1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by stinger608, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    The PCB does look simmilar, but no, that isn't a 9800XT. That one is a little younger.
    This is a PCB of a 9800XT, btw:
    [​IMG]
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  2. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,368 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    Is it an X700?

    It looks like it has a PCIe to AGP bridge chip on it due to the AGP traces going to vias (presumably to the bridge on the other side of the board) instead of the GPU.
     
    _JP_ says thanks.
  3. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,631 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,196
    Location:
    Mexico
    _JP_ says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,368 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    It appears my suspicion about the PCIe to AGP bridge chip was right, but the card was not. It's definitely an X1650 Pro AGP 512MB by looking at the board, presumably manufactured by PowerColor.
     
    stinger608 and _JP_ say thanks.
  5. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    It is. :toast:
    Damn, you are good! :rockout: :respect:
    Here's the photo with the cooler, as promised. (Not the original cooler, obviously)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2012
    coolleo, Chevalr1c and stinger608 say thanks.
  6. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,368 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    I used to have a X800 GTO with the bridge chip, but I could never figure out what was the pad covering it for?

    Note the cardboard and electrical tape extension I made for the heat sink shroud. The HS was made for a PCIe card, and the bridge chip made the AGP version longer so that the HS didn't exhaust out of the case.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  7. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    Cooling. It is supposed to keep it form overheating. Although, if you ask me, there should be a heatsink, instead of a pad. Mandatory on top models and the more recent ones (3850, 4670). It already gets hot to the touch on my x1650PRO (I'm guessing some 50ºC), I can imagine how hot it gets on a 3850 where the data output is way higher.
    But I also have an idea as to why the cards don't have a heatsink there. You can't fix it anywhere and there's not enough surface area on the chip to glue it on.
     
  8. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,368 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    But the pad didn't actually cover the die, so how could it help with cooling?
     
  9. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    I have no idea. I've read (and been told) that it's there to cool the chip. Now, how does it manage to do that, your guess is as good as mine.

    Anyway, you guys know my TNT2:
    Here's the manual that came with it:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Huge, ain't it?
    Had too dig hard to find this. Didn't recall where it was. :laugh: It's also something not usually found in old hardware threads. :ohwell:
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  10. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,963 (8.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,809
    I have the manuals for most of the old stuff I had. My wife hates the fact that I have old parts boxes everywhere :laugh:

    I even a box for a CompUSA branded HDD in the closet... 8.4 GB I think :rolleyes:
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,337 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,844
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Man we are getting some awesome ole nostalgic hardware showing up!!!!! Very cool!!!

    Now here is a couple of items that I found yesterday that I just had to share LOLOL

    [​IMG]

    And some DOS goodness:

    [​IMG]

    Updated the original post with these as well.

    The DOS disks are brand new. I shouldn't have even opened the package, but just couldn't help myself. :laugh:
     
    coolleo, phill, _JP_ and 1 other person say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. phill

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    357 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Bridgwater, Somerset
    I thought since I was clearing out a few things these past few days, I might post up something that I hope might be included in this thread :)


    [​IMG]

    Now I needed to add something so I could put some shelves up.. So I did this....

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    A computer and a few retro consoles installed!!

    [​IMG]

    I seem to have found a few more....

    [​IMG]

    And some more!!??!!

    [​IMG]

    A few more pictures to come soon I hope :)
     
    coolleo, _JP_, KieranD and 1 other person say thanks.
  13. Luciel

    Luciel

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    277 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    139
    Location:
    Málaga, Spain
    Right, finally got round to unboxing those 486 dx33 parts (a full pc but no case), going to have to modify a case to be able to mount it in though, should try first if it works :S

    Also... and this is the trully special one...

    a MINT condition 486 laptop with, get this, a working battery, and it all works perfectly, dos and win 3.1 loaded on it, doom and wolf 3d installed on it with PS2 connections, vga out and even a modem, this thing must´ve costed a fortune in it´s day. Will post pickies of it soon :D
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  14. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,963 (8.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,809
    IBM 6x86L and a 72 pin SIMM

    Check out that core voltage :eek:

    686L.jpg
     
    coolleo, _JP_, Chevalr1c and 3 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,368 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    What process was that built on?
     
  16. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,963 (8.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,809
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,057 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    @phill - lol at the 32x, im also rocking an Amiga A1200 good systems fast for its day but the 4000 is the master.
     
  18. phill

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    357 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Bridgwater, Somerset
    I've been trying to get hold of a Amiga 4000 for years, but they are still fetching some really good money.. My Amiga 1200 has an 1230 with 8Mb of ram and a hard drive.. It works really well :) I think I have a CD Rom drive for it somewhere!! Still a damn sight faster than any PC I have had!! :lol: Gotta love that Amiga OS...

    I can't believe how many 32X's I have!! I have one with a Mega CD as well downstairs :)

    I used to have a Amiga 1200 with a PPC 603+ and a BVision.. That was a monstor of a system, I don't think I have any pictures of that.. I'll see if I can find some :) That sadly stopped working due to a bit of a dodgy setup, it knocked out the electric to the house and sadly the system was lost :(
     
  19. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,031 (4.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,654
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Okay here is some of my stuffs. First pic

    Some Sb 16 compatible card
    Some Isa sb 16 compatible card
    Aureal Vortex 2 Sq 2500 v1
    Aureal Vortex 2 Sq 2500 v2
    Creative Sb 16
    Creative Sb Live Gamer 5.1
    Creative Sb Live Mp3 5.1
    Visiontek Hd3650
    Visiontek Hd 2400 pro
    Asus Radeon 9550 Pro
    Gainward Gefore Fx 5700
    Visiontek X1550 256
    Ati Radeon 9000 pro
    Geforce 2 mx400
    And Unknown Creative pci something or other.



    [​IMG]


    Last pic


    Soyo Kt600 Dragon Plus V2.0
    Abit Kt7a V1.3
    Abit Nf7-s V2.0
    Asus A7n8x Deluxe
    Abit Be6 slot 1
    Luckystar 6va693a Slot 1
    Epox 8KRAI pro Kt880
    Misc Socket A Coolers and a Slot A Golden Orb
    Procs
    Pent 3 600 133
    Pent 3 450 100
    Athlon xp 2500+ Barton
    Athlon xp 2100+ Pally x 2
    Athlon 1.2
    Athlon 900
    Duron 600
    Duron 700
    Duron 750
    Duron 950


    Enjoy!

    [​IMG]
     
    coolleo, stinger608, phill and 3 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,963 (8.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,809
    Isn't that Creative PCI something or other the DXR2 decoder board?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,031 (4.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,654
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I have no idears. I got it from you I think. Not sure how it works though. It does have a vga port.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,631 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,196
    Location:
    Mexico
    oh my... take me with you [​IMG] :laugh:

    I have that same 2400PRO vacuum
     
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,963 (8.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,809
    It was part of the Creative PC-DVD Encore package with the Creative DVD-Rom and I think it's a DXR3 decoder

    http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?invtid=DXR3

    It put DVD decoding into hardware when software only solutions slowed down your PC (like what WinModems used to do)- it always worked great on my older rigs..... I bought new and was working when I pulled it.

    The cable is a loopback VGA card to Decoder-> Decoder direct to monitor- I'll see if I can find a driver disk here for it ;)
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,031 (4.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,654
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Oh that will be so cool. It will be a new toy to go in the win 98 build.
     
    stinger608 and Norton say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,963 (8.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,809
    Somehow I knew you would say that :laugh: :roll::roll::roll:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page