1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by stinger608, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,286 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,788
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Awesome Rodney!!!!!!!
    Added you to the original post man. :respect::respect::respect:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. rodneyhchef

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    418 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    I'm attempting to post stuff in some kind of chronological order.

    My first build was the system above. I bought the board for £15 second hand in early 1998 when I was 15. When I first built it around the fullyes motherboard it had a Pentium 75 (O/c'd to 100MHz :nutkick:) 32Mb SDRAM, Cirrus logic 5446 2mb pci vga card and an audio excel sound blaster compatible sound card, 2.1gig HDD and a 12x CD-ROM drive!

    Because this rig kinda sucked I bought a new processor for it. I didn't know much about processors at the time, so I Bought a cyrix M2 PR233. Now I think with hindsight I could've got this chip to work on the fullyes board, but when I first tried it is said it was a 486. I didn't have the manual for the fullyes board at the time so I was unable to set the jumpers correctly (I set up the P75 purely by guesswork!)

    So I went out and bought a new motherboard. This was it:

    [​IMG]

    (pictured here with an S3 virge DX375 and a turtle beach aureal vortex sound card)
    [​IMG]

    It's the widely acclaimed PC chips M571! So good, it has it's own website

    http://www.m571.com/m571/

    What was 'great' about this motherboard was the amount of features it packed. Onboard sound, video, usb, IR. Fitted both AT and ATX cases, it was a real do-all board at the time. It supported high multipliers and FSB frequencies above 66MHz (but not 100MHz) So you had quite a lot of overclocking options. 75MHz FSB was a good setting, it oc/d the chipset though (PCI/ISA buses), so you had to be careful to not push it too far.

    What the website doesn't tell you is if you don't want to use the on-board sound you can't use an add-in sound card in dos. It causes some kind of hardware conflict even when you disable it in the bios and with the jumper on the motherboard. Which wasn't good for me as I still played a fair few dos games, like first encounters and I wanted to use a decent sound card. I think I had a PCI64 at the time (Still got it!)

    The biggest problem with this board though is it's memory performance. The fullyes board even when using EDO ram could run rings around this, even when you ran the M571 at 75MHz with SD-RAM.

    Real world performance isn't too bad. If you run it at 75MHz you get a nice boost in graphics card performance. I did some comparisons with 3dmark 99 a few years ago and it was better than the fullyes board by quite a bit, I could also run the CPU at the full 450MHz and it supports more ram

    [​IMG]

    So really, in most respects this is a better board than my old one, but being unable to use a proper sound card was a deal breaker for me. So now it sits in its box in the attic as my backup should I ever need it. I hope that I never will!

    I only discovered all this more recently. I used this board for about a year before I moved on to an Aladdin V chipset MSI board which supported 100MHz FSB and AGP (to some extent, but not very well).
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2013
  3. rodneyhchef

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    418 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    I just found this pic of the aladdin V MSI board. I think it was model MS5169. Pictured with a graphics blaster TNT2 M64 16mb, and a geforce 4 MX 440 64mb (great card!)

    [​IMG]

    So my third rig consisted of this board paired with the K6/2 450 that's now in my fullyes rig. 128MB PC100 SD-RAM 6.4gig hdd and the TNT2 M64 pictured. (this pic is from a few years ago now, I think the M64 went in the bin when it developed a fault. It always ran red hot due to being only passively cooled)


    I spent ages trying to get the graphics blaster to run at AGP 2x on the aladdin board. I think the card supported 4x but AGP implementaion on socket 7 motherboards always sucked. So it never ran at anything other than 1x. Still, this was twice as fast as PCI.

    I actually had two of these MSI board. The first was DOA which I then exchanged for an iWill motherboard of a similar design. This lasted about 6 months until I killed it with a bad bios flash. :banghead: So I had to save my pennies for a month til I could afford to buy another board.

    The TNT2 M64 sucked so bad I ended up taking this out of my old rig (which I had given to my brother at this point and have fogotten to mention this card so far!)

    [​IMG]

    The other motherboard is a Jetway 663AS Pro (yeah, I know jetway! :wtf:) . And toether with the MX 440 made up my 4th rig. It was my first computer to break 1GHz. Running a 1.2GHz athlon Thunderbird :rockout:
     
  4. rodneyhchef

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    418 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    My 5th and final retro rig isn't really what I would call retro but it seems to have been talked about a few times in this thread so I will add it in the interests of completeness!

    [​IMG]

    System was built around the nforce 2 based A7N8X-X. This was the cheaper single channel memory controller version of the A7N8X, which wasn't really that big a deal back then.

