1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by stinger608, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,946 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,325
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. m1919

    m1919

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    62 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Fascist North America
    Nice!

    Heh, I think I saw a few Slot-1 Golden Orbs on ebay a few months back. I've got a dual Slot-1 Tyan Tiger 100, but I doubt a pair of those would fit with the slot spacing lol. Personally though, I really like the look of the server grade passive heatsinks that were used in old Dells.

    [​IMG]

    Mmmmmmm schmexy blue anodizing.
  3. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,946 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,325
    Location:
    Wyoming
    I'll have to look, I remember having a couple of these processors with that exact heat sink. I think it came out of a Dell Dual Slot 1 server. Hmmm, hell, I might even still have that server even. LOL
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,768 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,294
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Here's some pictures from a couple builds I am doing. I also have a project thread on them.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    _JP_, phill, m1919 and 3 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,946 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,325
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Damn man, them are some sweet ole builds Mad!!!!!!
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,768 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,294
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    The one is awaiting some certain vid cards once I get some spare loot. lol
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. m1919

    m1919

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    62 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Fascist North America
    Just got this in today. I like WinFast cards.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  8. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    I'm going to bring the discussion here, because I don't want to derail the other thread, but still explaining to TRWOV what I had in mind.
    So, I almost ended-up buying a Sapphire HD 2600 XT AGP for a freaky project that exploded in my mind the moment I saw the card.
    The idea was to use my 4CoreDual-SATA, once I upgraded to something more modern, with that card plus my 2600x2 for some triple-screen awesomesauce. One idea was to make a RACE 07 dedicated computer, given that driving simulators greatly benefit from very wide resolutions.
    The specifications for RACE 07 state a 3GHz CPU, 2GB RAM, DX9 w/512MB vRAM GPU. The HD 2600 while not being a performance monster should handle the game fine with the resolution set to 1366x768 or even 1440x900.
    The XT AGP version has the same amount of vRAM and the same type as the 2600x2 (512MB GDDR3).
    The AGP card would be selected for the center screen and the HD 2600x2 would take care of the extra two screens.
    The problem is that I'm going through a rough financial period as we speak and I'm not even sure I can make VIA's Dual-GFX feature work with similar cards/drivers, let along 3 chips.
    This was an idea I had, but at the moment, I cannot accomplish it (too many barriers and a high level of uncertainty).
    stinger608 says thanks.
  9. m1919

    m1919

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    62 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Fascist North America
    Acquired a pair of 12MB Voodoo2s. They're not matching, but it's as close as I'll get right now to running something more genuine to what was around back in the day. Lol, I doubt a lot of gamers were able to get their hands on Quantum3d hardware, even if the Obsidian2 X-24 was available to the consumer market.

    The pair came with an SLI cable and one of the cheapo, thin pass-through cables. Probably going to replace that with a nice 6" VGA saver cable or something.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  10. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,946 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,325
    Location:
    Wyoming
    :eek: Frigging awesome score M1919!!!!!!!!! :rockout::rockout::rockout:

    Man, I wish I could find a pair of them or a pair of the Diamond Monster 12mb cards. I remember playing Quake for the first time with one Diamond Monster 8mb card!!! It was a hell of a difference!!!

    Congrats on the score man. :respect::respect::respect:
    m1919 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. m1919

    m1919

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    62 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Fascist North America
    There seem to be a lot of auctions on ebay these days for Voodoo2s. Maybe you'll get lucky and find a matched pair sometime.

    For me... I just wanted a pair of Voodoo2s, didn't have to be matching as long as I had a working set lol.
    stinger608 says thanks.
  12. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,394 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    594
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    dang it threw out my old Pentium II & Pentium III setups
  13. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    Howdy!
    How much do you guys reckon a Pentium D should be worth?
    Preslers, for example...about 20~40 dollars, right?
  14. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,375 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Depends on the core and what it can clock to. I've been offered $60 for my 820 Smithfield because it'll run 4.2 stable.
  15. TotalChaos

    TotalChaos New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    737 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    590
    Here is an oldie I found in a box in the basement

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2012
  16. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,002 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    After i did my own Windows 98se build i changed out my Vodoo 3 2000 for SLi Vodoo 2s, now im almost finished a cheap DOS only rig that i plan to run FreeDOS on. The DOS rig has a Cryix 5x86 @ 100mhz but i've never been able to get the board to post, im just waiting for some FPM memory sticks to come up on ebay for cheap, probably 2x32mb sticks (matching pair) even though 32mb itself is plenty.

    I even got my old 5 1/4 inch floppy working by changing the IDE cable.

    I really should post up some pictures.
  17. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,946 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,325
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,935 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,334
    I had a 3D Prophet II GTS Pro (64MB) from them. Pretty good card for its time (Wish Hercules and Tyan never left the GC market)
  19. TotalChaos

    TotalChaos New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    737 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    590
    ATi 9600 Pro

    [​IMG]

    TNT M64

    [​IMG]

    Geforce 2 MX 200

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2012
    m1919, stinger608 and Chevalr1c say thanks.
  20. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,594 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,796
    Location:
    Oregon
    Cleaned out my closet.

    Creative Labs Modem Blaster D15601-1 ISA Slot
    V90 56k hardware modem
    I remember paying $90 for this

    Anyone need one?

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    m1919, stinger608 and Chevalr1c say thanks.
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,935 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,334
  22. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,375 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    If anybody is browsing this forum and is still on 56k, they belong in this thread. Not their hardware, but the person.
    ThE_MaD_ShOt, stinger608 and Athlonite say thanks.
  23. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,594 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,796
    Location:
    Oregon
    I think loading the pics would be a bit much. I remember waiting to see pics as they loaded :shadedshu
    Athlonite says thanks.
  24. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,912 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    480
    OH very painfully slow even with getting a 52Kbps connection I have very unfond memories of those day thank god they're long gone
  25. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,935 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,334
    just remember for its time it was fastest that could be afforded cuz of the Price of T1 and T3 are still stupid high

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)

Share This Page