1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by stinger608, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. Veeshush

    Veeshush

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    23 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    stinger608 just messaged me and told me about this thread. Wow, I'm loving this stuff! I got into computers when my dad bought his first 486, which I still have around and is currently hooked up. Then I ran a super socket 7 and a socket 370 system for years, I think I ran Win98 till 2006! I didn't even have an XP system till I built my first gaming rig, which then a year later Vista came out. Then I went back and "maxed out" the socket 7 and 370, and both of them are still running. Mainly I just always wanted these rigs to fly back when I first used them, and now they do.

    When I get a chance I'll get some pictures and go a lot deeper into specs and stuff. I can tell you guys this though: Those modern PCI nvidia cards, like ZOTAC ZT-60604-10L GeForce GT 610 512MB 64-bit DDR... will work on boards as old as socket 7 (you just need a pci 2.3 slot I believe and an OS for the drivers). But ideally you'll want to go no older than socket 370, cause you'll want the SSE instructions on the CPU (pentium III is the oldest to have this). So for a system with a AMD k6 (no SSE), you won't be able to run anything 3d- the drivers bluescreen. Modern ATI/AMD cards, in my experience, won't go on anything older than a socket 370.

    And for OS, WinXP will run on socket 7 if you have at least 512 ram. Vista and Win7 will run on socket 370/Pentium III rigs, only you probably won't like it. Win8 WANTS SSE2, so I wouldn't bother, however I did get it running on a socket 370 but it crashed every so often. So I use Fedora 19 i686 instead, and it works pretty well.

    For older systems, I use the fanmade "Unofficial Windows 98 SE Service Pack"

    or
    ^That. I have gotten Damn Small Linux to boot and run on a 486 with 16mb ram (I later maxed it out to 36mb). These older rigs though have shoddy old cd-rom drives that have trouble running live cds, so I'd replace them first to make installation quicker and less error prone.

    There's also: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tiny_Core_Linux which seems to be more frequently worked on.
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2013
    stinger608 and GreiverBlade say thanks.
  2. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,375 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I love DSL. I had it running on a 486DX with 16MB RAM for a while.
  3. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    526 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    Canada
    The DSL is it like Xubuntu on the way it looks and icons and functions work? If yes I could possibly put into an older Dell for a kid.
  4. Veeshush

    Veeshush

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    23 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    http://distrowatch.com/table.php?distribution=damnsmall

    How old of a system are we talking about though? Cause I'd say just go for Fedora i686 or something instead.
  5. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    526 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    Canada
    Dell P4-478 2.53 celeron 512megs ddr333 with onboard graphic. It needs to be easy enough to be understood by a 10 yo kid that I am not living near. So I can't go there each time to explain.
  6. Veeshush

    Veeshush

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    23 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Oh, don't go DSL if it's actually for a 10 year old.

    Just put Ubuntu or Fedora on, I know Fedora doesn't chew up more than 512 ram normally. The CPU is beefy enough for sure. Both will do anything Windows will, besides heavy gaming. You may even be able to play something like Minecraft on it, maybe Cube 2: Sauerbraten (and this only depending how good the onboard is) And Flash for youtube and games for sure.

    The kid is probably going to want games. Hell, I'd want games.
  7. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    526 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    Canada
    The computer is jamming even on Google Chrome. So I need to find something good. My bad about GPU its a 64megs AGP 4X...still better than the onboard.
  8. Veeshush

    Veeshush

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    23 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    The web browsers are ram hungry, so it's probably the ram doing it.

    Whatever you pick though, even if it's easy to understand- if it's boring as piss then no ten year old is going to use it anyway.

    edit

    Try this for a web browser as a last resort:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dillo
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2013
    Chevalr1c and JunkBear say thanks.
  9. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,924 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,258
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland

    WELCOME! :toast: and i LOVE DSL too!
  10. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,847 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    946
    Location:
    Washington, US
    Windows is surprisingly tolerant of slow hardware. Not quite to the extent that Linux can be (I really have to emphasize can though). I have a Socket 370 which is actually quite fun to play with. 1,400 MHz Pentium III-S. Not a big deal or anything. Just the fastest mass produced Socket 370 processor EVER MADE.
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. Veeshush

    Veeshush

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    23 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    YEP I am home here! I got one too, granted I bought it in 2008 or so for very cheap compared to back then. Love that thing though.
  12. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,946 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,326
    Location:
    Wyoming
    :toast: First, welcome to the club Veeshush! :respect:

    Can't wait to see some pictures of the ole hardware bro! :respect::respect::respect:
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. xenocide21 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Radeon X1650 Pro 512MB agp 8x
  14. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,924 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,258
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    well my PIII Slot1 run flawlessly under XP home with "only" 256mb and a Rage LT for my other "old" rig XP does fine too (what do you expect ... its a Athlon "XP" rig xD)

    damn i need to be more active i missed that guess competition :D

    also i revived a ACER Aspire 5735Z using win XP and a Core 2 Duo T7250 (originaly it come with a Pentium T3200) i love my local dump :D like new but under 7 the LCD Inverter was going disco while under XP it doesnt ... i need to DL a image of vista to try it also xD

    before
    [​IMG]

    after
    http://valid.canardpc.com/mceveb
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2013
    _JP_ and stinger608 say thanks.
  15. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    526 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    Canada
    I got a cfl tube for 15$ and another 15$ for an inverter shipping included on ebay. 30$ to revive the screen.
  16. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,946 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,326
    Location:
    Wyoming
    bump this up for the new forums :p
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. m1919

    m1919

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    62 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Fascist North America
    I ran Windows 7 Ultimate for a time on dual 700Mhz P3 Xeons. Pretty snappy for a 15-year-old platform.
    stinger608 says thanks.
  18. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,847 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    946
    Location:
    Washington, US
    Oh, yes. I bought mine off eBay for approximately $5 a couple years ago, I believe. They're not practical by any means, but they're fun. I think the P3-S works in dual-cpu boards too. I'd like to do a nostalgia build some day like that.

    We have a dual P3 server at work that I stuck Debian on and it did a rather good job as an internal server until the head honcho came down and said "Why are you still using that thing? Stick that upstairs. You can't do anything with that!"
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. m1919

    m1919

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    62 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Fascist North America
    Now I'm looking for oldskool tower cases. Specifically the old Gateway 2000 stuff.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  20. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,594 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,796
    Location:
    Oregon
    That is a dream. Beige cases are going to make a comeback someday
  21. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    Awesome!
    IIRC, akasa had a 3.5'' card reader with a beige cover...would go neat in one of those cases.
  22. Compgeke

    Compgeke

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    107 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    147
    I used to have a P5-100, but I was like 9 at the time and ripped it apart and now I have nothing left to show of it.

    It was a pretty decent case though, had enough room for a Dual Athlon MP system I threw into it at one point and then some.
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  23. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,378 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,083
    stinger608 says thanks.
  24. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,924 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,258
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    agreed, my 2 laptop with PII : linux only but PIII starting with 450mhz to XXXXmhz run fine with XP, just like my Veriton board and "only" 256mb ram + a RageLT

    sidenote: that would be weird that a PIII would not run fine XP and a Athlon Pluto core would ... i know intel suck big time ... oh wait nonononono NO i did not mean that! i meant AMD was a BIG shot with the K7 ... then ... void and emptiness, still good but not the excellency from the K6-2/III, Athlon and Athlon XP, sad sad ... so now everytime i think about AMD im filled with nostalgia of the past time when they where a good competitor for Intel
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  25. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,378 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,083
    AMD was pretty rare here until the XP:s came along and crapped all over the P4:s.
    xvi and stinger608 say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page