    This was quite possibly the best (certainly longest lasting) system I ever owned. I bought it in 2003 and I think I replaced it in 2008 without upgrading the CPU. I somehow bought a very unusual high end Thoroughbred B cpu

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    As you can see it operated at 2250MHz from the factory and the multiplier was unlocked! It didn't really matter that the multiplier was unlocked though as it was easier to increase the fsb. With some corsair value select ram I was able to clock the FSB/RAM all the way to 225MHz stable (it would post and bench higher but 225 was a nice round number and stable for everyday stuff)

    I had quite a few graphics cards in this rig over those 5 years. My first was an FX5200. Worst. Card. Ever! I then got a 5600 instead. Which worked for a while 'til the fan died on it. Then I saw the light and had a couple of ATI cards.

    [​IMG]

    This is an X800GT. The first graphics card I ever really experimented with overclocking on. (retrospectively, I overclocked the Geforce 4 mx440 and it loved it) but the X800GT was my first. I killed it somehow trying to unlock an extra quad. I ended up with one less quad than when I started :banghead: So then I got this:

    [​IMG]

    It's an X1950GT 256mb. With hindsight the Pro 512 would have been a much better choice but I loved this card. It looked great :D

    So that's all the rigs I built for myself between 1998 and 2003. I had a brief flirtation with socket 939 after this but I then went over to intel and had a Q6600 setup before my current one. For quite a while there, I was a total AMD fanboy! :respect:

    I've got some more retro rigs that I acquired over the years that I will be posting about next. Including the slot a system I got a few weeks back :)
     
    Jetster, Doc41, GreiverBlade and 4 others say thanks.
  5. rodneyhchef

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    418 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    So here's what else I've got. First some random things:

    Couple of pentiums. P166 and P233MMX
    [​IMG]

    A selection of cards, some already mentioned. The savage4 is probably the rarest?

    Top row; some 10/100 network cards, Awe 32, S3 virge DX375
    Bottom row; Gefore 4 MX440, savage 4 (8mb) voodoo 2 (12mb) Soundblaster PCI64 (ensoniq audio pci)
    [​IMG]

    This is supposed to be 'the best' socket 7 motherobard you could get. It's an FIC VA-503+ It has a whopping 1Mb of L2 and can cache up to 256mb of ram! I found it a few years ago in an old machine at wok. Unfortunately I could never get it to run stable so I haven't used it much.
    [​IMG]

    This is a budget celeron 733 setup
    [​IMG]

    I built this machine last year when I was having a bad time with my modern stuff. My laptop and PC both died within days of one another. So in the interim I threw this machine together. The parts I got from old machines at work (the box originally housed the celeron system above) The motherboard I found in a motherboard box for a socket 775 motherboard (I was somewhat dissapointed to find that it was infact a PCchips M810L v9.0m from circa 2003

    [​IMG]

    This is a very strange motherboard in that the 1266MHz duron CPU and 256mb of ram is soldered directly to the motherboard. So no CPU upgrades! Any AGP card i tried also caused issues (possibly because of the 120w PSU :laugh:) so I had to use the onboard with a whopping 8mb of ram :roll:

    There are other versions of this board that are actually pretty good. (ones with a ZIF socket for the CPU support upto 2133MHz athlon XPs). But not this one!


    K7 rig

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I fired this up today. It runs great! It has dual boot for some reason. Both boot options are for 'windows xp' :laugh:
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2013
  6. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,398 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,133
    stinger608 says thanks.
  7. Ikaruga

    Ikaruga

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,194 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    436
    Hi,

    I just found out about this great thread:toast:.
    I have lots of old hardware, starting from the XT times (I think my XT would still work if I would give it power). 286,-386 motherboards and processors, Tseng VGA cards, etc... a lot of money spent on things which are only useless junks now;) They are locked up in storage atm, but I will take some pics next time for you guys)

    Here are some what I have it with me now (don't ask me why I dug these up, because I don't remember)

    1, my first 3dfx card. I had a devkit earlier at work, but this was mine
    oldhw_0001.jpg

    2, Some IO card (IDE,FFD,COM,LPT) with Goldstar chips on it.
    oldhw_0002.jpg

    3, Sound Blaster (Vibra 16) sound card
    oldhw_0003.jpg

    4, Gravis sound card (Doom music was awesome with this)
    oldhw_0004.jpg

    5, Matrox Millenium graphics card (Iirc the thing on the right is extra 4MB)
    oldhw_0005.jpg

    6, Diamond's Edge 3D (my first Nvidia card. It was very expensive and utterly slow, but I could connect Sega gamepads to it at least.)
    oldhw_0006.jpg

    more to come...
     
    Doc41, TommyT, GreiverBlade and 4 others say thanks.
  8. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,286 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,788
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Awesome old nostalgic hardware man!!!

