1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by stinger608, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,121 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,461
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    LOVE,LOVE,LOVE, :toast:LOVE:respect:

    ATHLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOONNN SLOT A wich core wich serie!!!!!11!!

    judging by the number it might be a Serie 2 Pluto Core just like mine but a 600mhz instead of 700mhz

    Slot A Athlon feels more premium than intel's slot1 ... metal IHS back and the HS mounting ... cooler master HS aswell? mine choped of a bit of my right index as i wrote previously :D
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
  2. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,831 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,369
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I haven't a clue what the core is for either of my Slot A procs. One is a 600 mhz and the other in the Win 98 rig is a 800 mhz. And the 600 does have a Cm hsf while the 800 had a cm hsf, I changed it to a Thermaltake golden Orb.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,121 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,461
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    give me a sec

    YAAAAAAAAAAHHHH LUCKY BASTARD! :wtf: (friendly said!)
    http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/K7/AMD-Athlon 600 - AMD-K7600MTR51B C.html

    ARGON serie 1!!!!!

    here is yours and mine aside in the CPU world comparison
    http://www.cpu-world.com/Compare/29...s_AMD_Athlon_700_MHz_(AMD-K7700MTR51B_A).html

    the 800 should be a Thunderbird (serie 4 iirc)
    this
    http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/K7/AMD-Athlon 800 - AMD-A0800MPR24B A.html Thunderbird model 4
    or that
    http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/K7/AMD-Athlon 800 - AMD-K7800MPR52B A.html Pluto model 2

    no biggies between them http://www.cpu-world.com/Compare/27...s_AMD_Athlon_800_MHz_(AMD-K7800MPR52B_A).html unless you look the spec comparison


    I SHALL... RESIST...
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-AMD-ATH...NEW-/400313721443?pt=CPUs&hash=item5d348ea263
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2013
    stinger608 and ThE_MaD_ShOt say thanks.
  4. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,831 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,369
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Yeah the 800 is a thunderbird as the number starts with A0800. :toast:


    Hell buy them all off ebay. LOL
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,057 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,433
    Location:
    Wyoming
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,121 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,461
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    i think i will scavenge on EBAY instead of Ricardo.ch ... tho international tend to screw me ... :laugh:
    stinger608 says thanks.
  7. Tiaan48 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    14 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    hey



    :clap:
    stinger608 says thanks.
  8. Doc41

    Doc41

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    430 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    305
    Location:
    Bahrain
    :wtf: I FINALLY FOUND IT
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Going to check if it works after i find a UHF\RCA cable, aand i need to read the manual to be able to use it
    GreiverBlade, Athlonite and stinger608 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,057 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,433
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Hello fellow codhead :toast:

    Also I had a E6300 that did 107% OC, in my sig.
    stinger608 and GreiverBlade say thanks.
  11. dorsetknob

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    268 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh?
    once had a P11 300 that was an awsome overclocker
    Bought it new installed it into a new motherboard and then set the jumpers so it ran at
    450Mhz used it at that speed for over 2 years then getto'ed extra cooling fans ( one each side of the standard fan) to make a total of 3 fans.
    then i upped the speed to see how high i could get it
    That damm thing run rock steady at 650Mhz for over a year
    when it was time to upgrade i down clocked it to 550Mhz and gave the board /mem/cpu to a good friend.
    He still has this set up running as his daughters pc (at 550Mhz)

    That was my second serious over clock first was a 486 66Mhz DX2 (got that to 100Mhz)

    Ah those were the days when you could get massive100%+ overclock on air
    These days your lucky if you can get a 25% overclock with water
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  12. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,121 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,461
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland

    my 1st OC was a 486DX 33mhz (my 1st win98 build :eek: since my 386 was a win3.1 build :D )

    i was clueless but i checked some hardware freaks BBS at the time (cant remember wich tho :eek: ) set some jumper and got it to 66mhz then got random shutdown and pretty much figured ou that the fanless heatsink werent enough, so i dismantled my old 386 build PSU and retrieved the 50mm fan that was in :roll: and used it to cool off the chip:p


    hummmm i have a HP SSF DC7700 (or something like that) i salvaged from the way to the dump at my job... it has a 6300 inside nyark nayahaha ... oh wait ... crap SSF HP mobo ... nevermind xD
    tigger says thanks.
  13. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,057 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,433
    Location:
    Wyoming

