1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by stinger608, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,178 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,583
    Location:
    Wyoming
    That is true. Of course the original AM2 boards were not AM2+ compatible though. The later ones, like the Asus M2N series were AM2+ capable boards. As the original Phenom's were a AM2+ chip.
    I figured we were discussing original AM2 stuff like the 5200+, 6000+ dual cores and the like.
     
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. MaxiPro800

    MaxiPro800

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    75 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Bacau,Romania
    Well,my main rig uses a AM2 board (ASUS M2V-TVM)and a AM2 CPU(Sempron 3400+,1.80GHz),so I guess it's one of the originals.
     
    stinger608 and GreiverBlade say thanks.
  3. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,214 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,548
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    my Asus M3N78-CM was up to the X6 1090T (was ... i sold it :cry: but "i will be back" with some oldies once i will get rid of my 2 last debt :D ;) )

    oh wait ... AM2 ... i do not qualify ... M3N78-CM is AM2+ :shadedshu:
     
  4. MaxiPro800

    MaxiPro800

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    75 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Bacau,Romania
    I do,as most M2N/M2V ASUS boards are AM2.(no +)
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  5. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,214 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,548
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    i know :roll:

    still i have a dual 940 mobo (oh well 2 but one is a bit tricky) humpf i really need to get another AM2+ and a AM2 setup for the collection ... and more graphic cards nahahahah :D
     
  6. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,178 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,583
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Right, but most of them could be flashed to a newer bios and support the AM2+ chips. Gigabyte had a bunch of AM2 boards that could be flashed as well. I think AsRock and EVGA did as well.
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    625 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    210
    Location:
    Canada
    Same as my M2V-MX I have here that can take up to Athlon X2 6000+. Really basic mobo.
     
  8. MaxiPro800

    MaxiPro800

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    75 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Bacau,Romania
    Basic and good,as long as it doesn't use a OEM BIOS,like my board.(mine uses some crappy "Olidata Olipro"BIOS)
     
  9. Backfire

    Backfire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    122 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Hessen/ Germany
    Making an inventory- list of my hardware. Hey, that's hard work. It took me weeks, but now I think I've got a really fine list.

    It tells me what it is, which company manufactured it,, what the name is, when this model was launched, which connection or socket it has, what the name of the chipset is, how much I got, a few words if there is something special on this part, a linked picture of the part, a link to the best review I could find, links to 9x/Me + W2k/XP drivers for it. and where I stored it.



    Excel Inventur.jpg
     
  10. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,178 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,583
    Location:
    Wyoming
    That is an awesome idea Backfire!

    Dang, I need to do that myself! :laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    319 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    186
    Location:
    Jyväskylä, Finland
    Damn that stinger's dual CPU MB is cool, I didn't even remember that there were SLI MB:s for dual 940 Opterons :toast:
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  12. MaxiPro800

    MaxiPro800

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    75 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Bacau,Romania
    Seeing that everybody posted desktops from a few of their rigs,I thought of posting my main rig's desktop which runs Windows 7. (AM2)
    Wallpaper is a screencap from the Teen Titans Go! episode "Laundry Day".
    Also,notice the Uberizer icon in there.I am using it to play around with my tablet.
    AM2 Desktop.png
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  13. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,178 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,583
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Yea I am not sure who else built SLi or crossfire capable boards running dual processors. I know I had a quad processor Tyan board that supported SLi but that was the later LGA socket.

    Seems like Asus made one that was SLi capable and run dual Opteron processors. Made more for the enthusiast than server applications.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. m1919

    m1919

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    62 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Fascist North America
    Heh, what a coincidence, just snagged one of these Master2-FARs as well. My board is used, hopefully it comes with the SLI switch card.

    What should I plop on this thing for GPUs? There are some 9800GX2s on auction I could bidsnipe for cheap.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  15. Mr.Scott

    Mr.Scott

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    85 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Spencerport NY
    Man.....I'd like to see the rest of the pages sometime. :)
     
  16. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    625 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    210
    Location:
    Canada
    Never heard of that one but it's an Asus so I guess it's their own bios or regular AMI bios.
     
  17. MaxiPro800

    MaxiPro800

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    75 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Bacau,Romania
    It's a custom M2V-TVM BIOS made specifically for that OEM.
    Anyways,as long as it's working fine I don't have anything to worry about.
     
  18. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,178 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,583
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Awesome man!!! Did it include processors?
    Wow, if you can grab some 9800GX2's cheap, that would make an awesome system. If it doesn't come with the switch card, one might check on Ebay for one. Not sure if the DFI boards that had these would be the same or not. Seems like Asus had a version that used the switch card as well.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. PHaS3

    PHaS3

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    265 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Rebuilt a PC that was dumped at my work. Planning on using it for some (very) amateur instrument recording (electric guitar).

    Sempron 2600+ Skt 754 (1,6GHz), 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200

    IMAG0062.jpg IMAG0063.jpg
     
    stinger608, Chevalr1c and GreiverBlade say thanks.
  20. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    625 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    210
    Location:
    Canada
    Where do you live?
     
  21. PHaS3

    PHaS3

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    265 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Erm... South Africa. Why do you ask?
     
  22. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,857 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,412
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    He wants to ne your dumpster diving friend.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. PHaS3

    PHaS3

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    265 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Lol, he's on his own with that then, I prefer not to dumpster dive for my hardware.

    Funny story with that machine is, I work at a school and the pc was left half hidden next to our chapel. They phoned me half worried it was a bomb lol. I was pleasently surprised to find working hardware inside and not be blown up.
     
  24. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    625 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    210
    Location:
    Canada

    Wanted to ship a 3200+ athlon 754 but too far.
     
  25. m1919

    m1919

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    62 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Fascist North America
    Nah, but I have a pair of Opteron 285s I was originally planning on using with an Asus K8N-DL, but couldn't one cheap enough.
     
    GreiverBlade and stinger608 say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page