1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by stinger608, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    I just got given an old tower, which has the following in it-

    Asus A8v skt939 board
    Amd Athlon 64 4000+
    Arctic freezer 64 cooler
    4x1GB DDR400
    Geforce fx5200-AGP
    80GB WD caviar

    And two dvd drives. Just needs a PSU, then I'll see what it can do :p

    Will post pics as soon as I can.
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2013
    stinger608 says thanks.
  2. MidnightSky New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    I used to have a Athlon 64 with a 5200 agp, looking forward to pics :toast:
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2013
    stinger608 says thanks.
  3. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    The board is AGP, just edited to add that. I am looking forward to testing it/overclocking it.
     
  4. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,273 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I love nostalgic hardware! I too am looking forward to your testing, tigger.
     
  5. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    I'm on the athlon rig now :) It boots up fine.

    [​IMG]

    No cam yet though :(
     
    _JP_, ThE_MaD_ShOt, rtwjunkie and 3 others say thanks.
  6. Apocalypsee

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    111 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Some old hardware I got collecting dust. If only I got an AGP rig it would be sweet

    3D Blaster Voodoo Banshee
    [​IMG]

    Radeon 7500
    [​IMG]

    Rage 128 PCI 32MB
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    stinger608, _JP_, MidnightSky and 2 others say thanks.
  7. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,435 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,469
    gotta realize i was 15 when I owned that card, its been 13 years since then
     
    Chevalr1c and GreiverBlade say thanks.
  8. Apocalypsee

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    111 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Clean up my room and found this, an ASUS SP97-V socket 7 motherboard, I used to play Red Alert 2 on this, loading took 15 minutes, to build power plant took another 15 minutes :laugh:

    CPU with integrated heatsink, modern CPU should come with this :D

    [​IMG]

    Pentium 100MHz no integrated heatsink alongside its heatsink cousin 166MHz

    [​IMG]

    DIP switch overclocking FTW alongside pipeline burst cache on top

    [​IMG]

    One socket to rule them all; Intel, IBM, Cyrix, AMD, you name it it's supported :D (3.5V Vcore OMGWTF :twitch:)

    [​IMG]
     
    _JP_, GreiverBlade, stinger608 and 6 others say thanks.
  9. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,846 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,393
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Good stuff you have there. :toast:
     
    Apocalypsee says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,140 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,553
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Couldn't agree more Mad Shot!!!

    Apocalypsee, very awesome nostalgia there man.
    Added you to the original post bro. :respect:
     
    Apocalypsee says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,610 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,229
    Got two unopened PCI cards. Opened one of them to take shots, plus I think I will use it.


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  12. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,846 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,393
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,196 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,542
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    FRIIIIIIIIIIIIIICCCKKK i love that box! i owned one but when i moved stuff to my new home my dad just throwed it away thinking it was just a old junk ... DUH i think i have to throw away his Elvis Vinyl collection to show him what it is to break the heart of a nostalgic person!!!

    DUBBLE DUH i have countless WinXP Pro license now ... i found another HP SSF DC7100 (the Skt775 P4 version) to add to the DC7700c buuuuttt i cant find my XP pro dvd ... i guess i use Homeko instead ...

    meanwhile ... MICROSOFT IS ANNOYING ME ! i assembled the "Nemesis retrobuild" (finaly ...) installed WinXP HE and actived it ... still i hate service pack ... i have to download them from one of the "modern" rigs because:

    to install SP1a you need to passe via the update center reach update center you need at last IE8, to use IE8 you need at last SP2 ... WHAAATTTTT!!! :wtf: thats totaly counterproductive!!!!:banghead:(i know i can DL SP3 without DL SP1/1a/2 but still the 1st part is ... )

    and i also need to find another socket A cooler ... the Titan silver orb is a screaming little pest! triple duh:roll:

    i have a AGP sibling or ... evil twin ... the MSI OEM FX5200 i showed in a previous post :D with samsung ramchip instead of elixir also
     
    Apocalypsee and stinger608 say thanks.
  14. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,140 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,553
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. SKBARON

    SKBARON

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    183 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Chisinau, Moldova
  16. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,932 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    490
    I'll see your 4MB EDO simm and raise you an 256KB L2 DIP chip
     
  17. SKBARON

    SKBARON

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    183 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Chisinau, Moldova
    The oldest hardware I had was an IBM Aptiva 2159-18R with 48MBof of EDO simm, 1 32MB stick and another 16MB, 2MB video courtesy of Ati Rage and an 8Gb Hdd which I killed, used to play Starcraft on that machine, and old DOS games, loved Doom and especially Mech Warrior 2. Still have the keyboard though, works like a charm :).
     
  18. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,446 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,153
    I see your 256KB L2 DIP chip and raise you a tube of Intel 8086s.
     
  19. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Here's the athlon system, no pretty but it works.

    [​IMG]
     
    GreiverBlade, stinger608 and _JP_ say thanks.
  20. Warrgarbl

    Warrgarbl

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    94 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    I have an old Pentium 120Mhz Notebook with 8MB of RAM, a VESA compatible graphics card, a sound blaster 16 (!!) and an 800x600 color display. Even the battery works! My fathers neighbour just came up to me and said "Look, I have this old notebook, it's REALLY old but... want it?" I had a look at it and said "YES YES YES OMG!" - and he was like "Ooookaaaay?".

    Anyway, he was the boss of a local bank and it used to be company property so given that and the hardware specs it must have been very expensive when it was new. Looks as good as new, too, and came with a carrying bag and an old mouse.

    We moved recently, but I like to use that machine to run Win98 and to play all the old DOS games natively :) Will see if I can find it at home and post a few pics.
     
    GreiverBlade and stinger608 say thanks.
  21. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,196 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,542
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    something picked up my attention Tigger
    the PSU is a FSP i see, what "w"? :D i ask because i have a spare 250w FSP and i cant read it on that pics xD the fan grill looks like its a "screwed on it" wich could be different than the one i have, mine is "cut in the psu casing"

    edit: indeed its a 350w now i can barely see it xD i use a crappy LC power 350w on my athlon XP setup if my FSP wasnt 250w i would totaly use it over the LC :rolleyes:

    little additions.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    swapped the crappy fan i had on the back and door for 2 coolink Swiff120 (front intake is a Cooler Master 120)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    a bit cleaner than before and now i had found some DDR 512mb so i have 1gb atm and im writing that post on it :D

    new guy in the house not so nostalgic since i got it under Win7
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    AMD Athlon x2 4850e 4gb ram radeon HD3600 serie i will add more details when i will get my hands on it :D
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2013
  22. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,932 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    490
    You win :roll::toast:
     
    Random Murderer and ThE_MaD_ShOt say thanks.
  23. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,846 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,393
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    That Athlon Xp rig is screaming for another proc that or the one in there could be underclocked by lets say Alot.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,196 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,542
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    yeah yeah i know its underclocked originaly it was at 1.7 and now 1.26 dunno why didnt bothered to check atm ;)

    good news the case of the new one seems to be a Antec NSK380 i got the whole rig for 80$ pretty happy about that one :D
    good news scnd: the mobo seems to be a Asus M3N78-VM wich support the Phenom II X4 955 i have (i know pointless xD) but it also support the Phenom X4 9600b i found for 1$ :p
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2013
  25. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,971 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,009
    Location:
    Oregon
    Gigabyte K7 Triton with a Athlon XP 2500+

    [​IMG]
     
    stinger608, _JP_, GreiverBlade and 3 others say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page