1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by stinger608, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    Thanks. I'm slowly working on bringing her back to life. Just trying to chase down some random cpu coolers for that one and a few others. Not much luck there though.

    Thanks for adding me sting.
    stinger608 says thanks.
  2. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,831 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,369
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I have a A7vpro in my win 98se build.


    Pops, how many socket A coolers do you need? I have a few (lot) What cpus are you cooling?

    I have a metric ton of socket A crap here.
    popswala and stinger608 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,048 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,425
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Your welcome Pops.


    :laugh: He tells the truth man, he has a shit pot full of Socket A parts.
    What an awesome era though. Was soooooooo damn much fun!
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,831 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,369
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Yes it was a great era. Socket A's where the creme of the crop back then. I still keep some of the special stuff from that era locked away. :toast: Like for example my first socket a board. My mighty Abit KT7A Raid. That board has been through some stuff and still ticks along. Right now it is running a proc ( Axp 2400+) people back in the day said would never run in it. But me being who I am, I had to try it anyway and succeeded in proving them wrong. It is still running that proc at full speed.
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,564 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,919
    TRIDENT TVGA (16-BIT) 8800CS 16-bit ISA 512KB DRAM dated 1989:
    [​IMG]

    Sound Blaster card by Creative Labs dated 1990:
    [​IMG]
    stinger608, phill, Norton and 2 others say thanks.
  6. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,424 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,146
  7. dorsetknob

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    268 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh?
    Just googled the sound card
    looks like its a Sound Blaster CT-1320c (Sound Blaster 1.5)
    8 bit ISA Card
  8. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,081 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    550
    That thing is OOOOLD !
  9. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,124 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Looks like a PCI card to me. The slot interface is not long enough for ISA.
  10. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,827 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,517
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    PCI didn't exist until 1993, silly. :nutkick:

    The video card is 16bit ISA, the Sound Blaster is 8 bit. The shorter connector provides the extra 8 bits while the longer connector is the main 8 bit connector used by every ISA card.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,124 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Makes sense. Having an ISA Sound Blaster, I'd never seen one with the shorter connector on ISA though I really didn't start to get in to computers until the mid 90s.
  12. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,827 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,517
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Yeah, I think all the newer Sound Blasters (SB16 and above) used 16bit ISA. My 2 SB16 cards and an AWE64 were all 16bit ISA. :)
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,920 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    482
    ooo ooo can I join this club please

    something I have just hanging round

    An Quantum Plus Hardcard II 105XL HDD (100MB)

    [​IMG]

    and this just show how big these were ( vs HP 17" laptop)
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2012
    stinger608, phill and Chevalr1c say thanks.
  14. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,182 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,361
    Is that an early mechanical HD or some kind of solid state memory solution?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. dorsetknob

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    268 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh?
    I'm Old enough to remember Hardcards
    ah the (not so) good old days
    Back in the Day Nearly all motherboards only had one (1) IDE Connector (for 2 Hard disks only as CD ROM had not been invented/introduced)
    the hard card was a way of adding storage space for your computer ie a 3rd hard drive
    some came with a drive fitted others required you to add your own hard disk
    I could not afford to buy one would have loved to have owned one I had the spare hard drives and as i run my Pc's on an open case policy i used to cold swap/boot hard drives as i needed the programs/date on my spare drives

    Wilkie here:respect:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hardcard
    Athlonite and Chevalr1c say thanks.
  16. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,920 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    482
    Early mechanical HDD it's circa 1990 16bit ISA :D made by Plus Development corp (which later became part of Quantum) and get this it still works although it's a bitch to get running on win 95 or 98 it does work I also have an old Seagate 545MB HDD aswell that also works perfectly aswell noisy as all hell but works none the less (it has win95 osr2 on it to run the Plus Hardcard):shadedshu
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2012
    stinger608 and Chevalr1c say thanks.
  17. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,048 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,425
    Location:
    Wyoming

    Very awesome video cards BP!!!!!!

    Wow, that is a very unique piece of hardware your showing us Athlonite

    Adding Athlonite to the original post. :respect::respect::respect:
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,920 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    482
    thanks stinger608 and yes I spose it is, back in the day they were sorta common (if you had a butt load of cash) but now I don't think I've actually seen another one in the flesh so speak for a very long time... I'll see what else I can dig out of the archive pretty sure I might have an old socket 3 or 5 mobo sitting round gathering
  19. catnipkiller

    catnipkiller

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,493 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    canada
    Came in at work and looked old.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2012
    Chevalr1c and _JP_ say thanks.
  20. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,920 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    482
    That looks like an socket 478 mobo from an GX series Dell or an HP maybe
  21. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
  22. dorsetknob

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    268 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh?
    Probably the trace layout on the board determined the positing of the ram slots i do agree the angle looks odd and i have not seen one with offset ram slots like the above picture

    conclusion
    " Poor Design/layout"
    Says "Compaq" on the motherboard. So it's more likely to be HP (or Compaq).
    That explains it all:laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh:
  23. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,920 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    482
    actually IF it says compaq on it then for it's age it probably is a compaq PC it came out of remember HP didn't buy compaq until only a few years ago

    and fun times recapping it I've done a few over the years just make sure you've got a good soldering iron that puts out plenty of heat
  24. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    HP bought Compaq in 2002. Socket 478 was launched in the same year. So I don't know. :)
    And the right caps. ;) (low/matching ESR and all that)
  25. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,182 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,361
    It is a mobo of the Compaq Presario 5xxx series, most likely. My dad had one. Socket 478 Pentium 4 and originally 256 MiB of SDRAM.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page