1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by stinger608, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    651 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Send it to me so I can upgrade from my 4600+ :p

    Nevermind you are too far. :(
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  2. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,248 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,569
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    HELL YEAH!!!
     
  3. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    651 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Guy like me caring about mother earth like to recycle old parts and make system back to life. Problem is that people go crazy and overprice old hardware so it ends up that everyone have parts but no full system. These parts will end up months later in dump probably.
     
  4. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,248 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,569
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    i found something funny ... one of my Otpy 250 has a overheat problem ... i saw this after swapping socket to see if it was due to the airflow .... oh well single 250 and i will order some more Optys till i find the perfect pair xD (270-275 and above)
     
  5. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    324 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    189
    Location:
    Jyväskylä, Finland
    Haha, yeah maybe few kilometres too far :D


    Updated the bios from my #2 rig and seemed to help in overclocking:
    [​IMG]

    Before updating to the newest beta (I had previously the latest non-beta) the max fsb what I got was 302MHz, higher than that didn't even boot :toast:
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  6. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,469 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,170
    I bet you won't push 400... I bet you won't ;)
     
    GreiverBlade and 9700 Pro say thanks.
  7. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    324 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    189
    Location:
    Jyväskylä, Finland
    I'm quite sure too :D

    382 is currently the max which I was able to get even to Windows, but I couldn't yet get that ~3GHz p95 stable. Must try harder tomorrow, maybe I find out some trick to push it more ;)
     
    GreiverBlade and Random Murderer say thanks.
  8. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,469 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,170
    That's a 945 Express chipset board, isn't it? Pretty impressive you got it this far, but CPU willing, 400 is achievable.
    What do you have your NB voltage at right now?
     
    9700 Pro says thanks.
  9. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,248 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,569
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    oohhh a Conroe pentium ... too bad HP has a weird bios with the buisness class serie ... (my C2D E6700 is also a Conroe 2.66 on a Q965express non conventional mobo ... :cry: )
     
    9700 Pro says thanks.
  10. Misaki

    Misaki

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    191 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    Location:
    Bełchatów, Poland
    Nice! This reminds me my temporary LGA775, 2010 - 2012. EVGA 650i Ultra and Pentium E2220 overclocked to 3GHz 1.35v. But this processor is a real shit which slowed down HD4850... But I bought It for 160PLN (50$) with 2GB DDR2 800MHz and sold in December 2012 for 230PLN (75$). So yeah, this is good temporary hardware :)
     
    stinger608 and 9700 Pro say thanks.
  11. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    324 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    189
    Location:
    Jyväskylä, Finland
    Yes, this has 945P chipset. For some reason, the NB voltage setting DISAPPEARED from bios? :laugh: Not a smallest clue why it did that :D

    As I said, I'll be continuing to tweak the crap out of it later, but even that 380fsb 24/7 would be ok for now. The GPU in that machine is HD3870 Ultimate (passive) what truly needs some new thermalpaste because it runs hot as hell with those old pastes. Had to put an old fan from Athlon64 boxed cooler to cool it down :D

    But well, let's see how that 2GB DDR2-800 module will work what I'm getting from my buddy later today. Officially I think that this P5LD2 doesn't even support 2GB modules, but I found out that at least some Corsair 2GB sticks have worked. So I'm pretty sure that it's gonna work and I can finally toss out those damn 533MHz 256MB sticks. :)

    Edit: But damn, I didn't remember these CPUs run so cool, I'm running this with an old copper-core Intel Boxed-cooler (those which came with Pentium D's) and the cooler doesn't make barely any noise. Also, the temps are ~60C even in full load. :) And runs Sims 3 pretty well, my girlfriend plays it pretty much on that PC. :D
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  12. m1919

    m1919

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    62 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Fascist North America
    Got a Chaintec 6ITM + Pentium Pro a few days ago. Now I need to figure out what I'm doing for graphics and sound.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    stinger608, Doc41, Chevalr1c and 4 others say thanks.
  13. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,469 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,170
    Nice Pentium Pro setup. How much RAM does it have?
     
    m1919 says thanks.
  14. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,248 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,569
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    well low battery Canon SX100is doesn't do better pics than my UMI X1 ... i wonder if its really battery related or am i a such bad photographer ... will retry later but for now :

