1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by stinger608, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. Doc41

    Doc41

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    431 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    306
    Location:
    Bahrain
    All supported CPUs i looked for on ebay were expensive for me (atleast 40$ for Athlon 64x2 4400+\ 100$ for FX 60) but i did find an Athlon 64x2 3800+ for 19$ which i might buy..
    and i'll be messing around with what i got after lunch, will post CPUZ shots later
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,835 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,375
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Love my s939 rig also.

    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Bones

    Bones

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    62 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Alabama
    Most of the time this was true BUT the higher binner Optys had a tendency to run hotter thanks to their higher stock clockspeed if ran that way.
    For OC'ing the higher models were preferred since with the 165's max multi of 9X, you'd need a board capable of some high bus speeds to see it's real potential. If the board you had wasn't capable of that, the chip would never be able to run at the max speed it would be capable of reaching. I have three of these dual core Opty's myself (165,175,180) and they've been great with all three topping 3.2GHz no prob. I also have a pair of Opty 146 single core chips too I can run whenever I want.

    Personally I'd suggest at least a 170 or higher binned model to help offset problems with a deficient board if you want to OC but as long as the board you have can hit some high bus speeds, the 165 itself is great and it's the cheapest to get - That was it's greatest appeal back then from a $$ perspective and why so many had them.
    Anything from an Opty 175 and up, you're gonna pay for it nowadays.
  4. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,144 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,478
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    well for Doc41 yes :D

    for me as i use MP board : no settings for it i run 2 250 i intend to get either a new board with 2 270 or fetch some 280 and try it with the K8D and the lastest bios in date ... tho that setup feel sluggish ... i suspect the board to have some issues, even the Athlon XP rig feel snappier... oh right the XP has a Radeon X1950GT 512 ... but 768mb instead of 4gb, also i re put together the HP compaq DC7700p i finally found where the problem was: the embedded graphic from intel go south when you install the drivers and make the whole setup unstable ... so for the moment i put the FX 5200 PCI 128 and i will seek a little LP PciE X16 gpu for later :D
  5. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,102 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,495
    Location:
    Wyoming
    @ThE_MaD_ShOt: That did turn out to be such an awesome looking system bro!!!!!
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,835 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,375
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I mounted the hard drive now. it is a pretty sweet rig. I also have you to thank for the sweet ass board and gpu's.
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    314 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    178
    Location:
    Jyväskylä, Finland
    I had a crappy Opteron 144 (CABNE 0540) what didn't oc even 2.6GHz fully stable :D
    stinger608 says thanks.
  8. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,835 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,375
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I haven't tried to oc mine yet. It is under water so i have no ideal whats stopping me. LOL
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Backfire

    Backfire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    122 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    486
    Location:
    Hessen/ Germany
    A few days ago I've beheaded another 1€ A64 3700+ San Diego. Chip & cache were fine, but the package looked not very well. A few scars here & there ;).

    A64 3700+ San Diego #03 gek. 15.03 - 600 01.jpg

    But as you can see, it's working fine at 3,1GHz @ full CPU load.

    06.6 Stresstest 12.03.jpg

    Northbridge temps are fine, too.

    06.7 Temperaturen.jpg
  10. Doc41

    Doc41

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    431 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    306
    Location:
    Bahrain
    Round 1 (last round?)
    I got it fully stable 2GHz @ stock voltage (1.4v) but when i tried to get to 2.2GHz i got a BSOD, and actually kept getting them even when i went back to default values
    i didn't get a chance to increase voltage afterwards, and after a few tries it wouldn't even start (beeps indicating no RAM?)

    soooooo...... something went fubar or i killed it:roll:
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Backfire

    Backfire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    122 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    486
    Location:
    Hessen/ Germany
    Ok, I've got some pictures for you. Different pics of several systems I built over the last 2 1/2 years. Some are still running, some are not ready yet, but most of them are disassembled because its no fun climbing over 15 pc-cases just to get to the toilet ;). All parts are lying safe & dry in boxes in my "spare-parts-room". Just a few cases went over the silicium-bridge for I need sheet-metal for a soldering-project.

    First is my 486 where work is still in progress. It has been running for a while, but I need better hardware. So I'd say, status: waiting.

    486 ECS UM486V AIO, AMD-X5-133ADW, 32MB RAM 01 1200.jpg

    486 8x 4MB 30plg. SIMM 486er 1200.jpg

    486 AMD 486 DX-40 600.jpg

    486 AMD Am486 DX2-66 600.jpg

    486 AMD-X5-133ADW + Adapter best 1200.jpg

    The motherboard is just a VLB-board, and when I start working on this system again, I'vo got to get a better board, a better graphics adapter and I'm thinking of building this systems as a SCSI-sys. So I will have to look for HDD's, too.

