1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by stinger608, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. phill

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    357 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Bridgwater, Somerset
    Sadly that's an old pic... I used to have all that stuff :)
     
  2. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,010 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,637
    i already have a XP-M 2500+ in, only gets up to 2.2GHz stabily, after that it crashes hard no matter what voltage is applied.
     
  3. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,935 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,529
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    2.2 is 3200+ speed. I hit 2.2 with my 2500+ xp-m on stock mobile voltage. I ran it at 2.4 with a very small bump in voltage. I can't remember exactly what the voltage was though.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. phill

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    357 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Bridgwater, Somerset
    I think with a bit of voltage those XP-M 2500's really can speed along :D I think I have managed to hit 2.8Ghz with one with water cooling... I hope to see if I can find another few to get a few higher scores :D
     
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,010 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,637
    after 2.2 the 2500 M I have here would crash under COD 4 even, that was just with a multiplier bump (Yes I was able to run that game on the 1950 pro here at decent frames in MP even).

    Ive about given up on it. Ill eventually return to messing around with it once i get a new machine built of the APU line
     
  6. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,243 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,685
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Damn it!!! For some reason that system is not booting. :banghead: I am kind of leaning toward the video card taking a shit, but have to test it further. I have a DVI to HDMI cable that is known good, but I am not getting crap when I boot. Going to switch over to the 6600 Nvidia card and try again. I hope that is what it is!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,935 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,529
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Me too man. I have 1 more of those combos in my collection.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,243 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,685
    Location:
    Wyoming
    :laugh::laugh::laugh: Now here is some crazy nostalgic adds!!!!!!!!!!!

    http://www.hongkiat.com/blog/vintage-tech-ads/

    Ran across this on "How To Geek." Was kid of looking for some old computer adds. Very cool.....Kind of creepy though. Think of them prices in the inflation now if they were not mainstream!!!
     
    ThE_MaD_ShOt, _JP_ and Maban say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,798 (8.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,107
    2 cents a byte was my favorite :laugh: Here's a project- add up all of the bytes in your PC and see what it's worth :D
    - cpu caches
    - ram
    - hdd
    - hdd cache
    - gpu memory
    - gpu caches

    The dollar amount has to be unbelievable!!!
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,243 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,685
    Location:
    Wyoming
    :laugh: Yea no kidding. Probably worth hundreds of thousands. :laugh:
    Would be fun to do...........If a person was really bored. :toast:
     
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    584
    try millions... i did this little experiment when AT&T was charging 2 cents per kilobyte... I decided i'd be one rich mofo if I charged them that rate to install windows vista on a few computers (at the time)
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  12. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,010 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,637
    once I have funds again I may buy Skt A Chips and see how far i can push them, course after i build a new rig (whats a rig good for if its burnt up lol)
     
  13. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    584
    I've heard the mobile ones fair better with overclocking... and i think they came unlocked since it was necessary for the bios to downclock them to save on power.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  14. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,010 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,637
    XP-M 462 were unlocked, 0339+ for Desktop parts are locked

    2500+ i have only goes to 2.2GHz stable enough.
     
  15. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    584
    i think that's what i managed to get mine to by some fluke... managed to get the bus at 400 rather than 333 somehow lol. It was short lived though... Abit's bios update killed the system... 3 hits from lightning didn't help either.
     
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  16. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,010 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,637
    200 (400 Effective) x11 (5.5 Effective)= 2200.

    Too bad Via wasnt pushing High End Performance on the AMD platform at the time, even though their kT880 chipset supported 4GB of ram
     
  17. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    584
    wouldn't have done any good considering the Athlons weren't 64-bit capable.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  18. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,010 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,637
    you know very well MS could of enabled over 4 gigs of ram without changing to 64bit
     
  19. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,246 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,424
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Indeed, it's called PAE (Physical Adress Extension), albeit not all benefits of x86_64 would be in effect.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. m1919

    m1919

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    62 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Fascist North America
    Heh, first post on this forum, might as well be here. :D

    I've got a fair amount of stuff, but I'll start out with my dual P3 Xeon retro rig.

    If you've seen this board before, you'll notice two things ghetto-modded in there.

    Xeon Prime

    Antec Earthwatts 380W
    ASUS XG-DLS
    Dual P3 Xeon 700/1Mb SL49P @784Mhz
    2GB Micron PC133 ECC
    Leadtek WinFast A350
    Generic USB 2.0 Card
    SB Live! CT4780
    Quantum3d Obsidian2 200SBi
    HP ML350 Hotswap Bay
    Hitachi 73GB 10K
    Seagate 73GB 10k
    Hitachi CD/DVD

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2012
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,010 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,637
    Too bad no AGP 8x Dual Athlon MP/XP motherboards were released that enabled full Overclocking capability. Ohwell guess have to write a bios to do that huh
     
  22. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,246 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,424
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    The graphics card cooler reminds me of an audio or video (VHS) cassette. :)

    What OS do you run on it, by the way? A flavour of Linux?
     
    m1919 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,945 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    497
    That's one nice looking old school rig
     
    m1919 says thanks.
  24. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    738
    Location:
    Portugal
    Not for Athlons, but I recall existing some for Opterons.
     
  25. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,945 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    497
    I know Tyan had an duel opteron mobo socket 940 though so not really old old school

    [​IMG]

    And MSI did do an duel socket A mobo the K7D Master

    [​IMG]

    but good luck in finding any Athlon MP CPU's anywhere
     
    _JP_, stinger608 and Chevalr1c say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)

Share This Page