    Added ya to the original post bro. :respect::respect::respect:

    @Rodney: wow man, you have some a$$ kicking nostalgic systems and hardware bro.

    Welcome to both of ya guys to our little nostalgic club on the net!!!! :toast::toast::toast:
     
    Ikaruga says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. m1919

    m1919

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    62 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Fascist North America
    Nice stuff posted today. Much of it is from an era I mostly don't have hardware from any longer. I used to have a Packard Bell S606. P233, 32MB EDO, 4GB Maxtor, some variation of SB and a ATI Rage card of some sort.

    After reading how bad most PBs were, looks like I got lucky with that machine. Never had a problem with it. Lost it in a move probably 10 years ago.
     
  10. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,909 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,053
    Not quite as old as some of the recent pics:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Roph, _JP_, Doc41 and 6 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,286 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,788
    Location:
    Wyoming
    HammerON says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. rodneyhchef

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    418 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    I had some similar ram to that, it was PC4400. :rockout: Got it off a guy on here (maybe Tatty_One) together with an opteron 185. Shame I never really had the board for it (the board for it appeared to be an asrock 939Dual-SATA2) but I always got outbid on ebay for one. The A8N SLI deluxe I had instead was rubbish. (for O/Cing anyway)
     
  13. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,804 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    253
    Location:
    Netherlands
    [​IMG]

    enjoy :D
     
    de.das.dude, _JP_, Doc41 and 9 others say thanks.
  14. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,146 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,876
    Location:
    Mexico
    My scraps build:

    P4 3.4E, HD2600XT AGP, Abit IC7-G, 4GB mushkin XP4000, Masscool Copper HSF, ThermalMaster case, Gigabyte iRAM. The only new item in there is the Earthwatts 380 PSU.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    iRAM performance:
    [​IMG]

    Anyone knows if you can safely move the swapfile to another drive in W7?


    3dmark run. Only IceStorm runs, the program crashes on the Cloudgate demo loading screen.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2013
    LegendofMadness, _JP_, Doc41 and 4 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,158 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    596

    you shouldn't have any problem doing that as long as the drive letter doesn't change it should be all good to go
     
  16. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    3,637 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,552
    Location:
    Washington, US
    If it's stupid, but it works, it's not stupid.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,871 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    949
    Location:
    Denmark....
    i found these HP DAT 72 at work plus dds cleaning cartridge :D

    so we got 3x72gb :roll: they r brand new not even unwrapped yet...

    [​IMG]
     
    _JP_, Ikaruga, stinger608 and 2 others say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,286 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,788
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. LegendofMadness

    LegendofMadness

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    36 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Hey All

    I'm fresh to this thread, so many awsume collections and gear here!

    I have an absolutely massive collection, around 60 CPU's, 50 Graphic cards/cards. 35 harddrives, 25 motherboards, and lots of everything. I have some systems such as Pentium 75s, Dual Pentium Pro 1mb Cache edition rig with a TN2 PCI Card (Soon to be a GT610 PCI :rockout:) Dual Pentium 3 1.4Ghz system with a 7800GS (Did have a 4670 AGP till the Bridge chip died), and a Pentium 4 3Ghz Lapped with a 3850 AGP (Massive overclock), Abit IC7 MAX 3, 4GB Ram.

    If someone really wants me to dig it all out and take high quality photos I sure can.


    This only a quarter of my CPU collection (Note a lot of CPU's here are stacked 3 - 4 high)

    [​IMG]

    P4 3Ghz, IC7-MAX3, 3850 AGP System

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2013
  20. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,286 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,788
    Location:
    Wyoming

    That is quite a collection of CPU's man!!! I am sure everyone is going to want more pictures. :laugh:

    Added ya to the original post bro!!! :respect::respect::respect:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,804 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    253
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I mis the days of 3dfx
    [​IMG]
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  22. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,063 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,185
    Location:
    Pune
    my first computer..

    AMD Athlon 3500+
    256MB RAM
    ECS motherboard.. no gfx

    back in 2007 :)

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2013
    _JP_, Peter1986C and stinger608 say thanks.
  23. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,730 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,537
    My first computer...

    Intel 8088 @ 4.77MHz
    256KB RAM
    IBM motherboard

    My first AMD socket PC had a 3200+. I loved it, those old socket A procs kicked ass. I did have a couple of slot-based Athlons, too.
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2013
    stinger608 says thanks.
  24. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,063 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,185
    Location:
    Pune
    i forgot the pic XD
     
  25. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,158 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    596
    If you ever need another COAST ( Cache On A Stick) I have one sitting here it's an 256K module I thought I had an 512K module aswell somewhere but can not find it just at this moment
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)