    Next pics are some socket 7- boards. The well known Asus P55T2P4, the TX97-E and a FIC PA-2005.

    S7 Asus P55T2P4 K6-III+ 500MHz 256MB EDO Millennium II PCI Orchid 3D Maestro 0613 1200 00.jpg

    S7 TX97-E Wallpaper 1680.jpg

    S7 Asus TX97-E, K6-III+ 400ATZ, Oxygen 402, miro HISCORE 3D, Gravis Ultrasound MAX 2.1 1200b.jpg

    S7 FIC PA-2005 PCI 1200.jpg

    At the moment, there is no socket 7- system running. All are disassembled and put away to sleep ;).
    In my next posting I've got some pics of Super Socket 7- systems. See you over there ...
    Chevalr1c, 9700 Pro and stinger608 say thanks.
  12. Backfire

    Backfire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    122 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    486
    Location:
    Hessen/ Germany
    So now from baby AT to ATX! I like the SS7 because the systems look a little bit more "grown up" than the AT babies. It's the same with cars. If you got a car from 1930 it's sure a cool oldtimer, but the fun begins let me say at around 1960. They're still old, but there is something more, they look exciting (I have had an old car, an 1968 Opel Commodore Coupe) >

    commo68.jpg

    and there is enough power for a little fun (and if its broken you can fix it by yourself). Same with the Super Socket 7: hey, a P5A, GA-5Ax or a MVP3G2/5 with an 600MHz K6-III+, Voodoo 2 SLI and a nice copper-cooler is, for someone who likes hardware, sure a nice look. It has a little power for a game or two, and when its broken it is easy to fix ;).
    So here are some SS7- Systems:

    My first retro-system i've built was an Asus P5A rev.1.04 with an AMD K6-III+ 400ATz @600MHz, Voodoo SLI and a TerraTec soundsystem.

    SS7 05 Asus P5A K6-III+ 600MHz 3x256MB PC133 G400DH V2 SLI 0613 1200 01.jpg

    As I always liked Epox, these boards where a "must" for me (it took me 2 years to get my hands on a MVP3G5. In 2 Years, there where 2 on ebay and I lost both auctions at around 70Euros. At last I got one from a guy from the german AMD-board "P3D". 65€ wasn't really cheap, but these things are rare (at least in Germany).

    Epox EP-MVP3G-M>

    SS7 02 Epox EP-MVP3G-M K6-III 400 ELSA Victory Erazor miro HISCORE 3D AWE32 0513 1200 01.jpg

    Epox EP-MVP3G2>

    SS7 Epox EP-MVP3G2 K6-III+ 560MHz 384MB RAM Kyro I V2 SLI GUS 0613 1200 01.jpg

    and, "my precious", the EP-MVP3G5>

    SS7 MVP3G5 - K6 III+ - 3x 256MB Inf. CL2 - V770U - 2x V2 12MB - Maestro 3296 1000h.jpg

    For the MVP3G5- system I took the best parts I could imagine. My decision for the cooler was not easy, because nearly none of the fine coolers fits on the board. Originally I wanted to install an Akasa Silver Mountain II, but it didn't fit. At that time I didn't had a Silver Mountain I, now I got one and that gives me an idea ... . I've got to look if the little Silver Mountain fits (hehe).
    At least I took the, in Germany very rare, Kanie Hedgehog 238M. A very fine cooler, too (but it misses the "bling bling- factor of silver ;)).

    SS7Epox EP-MVP3G5, AMD K6-III+ 400ATZ, Kanie Hedgehog 238M,1200b.jpg

    As for the RAM the system got 3 doublesided Infineon PC133, CL2 modules with each 256MB.

    SS7 3x 256MB Infineon PC133  CL2 1200.jpg

    If you want to use 256MB modules on a MVP3- board, they have to be doublesided with 8 chips on each side.

    In my next posting I'm staying with the SS7 and I will post pictures of my tryouts with water and Peltier-cooling.
  13. Backfire

    Backfire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    122 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    486
    Location:
    Hessen/ Germany
    A few weeks ago I bought a cheap NMC- 5VMX motherboard at the bay. This one is identical to the Epox EP-MVP3G2 which is a very fine SS7- board with the VIA MVP3 chipset.

