1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,438 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,531
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    your stats page works for me :eek::eek: 14,562 pt's today :toast: :toast:
  3. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,438 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,531
    Cool ~ thanks stanhemi. I will have to try when I get home from work.
    Hopefully I will have a psu waiting for me in the mail so I can get the Xeon 3220 up and running again:)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Flak New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    402 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    US
    I think I posted my biggest update so far, 11,231.
  5. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    they work for me also :toast:

    Good day you are having today hammer :)
    HammerON says thanks.
  6. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Today was my best yet as well, 11,581. And I got pie (9th place, cement flavored :roll:)
    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,125 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Im on track to have my first 6k day. I thought it would be easy when I upgraded the P9650 to the 965, but I was wrong. Its weird the 965 is almost outproducing the C2Q9550 as of late.
    [Ion] says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    mine behave the other way around. but its often under "use", so i cant get to its maximum.
    the q9550 did up to 3200 points i believe
  9. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,438 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,531
    When I got home I checked and it pulled up just fine. Must have been something at work~
    Anyways, I installed Boinc 64bit on my other two i7 rigs last night (thought I did already, but it turns out I didn't). I did install the 64bit version on my new i7 rig when I loaded windows.
    Checked the mail when I got home, no psu:wtf:
    But I did get the Noctua NF-P12 fan I ordered from Sidewinder:)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    x64 is good, I've found that it tends to give ~10% more points than x32 (even though it always tends to claim ~25% more)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I used to get one of the bigger slices of pie when I used to do 3-4k per day. Now you did 11k and barely got some. But if you put thought into it, that's a good thing :toast:

    Gotta love sidewinders :D Hopefully you get the PSU tomorrow :)
  12. itsover65

    itsover65 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    71 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Nowhere South Carolina USA
    I'm currently trying to save up money (damn home theater :laugh:) for a small crunching farm. If everything pans out I should have the parts by the end of next month.
    [Ion] says thanks.
  13. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    That would really be apreciated. What do you have in mind?

    :toast:
  14. itsover65

    itsover65 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    71 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Nowhere South Carolina USA
    I'm looking at setting up at least 3 machines. I'm also trying to keep overhead costs fairly low. The machines will boot bartspe off thumbdrives (no hds for cost savings) which will have BOINCpe installed on it. As for the cpus, I'm taking a look at the AMD Phenom X4 9750 since its only 90 bucks on newegg.
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  15. Supreme0verlord

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    696 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    Why not get the Athlon II X4? It's only $10 more and it's faster and consumes less wattage than the Phenom.
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  16. itsover65

    itsover65 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    71 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Nowhere South Carolina USA
    Really? I thought the athlon would be slower due to the lack of L3 cache?
  17. Supreme0verlord

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    696 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    Well if it's only going to be used for crunching, then I don't think it will make a difference. I have no idea if the L3 cache even makes a difference or not in WCG.
  18. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    L3 has a small hit in everything. the athlon II is faster then any 1st gen Phenom

    also in crunching MHZ is everything
    itsover65 and Supreme0verlord say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,143 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,650
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I'm back! from vacation! :D Wow, just logged in and I'm in a battle.. that I was miss'n.. :cry: :banghead: :laugh:
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. itsover65

    itsover65 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    71 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Nowhere South Carolina USA
    Ok, so with that said I'm going to get the Athlon II and OC as much as possible on stock volts. Any recommendations on how much RAM I should use for my application?
  21. Supreme0verlord

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    696 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    I think 1GB should be enough.
    itsover65 says thanks.
  22. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    AWESOME BRO, should be exciting, keep us posted. Oh and yeah, get the Athlon X4 better ;)
  23. itsover65

    itsover65 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    71 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Nowhere South Carolina USA
    I'll be sure to keep you guys up to date. I'm also up to any recommendations that anyone has for a cheap motherboard. Thanks to everyone for the advice. :toast:
  24. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    for AMD, I'll let somebody else advise. Haven't owned one in a while.
  25. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Unless you'll be running XP, I advise that you get more than 1GB. With Windows7 on my desktop, it uses ~1.5gb of RAM with BOINC, F@H and nothing else running (except windows background services)

    Good luck with the rigs.

    BTW, the best PPD/$ is the Athlon II X4 620, 4 cores for $100 is a great deal, especially when you consider that they should OC to 3.5ghz+
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page