1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by stinger608, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,564 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,272
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    chaintech? i remember when i was in college and i saw purple soltek board and its really cool at that time

    yeah you should have enough daylight to get a nice shot, and welcome to TPU
  2. MaxiPro800

    MaxiPro800

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    48 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Chaintech makes pretty good boards.Sadly they don't make boards anymore,and their site is dead
    Before this Chaintech board,I went through 5 Socket 478 boards which didn't work right,or lacked AGP.I need AGP since I use this retro PC on my TV (a Magnum CRT TV,I guess it's retro too)to play PSX games,SNES games and other retro systems.Right now it runs XP SP3 and I have installed pSX 1.13 and Abe's Oddysee.Next to get are SNES,Megadrive 1 and 2,Genesis, and NES.
    I noticed pSX 1.13 runs really nice on a TV,just need to see if ATI Tray Tools can make my card use PAL60,as normal PAL is slow for pSX,and NTSC gives a B/W image.
  3. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    531 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Canada
    Man if I had money in spare I would have send you a free Pentium 2.4 gigs 478 instead of your celeron and some nice memory sticks.
  4. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,943 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    IMG_20140116_132036.jpg IMG_20140116_132052.jpg IMG_20140116_132045.jpg
    aherm ... overkill again? need a 2nd Kama :D
    Doc41 says thanks.
  5. MaxiPro800

    MaxiPro800

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    48 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    You don't need to.I have a 2.66 Celeron D(skt478 btw),should get it running some time.
  6. MaxiPro800

    MaxiPro800

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    48 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Well,because I was bored and had nothing to do I took a few pictures of my Chaintech retro rig.I'm extremely sorry for the quality of the pictures,but this is all my tablet can do.

    Attached Files:

    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  7. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,950 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,333
    Location:
    Wyoming

    Nice Max!!! Looking forward to pictures and adding ya to the original post. :rockout:

    God, I must be brain dead tonight! Just noticed after I posted that you already had pictures. Might try and take some with your cell phone though.

    And.......Adding you to the original post man!!! :respect: :respect: :respect:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. MaxiPro800

    MaxiPro800

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    48 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Well,my cellphone has a camera that was even worse (2 megapixels) than the tablet,and it uses IR to transfer pics,which I can't use as I don't have any system that uses IR.Weirdly,the tablet makes videos in the best quality possible.Sadly I lost the USB cable to it.
    On the other side,here's the wallpaper I use on the Chaintech rig.
    Fits just nice on the TV screen I use!

    Edit:Just installed the PC in my bedroom.I need to find a power cord though.

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 17, 2014
    stinger608 says thanks.
  9. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,943 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    opteron 250 shipped incoming next week ...

    now i think i will charge my paypal again and take 2 80mm Arctic F8 .. dang on Ebay they are 6.60chf free shipping from UK and from Etailer in switzerland they are 10-12chf (a piece)... duurrrr taxes!#
    if i sell some more stuffz i might be able to take either a PCI Matrox or ATI even found some 3Dfx Voodoo Rush/Banshee, hell i will never run on a integrated RageXL 8mb if i can have 64 or more mb on PCI, or a professional PCI-X 3D accelerator display card ...

    or ... i can also find a 3Dfx Voodoo 1-2 and chain the RageXL on it ... o_O

    is it wrong to want that on a fileserver :D
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2014
    stinger608 says thanks.
  10. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,382 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,121
    Is it wrong to want to play nostalgic games on the hardware they were designed to run on?
    Doc41, GreiverBlade and stinger608 say thanks.
  11. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,943 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    ahahah Random Murderer i like you! (wait is it not the second time i write that?) in a nostal'bro way.

    fun things: i noticed a TY-147 140mm Thermalright fan fit right into the 5.25 bay of the rack ... since it has a 120mmx140mm dimension and the best : no need to fix it, it's so tight that he hold in place perfectly
    IMG_20140117_224549.jpg IMG_20140117_224725.jpg IMG_20140117_224747.jpg
    bonus pics the cover and a pics thru a hole of the cover ... i love my SIII :D

    since the In Win was a bit overkill i think i put the CM GX lite 600w for the moment, also back to standard heatsink, the Kama is really too big even for a 4u rack :D waiting on the 2 250 and the 2nd copper server heatsink
    IMG_20140117_224647.jpg

    Attached Files:

    Doc41 and stinger608 say thanks.
  12. Bones

    Bones

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    62 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Alabama
    Got my problems sorted with the Premio (I think) and will do an XP install with it tomorrow - Then it's off to the snail races for some 32M Super PI! :laugh:
    stinger608 says thanks.
  13. MaxiPro800

    MaxiPro800

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    48 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Changed the CPU on my Chaintech system.Back when I used the 1.7 Celeron I experienced a whole lot of freezes and system was running like a snail.Installed a Celeron D 2.66GHz and now I don't have any freezes,and Windows runs perfectly.
    stinger608 says thanks.
  14. Bones