    Zwischenablage02.jpg

    After some not really successful experiments with socket A systems and peltier/- air- cooling I was curious about the effects of a tec1-12715 (about 110W true pumping-power) on a watercooled SS7- system.
    I also own a 3dfx Voodoo 3 3000 with 5,5ns RAM and wanted to test its overclocking capabilities under water. I thought it might be quite successful because this card is getting really hot, but I got it with a slightly modified air-cooling up to 200MHz.

    khleroben800i8uan.jpg

    And, last but not least, I thought maybe I could get some more out of an AMD K6-III+ than the popular 600MHz.
    First & short, I failed. But ...
    lets start from the beginning. First I had to mount the watercooler on the board.

    SS7 NMC- 5VMX (=Epox EP-MVP3G2), K6-III+ 400ATZ, Voodoo 3 3000 AGP, watercooled 1000h 01.jpg

    No problem, but wrong board. With a max. fsb of 112MHz the VIA-based NMC was not the board I needed. After some googleing and reading I found out, the Gigabyte GA-5AX could go, with some luck, up to 140MHz.
    One year or so ago I had built a system with a GA-5AX ...

    SS7 GA-5AX Kyro II V1 AWE32 K6-2 500 1200.jpg

    ..and, as boards have no legs, it was still there where I put it a year ago.
    After some cosmetic surgery the board looked ready for the warpath.

    SS7 Gigabyte GA-5AX -Kriegsbemalung- 05 1200b.jpg

    The watercooler fit quite well, but I had to make room for the Peltier. With 2 little pieces of sheet-metal I made 2 modified mounting clamps ...

    Haltebleche Wakü 8,5mm verlängern 500.jpg

    SS7 Wakü-Blech 600.jpg

    Haltebleche Wakü 8,5mm verlängern fertig 500.jpg

    SS7 GigaByte GA-5AX Benchi versus Höllenmaschine 1200.jpg

    and everything went fine. But, problems ... . First, if I would try to cool the CPU directly with the Pelt, the Voodoo card would get no cooling water, but hot sauce. Bad idea. So I had to get the graphics- adapter out of the circuit. Bye bye Voodoo.
    Second problem, the radiators. If the water-temperature should go under environment- temperature, the radiators will warm up the water. Solution would be a bypass to cut the radiators off from the circuit. All I needed was some tube and some connctors ... all I needed was some money ;).
    So, everything was a wild-goose chase (got this from the dictionary ;)), and I'll try again when I'm rich.

    Next posting will be about sunrise in dark pc-cases ...

    AMD Sunrise 1200.jpg

    so long ...
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2014
    Chevalr1c, 9700 Pro, Animalpak and 6 others say thanks.
  14. Bones

    Bones

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    62 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Alabama
    Nice stuff!
    Recently worked with my Socket 7 based Premio 219-H board and had a blast fooling with it. I was running into some issues with one or two of those still unresolved ATM but nothing I can't overcome if I put the effort into working around them. I will get it like I want one day.
    stinger608 says thanks.
  15. Backfire

    Backfire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    122 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    486
    Location:
    Hessen/ Germany
    Doc41, Chevalr1c, Animalpak and 2 others say thanks.
  16. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,144 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,478
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    [​IMG]

    from the 1st look i thought about a 3D Prophet 4000XT but it seems not, judging by the second photo of her, :D you have a 4000XT i see her on the 19th place in the last pics you posted, since it use the same design it is also a Kyro chip right?
  17. Backfire

    Backfire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    122 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    486
    Location:
    Hessen/ Germany
    The slot A-system is one of the few that was built to stay.
    Classic Chieftec CS-601 case. Much room for components, heavy, solid. After many years in use the case needed new paint.

    800.jpg case II.jpg

    The motherboard is an Asus K7M which I've chosen because of the AMD- chipset. The slot A Pluto/Orion has got 1.0GHz and is cooled by a Titan Majesty IV aka golden orb.
    The "frontend" graphics- adapter is a ATI Rage Fury MAXX which is followed by 2 Creative CT6670 Voodoo 2 12MB accelerator cards.
    For the sound it has got a TerraTec Soundsystem EWS64 XL with frontpanel.