    Arima is Rhapsody yep but the PCB is blue and they have more electrolyte cap than chemcap.
    IMG_1124.JPG IMG_1125.JPG IMG_1134.JPG IMG_1130.JPG
    the socket H1 is less behind the HDD/ODD and more in the airflow of the front fan i have installed, swapping cpu allowed me to see which one has a overheat problem: going from 29° to 99° in a matter of second, it has to be not normal ... since the second one with the same HSF keep at 28°


    my favorit type of pics : the flash make the fan appear still but the rotation make the wings go semi transparent (and they are solid black/white)
    IMG_1131.JPG
     
    stinger608, Doc41 and Animalpak say thanks.
  15. Backfire

    Backfire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    122 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Hessen/ Germany
    My ebay hit, the 2nd Rage Fury MAXX arrived.

    ATI Rage Fury MAXX beide Karten 1500 01b.jpg
     
    xvi, Apocalypsee, stinger608 and 4 others say thanks.
  16. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,936 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,538
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Those are so sweet looking backfire. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    324 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    189
    Location:
    Jyväskylä, Finland
    Damn it would be cool if it would be possible to "quad crossfire" them :D

    Finally got the DDR2-800 module and seems to work flawlessly even it wasn't in ESD bag, and I had lying in my pocket until i plugged it in my 2nd rig :toast:


    edit: Damn that machine had a real boost when upgraded from 1.75GB to 3GB! Now running prime95 on that so I'll find the highest max overclocks, the other memory module is a Quimonda 1GB 667MHz so I'll need to test one MHz after another, since the RAM runs now at 740MHz :D Max temps 71C at 2963MHz 1.44V on prime95 :toast:
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2014
  18. Doc41

    Doc41

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    440 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    Location:
    Bahrain
    i just call it ghosting effect:roll: ya know same with monitors
    well that's weird, faulty thermostat or dry TIM beneath the IHS? though not sure what is used to couple the IHS with CPU
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2014
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    324 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    189
    Location:
    Jyväskylä, Finland
    Here are today's results: http://valid.canardpc.com/5xpbhx

    Even 1MHz more fsb and prime95 crashes on other core in 15 minutes. Guess I'll leave that on 2.96GHz, and buy an E6600 or something else, they are something like 10-15e price as used in Finland :toast:
     
    Doc41 says thanks.
  20. MaxiPro800

    MaxiPro800

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    76 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    Bacau,Romania
    It's been some time since I haven't been here,and I fixed my tablet,so I'd think of taking some pictures of my rig,as I've got a new board.(ASUS P4P800-VM)
    Before doing that what CPU should I choose for it?Here are the options:
    a)1.7GHz Pentium 4,Willamette core
    b)2.40GHz Celeron D,Prescott core
    c)2.66GHz Celeron D,Prescott core
    By the way,I replaced the old HDD I had in there (10GB Seagate U5 Series,IDE)with a bigger SATA HDD (80GB WDC Caviar SE)and installed Windows Vista Home Premium SP2.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  21. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,243 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,686
    Location:
    Wyoming
    I would use the Pentium 4. Celeron's are pretty sub par really. I think you would see better performance with the P4.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  22. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,469 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,170
    That, and the Slowerons are Pres-hot cores. Not to mention the P4 is a Willamette. Should OC decently.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  23. MaxiPro800

    MaxiPro800

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    76 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    Bacau,Romania
    Okay.
    I took a picture of it,here it is.
    EDIT:Whoops,posted too soon so image didn't upload.Fixed.
    [​IMG]
    I don't need OC for 2 reasons:
    1.I use toothpaste as a "poor man's thermal paste"(which does it's job quite good,40-45*C idle)
    2.This board's BIOS doesn't have any OC features.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 010.jpg
      010.jpg
      File size:
      178.1 KB
      Views:
      209
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2014
    stinger608 says thanks.
  24. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,469 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,170
    Then definitely don't use the Celerons, the Prescott cores won't do well with toothpaste, lol.
     
  25. MaxiPro800

    MaxiPro800

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    76 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    Bacau,Romania
    I've actually tried that once with this board,and even though temps were 80-85*C they were still stable without a problem.
    Obiviously touching them was impossible,as they were so hot you could cook on them.
    With the P4 I would only get that temp if the toothpaste was very dry.
     
    stinger608 and Random Murderer say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page