    Bones

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    62 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Alabama
    OK, got XP on it and the machine seems capable of using it as is.
    Seemed to take forever to do the install but now it's done - Just a few more details to sort such as digging out a mouse that will work with it. :laugh:
    stinger608 says thanks.
  15. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,207 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    Oh man, that is so sexy! I remember when that came out! Ugh, those were the good old days when upgrading to AMD made an incredible difference!
    GreiverBlade and stinger608 say thanks.
  16. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,943 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    also you mean the time where even a PGA940 with DDR1, due to the Hypertransport and integrated memory controller, was on par with the whole new LGA771 with DDR2 and woodcrest Xeon when using less than 6gb ram and unbuffered stick

    in addition of the 250 i might be able to get 2 275 and 8x1gb ECC more but i have to wait on answers ... about shipping :D not UK this time .... Australia and Japan ...

    i .. i .... i .... i ..... *faint*
    $_3.JPG $(KGrHqQOKpME4vVT7Z0gBOQfOJz)Sw~~0_12.JPG
    WHYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY SO PRICEY!!!!! DUUUUUUUURRRRR (edit obvious reason is obvious (tm) oh well i will take a Radeon 9000 or a GF 5500 PCI if i can't have a Kyro/Millenium/rush/banshee/virge/64/tnt2.... :D )

    oh welll ... mix graphic/soundcard ? strange never seen em
    $(KGrHqEOKpIFJdBE4R(zBSbScTEIwQ~~60_57.JPG
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2014
    Doc41 and stinger608 say thanks.
  17. MaxiPro800

    MaxiPro800

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    48 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    For that video/sound card in the picture,read this:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Asus_Media_Bus
    GreiverBlade and stinger608 say thanks.
  18. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    531 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Canada
    IMAG0120.jpg IMAG0124.jpg IMAG0157.jpg
    Doc41, PHaS3, stinger608 and 2 others say thanks.
  19. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,943 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    weirdest idea ever... i don't write it but i put some hints in form of pics
    $_12.JPG !CCDrobw!mk~$(KGrHqQOKkQE0,97I1w0BNJ5ygCpCQ~~_12.JPG d626ca12939bbf967eeb023d8d49f508.jpg !BjUYcs!CGk~$(KGrHqEOKisEsmV!PRVsBLTGj+uvvg~~_12.JPG
  20. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,564 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,272
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  21. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,943 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    PLX chip ... i know you can bridge a pciE to a AGP so i came up with the idea that nearly every bus can be bridged ... tho it's quite expensive even on ebay ... specialy the PCI-X to X16


    1.93$ atm ... got it ... oh well that might do it till i am back in business for a PLX PCI-X to X16, PCI XFX FX5200 128mb still better than a RageXL 8mb :D
    $_12.JPG

    Received the 2nd heatsink, 2 Arctic F8 ordered, waiting on the 2 Opteron and the ram, should arrive between tomorrow and friday
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2014
    stinger608 says thanks.
  22. Bones

    Bones

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    62 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Alabama
    Got a mouse that works with the Premio today from work and the only real detail left is to either find my PCI slot USB add-on card or get another one. Although I could load the needed programs and transfer screenies as is, would probrably take all day to do it that way.
    Otherwise it's ready to go.
    GreiverBlade and stinger608 say thanks.
  23. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    531 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Canada
  24. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,943 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    EBAY : expensive and i did not see PciE to AGP (no real purpose i assume since its easier to find a cheap PciE gpu than a AGP and even the cheapest would be on par with a high end AGP card or slightly above... unlike PciE on PCI/PCI-X)

    update: received the ECC ram and the Xeon. while the ram doesn't fit for 128bit dual channel in 64bit single channel they pass fine but i get 3072mb at the post instead of 4096 i think one stick is defective i need to identify it

    Xeon: Prestonia core 2400D/512/533/1.5V SL72D HT 1core 2threads
    http://ark.intel.com/products/27270/Intel-Xeon-Processor-2_40-GHz-512K-Cache-533-MHz-FSB
    http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/Xeon/Intel-Xeon 2.4 GHz - RK80532KE056512 (BX80532KE2400D - BX80532KE2400DU).html
    IMG_20140123_122639.jpg
    that's a relief those are 32bit crap pile of silicon from Intel : i don't need to find a board for them ahah :roll: :D still they make a good addition to my cpu collection.

    and since it's my free day and i am bored let's do a recap:

    CPU L to R PIII 450 and 600, Athlon 700 Athlon X2 4850e duo Prestonia Xeon, 775 P4 478 P4, 2x 478Celeron D mobile PII, Pentium MMX Cyrix MII-300GP, I486 mobile Pentium 150.
    IMG_20140123_124503.jpg IMG_20140123_124509.jpg IMG_20140123_124513.jpg

    The Hercule Trio (no no not Hercule Poirot)sideview ... only vanity shot to show my limited edition of Appleseed n°: 725 :pimp::oops:
    IMG_20140123_124430.jpg IMG_20140123_124442.jpg

    damn i love that cooler ... it look like a V8 (but more silent.... ahah )
    IMG_20140123_124530.jpg
    i guess i install WinXP on the server for the moment to test the hardware.
    IMG_20140123_124539.jpg

    finaly cpu family shot
    IMG_20140123_124454.jpg
    also showing that i did find back my Leadtek Winfast A350 128TDH

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 23, 2014
    Apocalypsee, Doc41, stinger608 and 2 others say thanks.
  25. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,382 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,121
    Spotted it in one of your pics and thought I'd ask:
    Are you as bummed as I am that the Hellgate servers were taken down and there are no private servers?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page