    Slot A Asus K7M, Athlon Slot A 1GHz, Rage Fury MAXX, Voodoo II SLI, TerraTec EWS64 XL 02.jpg

    Slot A Asus K7M, Athlon Slot A 1GHz, Rage Fury MAXX, Voodoo II SLI, TerraTec EWS64 XL 01.jpg

    Slot A Asus K7M, Athlon Slot A 1GHz, Rage Fury MAXX, Voodoo II SLI, TerraTec EWS64 XL 04.jpg

    I'm really tired now, more pics in a few days.

    cu ;)
  18. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,144 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,478
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    let say it is a boring day ... 4hrs 25min before going to the job so ... killing time :

    a good in between till i get a LP PciE X16 gpu (the intel onboard graphic is seemingly fubar) added 4gb XMS2 and will probably seek a E6400 to replace the E6300 it has atm (unless that board support higher model than the E6400)
    IMG_20140319_122103.jpg IMG_20140319_122108.jpg

    let say ... mmhhh .... oh well Kotor 2 i guess
    IMG_20140319_121121.jpg IMG_20140319_121117.jpg

    @Backfire infineon? :D
    IMG_20140319_121851.jpg IMG_20140319_121845.jpg

    family pic
    IMG_20140319_121105.jpg

    so to resume : i need a X16 LP GPU a C2D E6400 or above (will need to do research on those crappy SFF HP... still i like the out look of that pc ... o_O )for the DC7700P, new board or board+cpu for the Compucase S4UT6, thinking about Swaping the PSU in the Nemesis ... getting 8gb DDR2 for the NSK3480 (since the 4gb are in the HP SFF)

    oh well thinking and tinkering make the days less boring :clap:
    Doc41, stinger608 and Backfire say thanks.
  19. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,102 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,495
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Wow Backfire, you have a hell of a collection man!!!
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. Backfire

    Backfire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    122 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    486
    Location:
    Hessen/ Germany
    Yes, you are right. It's a Kyro ;).
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  21. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,427 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,148
    Beat me to it. Was going to post up a few sticks of RAM tonight after Uni. I have some Infineon, some Micron, and some Nanya that I found the other night. Remember Nanya?
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  22. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,144 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,478
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    reporting :

    playing KOTOR 2 on a underclocked modern rig with vsync : worthless
    Playing KOTOR 2 on a XP retrorig without vsync: Priceless

    IMG_20140319_143821.jpg

    the X1650 pro 256 i had was beasty but the X1950GT 512 is .... godlike

    i have some Nanya DDR1 400 128mb one Elixir PC2 4200 256mb Veritech DDR1 333 512mb and a pair of PMI DDR1 400 256md aside

    actual setup of the xp rig (micron ram 512mb x1 + one 256mb not fully recognized... my other 512mb DDR1 doesn't work so i stay with 768 @ 400(406 in fact)
    actual.jpg

    the one i have
    http://www.techpowerup.com/gpudb/b2107/xpertvision-x1950-gt-super-agp.html
    but in 512mb version

    the one i had
    http://www.techpowerup.com/gpudb/959/radeon-x1650-agp.html

    HIS X1650 Pro IceQ 256mb DDR2 128bit no kidding the X1950GT 512mb GDDR3 256bit is better xD
    [​IMG]

    good news a C2D E6700 would be compatible with the DC7700 have to check different site (Ricardo/Ebay ie) bufufuuu ... upgrading old hardware is ... fun ... i guess :roll:
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2014
    9700 Pro, Doc41 and Random Murderer say thanks.
  23. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    314 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    178
    Location:
    Jyväskylä, Finland
    Cool stuff there dudes!

    Damn, my girlfriend's Nokia 808 Pureview's camera stopped working, so I can't take photos, but I got some GREAT stuff from my good friend!

    Athlon 64 X2 5000+ AM2
    Athlon 64 3000+ S754
    P4 530 HT LGA775
    P4 2.66GHz S478
    P4 2.4GHz S478
    aaaaaand a PIII 866 S370 for my retro rig!!

    Also a GF6200SE PCI-E, Radeon 9200 (for the retro rig of course) and an unidentified AGP card. Gonna find out what that is...

    Also a LOT of 128-512MB DDR1 sticks and couple of DDR2 256MB sticks + 1GB DDR2-667 stick :)
    Some fan's, old Hard drives and boxed coolers too, couple of ethernet cards etc :toast:

    edit: Looks that some of the CPU's have bent pins so I have to straighten them :)

    edit2: Looks like that the unidentified card is a TNT2 Pro OEM :D
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2014
  24. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,835 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,375
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Nice slot A rig. Mine is pictured a page or 2 back. I used the mighty MSi 6167 board. I also used a Ati Rage Fury Pro, and a Aureal Vortex 2 soundcard. Aureal was the bomb back then.


    I guess I need to build a Socket A rig now. Now do I use the Nforce 2 board or do I go with my old favorite , the KT7A? I will have 6 generations of running Amd rigs.
    GreiverBlade and stinger608 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    598 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Canada
    What it worth à 5000+ ? I need upgrade and will look in eBay.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page