1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by stinger608, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. silentbogo

    silentbogo

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    128 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Jeez, I've actually used 14.4K USRobotics for years. The thing was a present from a friend. It was impossible to find proper drivers for it, so I had to use generic driver under Win98(which didn't completely work) and do ATDPxxxxxxxxxx every time, because it won't dial automatically.
  2. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,950 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,332
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Awesome that it worked after changing the caps!
    I have added you to the original post bro. :respect:


    @Apocalypsee: Some awesome ole hardware you found in your dad's shop!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,950 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,332
    Location:
    Wyoming

    Shoot some pictures and post them up man!!! :peace:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,942 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland

    hey boss ... you double posted ... tsk tsk ;)
    stinger608 says thanks.
  5. MaxiPro800

    MaxiPro800

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    48 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Well,good news and bad news:

    Good:I found a VIA based S478 motherboard,a MSI P4MAM-V
    Bad:It doesn't work.(board won't turn on by power button,green and black must be shorted on ATX plug and won't post)

    So,here's the specs at this moment:
    CPU:Celeron D 2.66GHz
    MB:MSI P4MAM-V v2(P4M266A chipset,S3 ProSavage onboard I think)
    RAM:2x256 MB DDR400 (Sycron/Hynix)
    Video card:ATI Radeon 7000 for AGP,S3 Trio 64 for PCI
    Network:Realtek 8139D
    HDD:Seagate ST310211A
    DVD:TSSTCorp SH-S182D (ain't this a Samsung or LG drive?)
    There's also a broken LTN-486S CD-ROM,which is just for show.
    Cooler on this system is the stock Intel cooler.

    I also have an working board(Gigabyte GA-6WMMC7-E1,Socket 370) but which is OEM,thus useless.
    stinger608 and GreiverBlade say thanks.
  6. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    279 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Jyväskylä, Finland
    Yeah, that computer runs now like brand new, too bad that motherboard is purely meant for office use, it doesn't even have an AGP slot :( well, at least a working rig for emergency use :)
    stinger608 says thanks.
  7. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,942 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    LESS CHATTER MOAR PICZ!!!!!!
    JunkBear and Jetster say thanks.
  8. broken pixel

    broken pixel

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    287 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    198
    Location:
    Nebulas
    I bet i still have my 800 baud modem I used for my C-64 somewhere? When the internet was all text.
    stinger608 says thanks.
  9. MaxiPro800

    MaxiPro800

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    48 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    When I can get my P4i45D+to work,I'll post a BIOS screen and a shot of the desktop.This board is funny because while it uses 845D chipset (we all naturally know that a normal 845 board,such as a P4B533 won't work with Prescott CPUs)it can work with Prescott CPUs.

    The problem with my board is that it doesn't like my RAM sticks.2 of them make the board produce 3 beeps (AMIBIOS,3 beeps means no RAM detected),1 makes the board turn on a few secs,turn off and on again and the last stick makes the board reboot and doesn't POST.2 sticks are DDR400 and 2 are DDR266.Any help?
  10. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,942 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    you know a pics is ... this:
    IMG_20140209_131835 2.jpg

    oh wait not nostalgic ... but you get the idea ;) NOW TO YOUR CAMERA! (phone or true camera!)
  11. typicalintrovert

    typicalintrovert

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    77 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Flagstaff,Arizona
    My Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P Rev 1.6. Bought it in 2009 and will never get rid of it. Core 2 Duo E7200 4.2Ghz, Core 2 Quad Q9550 4.6Ghz, with lots of punishment including 1.65v on the northbridge alone, and not once did it die, until one fateful day a power surge took its life--was during a monsoon, and i didnt have enough money at the time for a second UPS to run my secondary rig off of, so it died :(

    Attached Files:

    Ahhzz, stinger608 and GreiverBlade say thanks.
  12. MaxiPro800

    MaxiPro800

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    48 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    All I have is my USB webcam and my tablet's camera.(which is as bad that even my webcam does pics better)
  13. silentbogo

    silentbogo

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    128 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Ok. Here we go.
    You've asked for some pics, and Thy giveth to you, mortals:
    IMG_0036.JPG IMG_0037.JPG IMG_0043.JPG IMG_0048.JPG
    This is my backup workhorse. Sempron 2500+ / 512 MB RAM / Radeon 9600 / 80 GB HDD
    Runs Fedora 20.1
    _JP_, JunkBear, GreiverBlade and 3 others say thanks.
  14. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,950 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,332
    Location:
    Wyoming


    Awesome hardware guys!!! I have added both of you to the original post. :respect: :respect: :respect:
    silentbogo says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. silentbogo

    silentbogo

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    128 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    I had a Warrior Motherboard too. GA-P35-DS3 got fried by lightning, but served another 5 years with dead PCI and Ethernet ports. With some parts permanently disabled it was putting out higher overclocks than back when everything worked!!!
    stinger608 says thanks.
  16. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,381 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,934
    Location:
    Mexico
    My new retro rig: Scraps!