    Added you to the original post as a club member. :respect:

    For everyone that doesn't know, Tiaan has an awesome nostalgic build listed in the Case Mod Gallery seen here:

    http://www.techpowerup.com/gallery/3681.html

    Very sweet ole nostalgic build. Everyone should jump over to the gallery and give Tiaan a vote on his old school build. :rockout:
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,121 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,461
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    cool :rockout: cheers :toast: AND.....

    TADAAAAAA!
    [​IMG]

    Hercules 3D Prophet II GTS Pro 64mb (1chf end price ... eh??? ok ok i will pay 10chf total ... 9chf delivery for 1chf card GOLDEN!!!!)

    now i need a Slot A ... huhuhu ...
    Apocalypsee, Ikaruga, _JP_ and 2 others say thanks.
  15. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,831 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,369
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,121 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,461
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    i've found some good auction on Ebay but AS I ALLWAYS SAY INTERNATIONAL TEND TO SCREW ME!

    i cant have a paypal account and if they accept a payement via Efinance with a IBAN its all good but... cause there is a butt (double T intended for funny moment ,... or not) only those with a insane price (way overrated) accept it and other : paypal only...

    murphy i like you but could you let me go and stop screwing all i try to do....
  17. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,920 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    482
    I gotta a GA-7N400pro2 with an athlon 3200+ sittin gaterin dust GreiverBlade problem though PnP from New Zealand might be a just a tad on the exorbitant side LOL
    stinger608 and GreiverBlade say thanks.
  18. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,121 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,461
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    my Athlon retro build running atm is on a MSI KT6V400 with a Athlon XP barton 2200+ with a Sapphire Radeon X800GT on win xp pro

    im searching a Slot A not a Socket A :) but thanks for the thought ;)

    indeed new zealand > switzerland post rate could be overkill :) thats why i say "international delivery allways screws one side or the other" ahah i found some nice Slot A board on Ebay but the post rate double or triple the price :eek: maybe the one i found on UK would be the cheapest, still "paypal only" i might contact the seller and ask if a international bank transfer via IBAN is possible... in switzerland post account hav a IBAN and authorize worldwide transaction (in and out) and less taxes than bank direct transfer or paypal
    Athlonite says thanks.
  19. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,245 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,412
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  20. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,121 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,461
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    my first video card was a uh ... integrated Cirrus Logic in a Commodor 386SX desktop
    then i had another Cirrus in a 486DX and a wooping SIS3D Pro AGP in my K6-2 rig (1st one i assembled myself) wich was followed by a TNT-TNT2-Geforce256-GF2 MX440-GF4 Ti4200- and then i went on a Athlon A FX5600-FX5900 then a Athlon XP FX5950 ultra X1900GT (or something like that ... dont remember :D )
  21. Ikaruga

    Ikaruga

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    868 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    I know it's not really hardware, but I just found a bunch of floppy disks in a commode (what I was about to drop out because of a community cleanup). They probably spent the last 15 years there. Here are some of them :toast:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  22. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,831 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,369
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Alright guys I posted up a couple nostalgic combos in the f/s section. :toast:
    stinger608 and Ikaruga say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,180 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    391
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I've got here an ASRock 865pe board...kind of nostalgic, and very rare. I included it installed with DDR400 and a 7800GS. Also a 6600GT, 6800GT, and a 933Mhz PIII. Am I in?! :cool:

    Attached Files:

    _JP_, ThE_MaD_ShOt, stinger608 and 2 others say thanks.
  24. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,057 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,433
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Awesome hardware Junkie! Added ya to the original post man. :respect::respect::respect:
    rtwjunkie says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  25. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,180 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    391
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Thank you stinger! I believe I've got an old PIII Via board stored away, along with one of the 1.13Ghz PIII's. I think that was the highest clocked III if I'm not mistaken. I'll post pics when I dig them out.
    stinger608 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (2 members and 3 guests)

FreedomEclipse, debs3759

Share This Page