1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    me want new toys too... i even have the money
    but i dont really know what to do:eek:
    that totally new for me...
    i could buy:
    anything for 150 euro.
    i really wanted to buy me a glock 18c gas blowback (just a softair. in germany, you cant get much better stuff. real guns are a no go)
    i was tempted to buy me 5850... but now, that i have seen, what may be coming out till may 2010, im not so tempted anymore...
    i get a 23" lg flatron on christmas.
    i got enough parts to build another cruncher. just needs a processor.
    what now?:eek:
  2. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    the words in bold tell you what to do. Put the sentence together in the right order and you got your answer :p
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    thats quite a difference... i would have aimed for the 620 and the e1500:D

    but at least you got some fine procs!

    EDIT: you miss a comma, to complete the sentence :D
    what proc would you suggest me?
  4. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    what parts do you have?(board and PSU) If you have the Biostar board then i would recommend a Athlon II X3 of some kind. As you know the board isn't too happy about running overclocked quads. So i would get the tri core to take some stress off of it and still give good PPD.

    know it is a big difference but i was told no to anything that added up to more then $120 so i picked to get the other cruncher running and upgrade my CPU (the X2 240 has been asking me to buy it for along time:laugh:)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    its happy with overclocked quads (if not TOO beefy:D), but it doenst like, if it has to speak to it, thru a crippled A64 bios interface (nearly no phenom options). thats the problem, with it supporting every phenom 2 besides the 955 and 965, by bios.
    i would probably use a 400 watt generic CMP psu, but that even can drive the q9550. even if it has only a 20 pin ;-)
    it has like 35 and 40 amperes on 5v and 3.3v
    12V is just 18 amps.
  6. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Well, I talked to my friend, and it looks like he's going to be buying some of my old hardware (2GB DDR2 + 60GB IDE HDD), so I'll have enough money to spend on a new PSU. I'm thinking probably the Corsair CX400w unless anyone else has a better suggestion.

    BTW, the Q6600 turned in ~3200 points today and hopefully the wireless problem has been resolved, so maybe I'll get pie tonight and ~1500 PPD more
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I would stick with a X3 for that rig or maybe give the Athlon II X4 620 a try. Its not all that beefy and still a quad to make it even better it has a low price point :rockout:

    what makes a perfect cruncher in my eyes
    Quad core(or tri)
    price
    overclockablity
    power consumption
    the Athlon II x3 and X4 chips have all of it

    how much you want to spend? give me a budget and i will try to find a better PSU for the money(if there is even one out there)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Yep, the X4 620 is an awesome CPU for purely WCG. For ~250, you could build a complete quad-core computer around it:
    $100 X4 620
    $75 785G mobo
    $30 whatever DDR2/DDR3 memory (1gb)
    $free tiny HDD (like 6-20gb)
    $35 Corsair CX400w

    Almost exactly $250 is a pretty good deal IMO for ~1300(stock)-1800 (OC'ed) PPD
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    i have everything besides the proc... its 80 euros here.
    POS,do you really want me to raise my output that bad, so soon?
    :p i just added 2 cores more, and i got several randoms at hand, even though, i have to sneak in the bureau of my mom, to activate 2 of them in spy style:D
  10. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    @Ion what is your budget for a PSU
    IMO AMD has a winner on there hands with the X4 620 not only in the eyes of crunchers that can't afford i7s but anyone looking for a quad on a budget

    i think your output can wait till i get all of my rigs up... Maybe we can go head to head again if you don't go adding another quad :p
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Really as little as possible, but certainly no more than $65-70

    I don't need it to power much, maybe an overclocked i7 + GTS 250 at most (possible future use), but currently all it has to power is a stock-clocked Q9400 + slightly OC'ed 8800GT. I don't want to spend too much because the 8800GT is also begging for a new cooler :eek:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    then the corsair seems to be about the best for now... I can see it having some problems if you go to a overclocked i7. So that means you would want to buy a new PSU when you get the i7 and gts 250
    [Ion] says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    im interested in OCing my q9550, can you tell me the best, but cheapest board and cooler that can clock the shit out of it?:D

    that would be another alternative;)

    i just looked at that:ASUS-P5E3-Pro-X48
  14. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I have no idea when/if I'm even going to go i7 (seems as if the X2 620 is better for PPD/$), I just want something that won't die if I expect it to power higher-end hardware.

    Sounds like the CX400w it is then:toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    here is a cheap board that should clock the quad nicely
    http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/705/7

    cooler
    Cooler master Hyper TX3

    the board you linked isn't bad it should do the job nicely..
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    how are p45 and x48 in comparance? what are the differences? any tips?:)
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2009
  17. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    they both overclock about the same.. The X48 just clocks alittle higher and i think has a 2nd PCI-E slot.. its like the P35 was to the x38
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    what fsb can i await? at least 500?:)
  19. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Probably not 500, but likely at least 450, maybe 475
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i think ion is right but there are some that can do 500
    Velvet Wafer and [Ion] say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    there must be even ones, that can go even further... 500fsb x 8.5 maximum multi for the q9550
    are only about 4200 mhz... some brought this babies at least to 4400...do you have to have a handpicked board for that?:)
  22. Flak New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    402 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    US
    My clients aren't downloading any new WU's... q9550 is working on it's last 2, the q6600 has 4 and the i7 920 has 6. All the clients say there is no new work to download?
  23. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    sure date is still correct? :laugh:


    Are your settings set like this?
    [​IMG]
  24. Flak New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    402 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    US
    Yeah, I checked time and date before I posted, lol. And the options on all three look the same as you posted. In the messages tab they keep trying to grab WU's but get a message from the server saying there are none available.
  25. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Just go to advanced view, click reset projects, then update. That should work.
    Chicken Patty says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 member and 1 guest)

Norton

Share This Page