    [​IMG]

    Build from hw I had lying around no longer in use and an actual scrap: I got the IC7-G at a electronics scrap yard when I went to drop a few things. The guy had it in the front table and I asked if he would sell it and agreed on $5 :D It actually works if you're wondering.

    Specs:

    - Abit IC7-G w Enzotech heatsinks applied + new northbridge HSF
    - Pentium 4 3.4E Presscott
    - 4GB mushkin Redline PC-5000 (DDR500)
    - X-Fi XtremeMusic (I loved that card so much)
    - 2x Gigabyte iRAM w/4GB each. I plan to run these in RAID 0 and install XP on them :D
    - Sapphire HD3850 AGP. Extremely overkill, I know. I had found an HD2600XT AGP on a flea market and had decided to sell the 3850 and use the 2600XT instead but then I thought that the 3850 would make a more impressive build, if only for the size :peace:
    - Scythe Ninja 2. I got it wanting to use it on my GreenTea build but it didn't fit inside the case by about 2mm :(
    - Samsung floppy drive. You can't say it's retro if you don't get one... plus I'll need it for setting up the RAID

    All this will be filling a Thermal Master case . Will start a log soon :peace:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. typicalintrovert

    typicalintrovert

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    77 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Flagstaff,Arizona
    Yeah they tend to do that :D my UD3P was able to wring 1150mhz out of mushkin redlines. and back then in the 775 days giga and mushkin were like oil and water, so 1150 was a struggle to get lol

    Thats some cool as hell hardware TRWOV
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2014
  18. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,294 (8.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,384
    Nice assortment! :toast:

    I call those rigs SPOT (Spare Parts Over Time) :D
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,381 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,934
    Location:
    Mexico
    That's actually a nicer name. :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. silentbogo

    silentbogo

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    128 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Holy crap! Is that iRAM? I've always wanted to have one of those!
    All thumbs up for the build. Post some benchmarks, when you're done.

    I had 3850 for a while and it was a little monster. Being a first revision stock single-slot card it was OC-ing so good,
    I had first place in HWBot single-card stats for like 3 months! It even outperformed my 2900XT.
    stinger608 says thanks.
  21. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,950 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,332
    Location:
    Wyoming


    Wow!!!!!!! That is sooooooo damn awesome bro!!!

    I am very interested to see how them Gigabyte iRams work. Will be interesting to see some speed results.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,381 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,934
    Location:
    Mexico
    build done, just a few touches left.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]


    Now to install the OS
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2014
    Capitan Harlock, PHaS3, _JP_ and 7 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,942 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    i got a good news from DHL, for my future Riowork Rhapsody HDAMA + the 2 Opteron 270, i will not have the custom taxes normally, because the total price is under 62,50chf (damn right 61,45chf is under 62,50chf) delivery under 7days after payment i need to wait around 2 days for the paypal actualization the auction end in 3 days ... i have to decide fast, but whatever i choose at max i should recieve the board around next wednesday or end of the next week... indeed that's a good new

    to stay on the pics (on topics ahahahah :roll:) i didn't know Tyan did graphic card ... the quality build seems rather good (obviously since Tyan Server board are among the best if not the best) ladies and gents: the Tyan Tachyon G9000 Pro
    $(KGrHqF,!nsFECuimfP,BRMHMJTSLw~~60_3.JPG $(KGrHqR,!hwFEFK3srv5BRMHNZgcJQ~~60_3.JPG $(KGrHqJ,!qwFDkjVw75MBRMHNbb7U!~~60_3.JPG $(KGrHqR,!hYFDuguSMpNBRMHNio(o!~~60_3.JPG

    i don't own it unfortunately ... too expensive even for a collection ... :cry: but i wanted to share this
    _JP_, Arjai and stinger608 say thanks.
  24. MaxiPro800

    MaxiPro800

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    48 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Does Tyan still make video cards and/or motherboards?
  25. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,382 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,121
    Not sure about video cards, but they're still a huge player in the server board industry.
    GreiverBlade says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page