1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by stinger608, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. m1919

    m1919

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    62 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Fascist North America
    This is an i840 based board, there are no ISA slots.
     
  2. Stjepan666

    Stjepan666

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    10 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Hi, i'am new in this board, this is my first post, and pictures of my old hardware. This is not my all old hardware. :D

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    9700 Pro, Doc41, Chevalr1c and 4 others say thanks.
  3. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,904 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,008
    Location:
    Wyoming

    Awesome. Looking forward to other pictures.

    Welcome to TPU forums and of course I added you to the original post. :respect: :respect: :respect:
     
    Stjepan666 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  4. Stjepan666

    Stjepan666

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    10 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Other pictures uploanding at next days. Thx for added to the orginal post. :)
     
    GreiverBlade and stinger608 say thanks.
  5. Backfire

    Backfire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    122 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    483
    Location:
    Hessen/ Germany
    Just some pics.

    Boards 800.jpg

    Nearly Art (or just garbage)?

    Bastelstunde 800 01.jpg

    This is my view from my sofa. Left main PC (HTPC), middle TV (& 2nd monitor of main PC), right test or retro PC.

    spare 88 01.JPG

    Some spare parts (old photo, it's more now ;)).

    KTW.jpg

    Each screen-worker needs this. It keeps your coffee hot. 17th best invention after the wheel.

    edit: @ stinger608, how about "IT-undead". Sounds a little like a bad horror-movie ;).
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2014
    Doc41, stinger608, m1919 and 2 others say thanks.
  6. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,406 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,599
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    YEAH ROCK ON!!! nice cpu collection pal!

    edit : woop woop, now i just need to order a LP bracket :D dang that UEFI GOP Win 8 compatible ruins the whole pics xD but at last its a 5450 :D and in a old bag of silicon bones from HP

    IMG_20140324_212836.jpg IMG_20140324_212900.jpg IMG_20140324_212908.jpg
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2014
    Doc41 says thanks.
  7. Backfire

    Backfire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    122 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    483
    Location:
    Hessen/ Germany
    Pack of 4 little Raptors for the "Thai-Chi"/ Crossfire- System. Watercooled, because 10000rpm hdd's are becoming pretty hot.

    Raptors watercooled.jpg
     
  8. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,643 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,380
    That is sweet! You going to run RAID 10 or 0+1 on those?
     
  9. Stjepan666

    Stjepan666

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    10 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Whoa 4 Raptors in RAID, legendary preformace.
     
  10. Backfire

    Backfire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    122 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    483
    Location:
    Hessen/ Germany
    That's the plan ;).

    Edit: oops. misread the question. 10 or 0 + 1 are more or less the same. I think I'll build first two mirroring Raids and then put them together in a striping raid. That would be a 10 (I think ;)).
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2014
    stinger608 and Random Murderer say thanks.
  11. m1919

    m1919

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    62 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Fascist North America
    This Precision 620 project is getting pretty involved... gonna have to gut the original case in order to recover the motherboard tray and backplate, or custom fabricate a new backplate to fit the 620's motherboard, as the I/O plate is non-standard.

    The motherboard is also mounted on what would be the left side panel; there is no standard motherboard tray. With further inspection, I've found the standoffs are pressed into a steel sheet that appears to be attached to the left side pane by adhesive. If I just cut the motherboard tray out and mount it in the new case, the board will be sitting about half an inch too high. Gonna have to redo the entire back panel...

    Good news is since that's probably the course I will take, everything should look nice and neat once painted.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  12. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,406 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,599
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    my DC7700P main HDD is a 150gb Velociraptor (in the FDD place) with the "icepack" 3.5" frame, i have to say ... i never seen a WinXP rig boot up that fast: back in the time i had only some Maxtor 5k4 or seagate 7k2 at max :D
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  13. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,904 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,008
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Holy crap Backfire, are all them cardboard boxes video cards? That is a hell of a stack bro!

    Also looks like I might have an MSI Master2-FAR motherboard with dual Opteron 285's with solid copper MSI heat sinks/fans. Also has 6 gigs of DDR 400 ECC ram.

    A fella brought in an old server today with that setup in it. Wants us to upgrade the motherboard, chips, ram. Told the boss I wanted the board, chips, fans, and ram.......He didn't have a problem with it. :clap:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  14. Backfire

    Backfire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    122 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    483
    Location:
    Hessen/ Germany
    Videocards, soundcards, some controller cards.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  15. m1919

    m1919

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    62 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Fascist North America
    Nice haul, it's pretty hard to find the Master2-FAR that supports dual core Opterons, mine will only run up to Opteron 250s.
     
