     
    _JP_ says thanks.
  20. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    Yeah, that and the PLX chip used is a PEX 8548 which, in dual-graphics configuration, requires a x16 slot to operate properly. You can read about it here.
     
  21. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,455 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,051
    Location:
    Minnesota, Canadian States of Norway
    That was a fun read. However there is nothing in that brief that says that it has to have a x16 link to the chipset. I think you are misunderstanding what it says.
     
    _JP_ says thanks.
  22. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,495 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,199
    yea, it was my understanding that PLX bridges double the bandwidth of the lane it's connected to, not split it into two individual lanes. i could be completely wrong though, lol.:roll:
    EDIT: for example, connecting a PLX bridge to a x8 lane would create two x8 lanes, not two x4 lanes. like i said though, i could be completely wrong.
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2012
    _JP_ says thanks.
  23. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,455 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,051
    Location:
    Minnesota, Canadian States of Norway
    With a switch you can have x8 coming in to the switch and branch out into two x8 links. But they will share the x8 connection to the chipset.
     
    _JP_ says thanks.
  24. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,495 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,199
    right, but what i was trying to say is it doesn't just halve the lane and give half to each device connected to it.

    EDIT: JP, it would probably be easiest to just pop it in and see if it works rather than going through all of this. it may not get good performance, but then again 2600XTs were never really high-performance to begin with.
     
    _JP_ says thanks.
  25. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,455 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,051
    Location:
    Minnesota, Canadian States of Norway
    Right. With that 2600x2, each GPU would get x16 to the switch then share the x4 to the PT880 (if it worked).

    A channel switch however does split links.
     
    _JP_ says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page