1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,488 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,874
    Is it a tower? I think I know which one that is.
     
    Peter1986C and manofthem say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,737 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,956
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Maybe the one with the talking furniture.
     
    manofthem says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    9,505 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,697
    Location:
    Florida
    It seems that all these princess stories have towers, talking animals/furniture, and the romance of a lifetime :laugh:

    It just pains me to shut down everything. In fairy tales, princesses don't have to stop crunching :D
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,488 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,874
    Its ok. I am bringing on 4 more cores in your absence... That is in my new rog board for cheap.
     
    manofthem, stinger608 and Norton say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,663 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,630
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Yea okay, what ever you say sis.......Bhahahahahaha :roll:
     
    manofthem and Norton say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,736 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    I think you can delete out the network connections and start over. Google would probably know if you asked him. ;)
     
    Bow and stinger608 say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,713 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,559
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    One of the problems I am having is BOINC will not connect or cant connect. I can download it, but when I run it it tells me it cant connect. The router is blocking it. The fire wall for the router and the pc is off. I think I need to tell the router or assign the router a port or something or give it and IP or something for BOINC so it will connect. Just don't now how and so far no luck at Belkin support.

    Everything else is working fine now, except BOINC and WarThunder, it also will not connect.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,786 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,607
    Location:
    Ohio
    Starlifter is back online under Windows 8.1... maybe slightly better PPD now?
     
  9. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    9,505 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,697
    Location:
    Florida
    Sucks bro, sorry about the trouble. Any chance the ports BOINC uses are blocked by default? I just saw that some issues can be caused by port 31416 being blocked and BOINC manager being unable to connect.... maybe worth a shot looking into?
     
    Bow says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,663 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,630
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Here is the Belkin guides on portforwarding .com Bow:

    http://portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/Belkin/default.htm

    Find your model number and it will have a guide to set up the correct port forwarding for that specific router.

    Keep us informed brother! :peace:
     
    Bow, thebluebumblebee and manofthem say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,488 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,874
    It took me two minutes of google searching to figure out that was the name of your rig. I was thinking some software somehow gave you better ppd under 8.1. :( on me.


    On a related note, windows 8.1 compared to windows 7 bridged the gap somewhat between windows and linux in cpu performance if I remember correctly. I believe it was @TRWOV who showed this. If I am remembering correctly, is anyone curious as to how windows 9 will perform? The test candidate is coming september.
     
    Norton, stinger608 and manofthem say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,786 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,607
    Location:
    Ohio
    :p

    [​IMG]

    I call my server "Rockhead"
     
  13. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    9,505 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,697
    Location:
    Florida
    Had a crazy little scare. I moved my main rig into my bedroom for the duration of the PP, and after a few minutes after booting up, I noticed CPU temp was 100*C :eek: :eek: BOINC starts immediately so it was crunching, but still, it never gets that hot. So after closing BOINC and having temps settle to around 86*C, I realized I had a major problem. :laugh:

    Long story short, my pump wasn't working after the transport. The same thing happened to me when I first redid my pc and changed my loop. So after checking power connections, I opened up the res to try to relieve pressure, and voila! pump kicked in and coolant was moving. 86* went down to 30* very quickly, thankfully.

    I don't know if any damage happened, but I guess I'll find out soon enough.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,663 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,630
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Damn MoT, that is scary shit brother! Glad you got it worked out man.
     
    manofthem says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,958 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,243
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    That's alright manofthem. I think your okay. My 8320 rig is playing bitch right now. Thing has been stable as a rock since I built it. No problems what so ever. I oc'd it right out the gate and temps always have been around 45c under load. Now the friggin' thing wants to hard lock every so often. It can run fine for a couple days then next thing it's locked. Also if I reboot it and when it gets to the desktop, if i click coretemp right away it will lock. If I let it load completely then click core temp it won't lock. I am wondering if something is going screwy with the os. If it is this bitch is going to linux.
     
    stinger608, Norton and manofthem say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    3,274 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,925
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    You know you wanna. Just do it already! ;)
     
    manofthem says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    11,097 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30,685
    Some chips seem to not like running overclocked 24/7 in Windows 7, I would try Linux or Windows 8.1 on it.

    One of my 8350's locks on me when I go over 4.2Ghz, the other has been sitting at 4.4Ghz and 100% happy regardless of load for over a year now. I have the troublesome chip running in Ubuntu in an extended test at lower volts/lower clocks (1.15v/3.2Ghz) and it does fine.

    Question for the Linux guru's- Any difference in ppd between Ubuntu 12.04 and 13.04 or with Mint? Considering trying Mint on my next install...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,958 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,243
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Thing is this thing has been stable from when I got till now. Not sure what gives. It seems happy go lucky for a few days then bam locked tight at desk top. I think I may give Ubuntu a go on it for awhile and see how it does. I am going to do some testing this week to narrow it down to make sure it is indeed a software/ os issue. I have another fx 8350 that should be here tomorrow and I ordered some new mem from the egg.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,488 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,874
    Not a linux guru but I can tell you there is not. What matters is the linux kernel used and I don't think there was a difference in the latest kernals. I remember from reading benchmarks on phoronix.com




    Edit:
    How the new 3570k/ asus rog gene system looks. Still awaiting proper gpu cooler.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2014
    stinger608, manofthem and Norton say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. agent00skid

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    743 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    685
    Location:
    Denmark
    My Athlon 5350 is now running Fedora 20 on a MX100 128GB SSD.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,488 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,874
    Thought I was safe with this rog board. Dismorning before work I noticed it was having display issues. I restarted and left. I got home and there were still display issues. I tried three different graphics cards in the motherboard and now I cant even get display out of any of them. I can still get a display out of the igpu though. I also found a little cap at the bottom of the case which has me worried. I scanned for 30 minutes but could not see a spot where it came off of. :(
     
    manofthem says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,096 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    626
    Main rig (2700k) is down today. I am selling the HD7970 so that it is still worth something. I am giving also a Thermaltake ThoughPower 750w for an HD6850 (didn'T want to use the HD5670 xD)

    I'll be ready for GTX 880 or so, I will see if I can grab some GTX 780 with waterblock :D
     
    manofthem says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,090 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,654
    Location:
    Washington, US
    Because you're missing that pin, that reduces the thermal conductivity between the processor and the socket which reduces the cooling capacity of the LGA which causes excess heat to build up and.. Okay, yeah, I have no idea. Have you checked HWmonitor/cpu-z to make sure it's actually pumping out 1.15v and not something higher?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,713 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,559
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth

    I thinks that could be the problem. Been so busy have not had time to sit down and work on it.
     
    manofthem says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,786 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,607
    Location:
    Ohio
    Not sure if this is related at all or not... but since switching to Windows 8.1 from Windows 7, WCG doesn't seem to be erroring on work units anymore...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)