    GreiverBlade and stinger608 say thanks.
  16. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,406 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,599
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    talk about luck ... my Master3 run with 2 250 like you ... and he has 2 285 daaaaaaaaaaaah

    hopefully it will run up to 270 with the last bios ... but i still have to find a good deal on those ...
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  17. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,904 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,008
    Location:
    Wyoming
    On MSI's site and main page for the motherboard it shows the 285's as being supported with the latest bios.

    Also need to find one of those little 40 mm chip set fans for it. The one on it is dead. Probably why the guy was having crashing and booting issues.
     
    m1919 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  18. Stjepan666

    Stjepan666

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    10 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    As I said, the next day I throw the next photo, today portion of memory and processors in Slot 1: Pentium 2, Celeron, and riser Slot1-Socket 370, memory is: SIMM, SIMM EDO, SD, DDR1, SO-DIMM DDR2, and DDR2, and mobo with Intel Pentium at Socket 5, i430FX.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2014
    m1919, Doc41, Misaki and 2 others say thanks.
  19. m1919

    m1919

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    62 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Fascist North America
    There are two versions of the Master2-FAR board, one is the MS-9130, which only supports up to Opteron 250s, the other is the MS-9617.

    I believe the power delivery circuitry is different between the two versions, so the MS-9130 might work with dual cores, but it'll probably take a dump at some point. I think the older version cannot provide the lower voltages the dual core Opterons need.
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2014
    stinger608 says thanks.
  20. Compgeke

    Compgeke

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    153 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    Fairfield, California, USA
    Played with the Packard Bell tonight. Removed the barrel battery, got it to play disk 1 of The Wall (software config error, not hardware) and got it to keep the settings.

    Running lightning fast it's a 33 MHz 486 SX, 20 megs ram, 170 meg hard drive, probably 4x CD-ROM, Aztech Sound Galaxy NX Pro 16 sound card and a random Intel network card. Running on the original install of MS-DOS 6 and Windows 3.1 as it left the factory. Only upgrades in this are the ram and network card which I added myself.

    mmm...that familar front.
    [​IMG]

    Totally awesome lightning fast 486 SX!
    [​IMG]

    Added a network card, with mTCP I can IRC from this, run a FTP server, access FTP servers, etc. Pretty soon I'll even be able to run a webserver.
    [​IMG]

    Unfortunately this thing came with a battery barrel, which was starting to leak but didn't cause any damage. Pulled that off and I'm using the external battery header with a CR2032 now.
    [​IMG]

    It does keep the BIOS settings and the time now, no more entering the HDD's CHS on startup. One issue with this machine is I can't enter the BIOS unless I remove the battery to clear the CMOS or disconnect the hard drive or floppy or whatever.
    [​IMG]
     
    broken pixel, Backfire, m1919 and 7 others say thanks.
  21. PHaS3

    PHaS3

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    284 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Found this dumped where I work... Case is busted up pretty bad, but the machine still works :D

    WP_20140325_11_13_22_Pro.jpg

    Skt 754 Sempron 2600+
    1GB RAM
    Radeon 9200
     
  22. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,406 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,599
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    look what i found back while doing some cleaning ...
    IMG_20140326_125703.jpg IMG_20140326_125817.jpg IMG_20140326_125827.jpg
    yep my 1600Pro (tho on the box i clearly remember 1650...) the IceQ HSF is long lost :D and the card is probably dead ... but i keep it for records.
    will try to take better pics once my SX100 will be usable again :roll:

    and ...
    IMG_20140326_125858.jpg IMG_20140326_125845.jpg
     
    Doc41, m1919, Stjepan666 and 4 others say thanks.
  23. Stjepan666

    Stjepan666

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    10 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Miomiol dreams, three monitors in one pc, but three CRT monitors not LCD.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  24. broken pixel

    broken pixel

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    443 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Nebulas
    [​IMG]
    06/05/01
    COMPAQ ARMADA 7770DMT
     
    PHaS3, Chevalr1c, stinger608 and 4 others say thanks.
  25. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,406 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,599
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    weeehehheheheheheeee i found a

    Arima 40GCMO120-A830 HDAMA-I AMD Server Motherboard Opteron Socket 940 cheaper than the Rioworks (almost 2time cheaper including the shipping: 30.45chf) from Germany as well
    [​IMG]

    now have to wait on Paypal actualization, and i found a seller in Minnesota with some Opty 275 (2pack for 20.16chf shipping include) i will wait a bit before ordering those i want to test the board with the 250 before to see if its really my Master3 who is faulty.

    basically i found a cheaper deal with 2 different seller instead of the original bundle Riowork+2x270
    Arima is Riowork tho but the PCB is blue and all electrolyte cap (the one with the heatshrink on it are also electrolyte no vent on them) plus even if no IO shield it use the same pattern as my actual Master3 :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 member and 1 guest)

debs3759

Share This Page